We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we wanted!”
Review of The Stone House

The Stone House
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we wanted!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had eaten a large lunch and wanted a light dinner. I remembered seeing a review on The Stone House so we thought we would give it a try. So glad we did! The building is so charming and so in the historic flavor of Eureka Springs. The inside was quaint and comfortable. That evening we had the upstairs to ourselves. We had wonderful wine and a beautiful fruit and cheese tray which was exactly the light dinner we wanted. Our server was very helpful, friendly and courteous. We will definitely go back next time we visit Eureka Springs. It is a wine bar so it serves only beer, wine, and appetizer type plates.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandeem06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    30
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
144 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent appetizer plates and wine to make a meal!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stopped recently because we didn't want to have a full meal. What a great experience! The appetizer plates are presented beautifully and artfully. Care is taken in the selection of cheeses and proper pairings with veggies and bread. The wine list is extensive and excellent. Prices are not cheap but we all believed it was good value. The atmosphere in the restored house is great and the ambience is festive. Absolutely worth a stop!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SEC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stopped in for a drink before we went out to dinner and really enjoyed our visit. The wine list is extensive and the atmosphere is dark and intimate. Great music and we loved the old stone house, the interior decorating complements it perfectly. We also enjoyed the artwork. Didn't eat anything since we had dinner reservations elsewhere, but the cheese platters sounded yummy. Take some money - its not cheap, but a great place to stop for a quiet special time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A terrific wine bar”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of enjoying an evening at the Stone House on a recent visit to Eureka Springs. First, the bad news. Bring your American Express, Mastercard or Visa. A couple of glasses of wine and appetizer plate does not come cheap. Now the good news; it's worth every penny. First, the building itself is worth the price of admission. It's a lovely old stone building with one of the most interesting bar areas I've seen in a while. Second, the wine and food is top notch, and fairly priced given the quality. The bar tender on the night we were there was friendly, made great suggestions and explained the wine well without a hint of pretense. The appetizer plate we ordered (the least expensive) consisted of bread, cheeses, oils, etc., and was absolutely delicious with the wine pairings. The Stone House is a terrific place to spend a relaxing hour, or even longer, in Eureka Springs. To channel my inner Roger Ebert, two thumbs up, way up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hook'emMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
264 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So relaxing. Great selection of wines and beers.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This was an end of the day stop for us. Got two beers and the cheese board called The Brew. Absolutely delicious. Great ambience and so comfy. Live music too. Will definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesleyc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stone House also viewed

 

Been to The Stone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing