We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanksgiving at the Joy”
Review of The Joy Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Joy Motel
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
St. Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
“thanksgiving at the Joy”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent the Thanksgiving weekend of 2013 at the Joy Motel. This establishment was in the
process of being renovated. The pool, which was not open, is now open and is salt water as
we understand. We had a wonderful experience. The accomodations were fresh and pleasant.
The bath has its own heater. It is convenient to the many attractions of this delightful town. It has
a wonderful 50's ambience.

Room Tip: All the roooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    10
    1
    8
    18
See reviews for
9
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the kitsch!!! Funky, fun, and friendly! We go to Eureka for the unique experience. And the Joy does not disappoint. Great location, and the people are fab! Priced reasonably and a happy place to rest!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Marsha, the new owner bought the hotel in late 2013 and has spent numerous hours and I hate to think how much money on its restoration. The pool has been restored and looks fabulous. The renovation will take longer than Marsha intended, I'm sure. As a business owner in Eureka Springs I admire her vision and wish her the best of luck.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Joy since it changed hands. The previous owners were old hippies and decorated this 40's era motel with a 60s theme. They served pancakes off a hot plate in the morning. We liked to stay in the Jimi Hendrix room and relax next to the large pool. It was fun and the rooms were cheap.

The new owners have doubled the price, and claim a "mid-century modern" theme. The rooms are bare and appear to be furnished with pressed plywood office furniture. There's nothing suggesting modern or retro cool, other than the old neon sign.

The pool leaks and is closed indefinitely. The ice machine is gone, and the building where it was located has a caved in roof. We stayed two nights, but there were no new towels provided or housekeeping service of any kind.

It was clean, and the owner was a nice lady, but the new Joy is an overall disappointment, and greatly over priced.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Velel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka Springs hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Hello, this review is for the Joy Motel in Eureka Springs, Arkansas.
This property has buildings from the 20s, 40s, and 50s.
It is being renovated and has extensive amounts of downed trees due to an ice storm.
We had a renovated king room.
New carpet, New bed.
We loved the vintage bathroom with period fixtures.

Don't expect the Hampton, but the vintage building and fire pit were a hot!
It's also within walking distance of downtown and on a trolley stop.
We will stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bootman501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is a disaster and under construction. Only a few rooms have been completed but you don't find that out until you check in and have to drag your luggage around the debris from rooms under construction. The room we stayed in was "remodeled" but the bathroom and fixtures were covered in mold. The window air conditioning unit also circulated old dirt and mold throughout the room leaving you coughing and sick for days afterward. The balcony should be condemned as it's the original wood and the railing is a hazard. The pool and pump house are a mess, fortunately the pool was closed at the time, but it doesn't look to open any time soon. We had a three day stay booked based on the web site photos. We left after two due to the sickness of the dust and mold and they promised to send a refund for the last day, but after two months of waiting and several emails to one of the owners, we still are waiting. Stay there at your own risk. The place should be condemned and dozed.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank rs052654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Wagner Inn
Wagner Inn
#27 of 35 in Eureka Springs
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Trails Inn
The Trails Inn
#1 of 35 in Eureka Springs
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss Village Inn
Swiss Village Inn
#33 of 35 in Eureka Springs
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#18 of 35 in Eureka Springs
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#16 of 35 in Eureka Springs
210 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joy Motel

Property: The Joy Motel
Address: 216 W van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3649
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Joy Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century "Retro" appointed Queen & King Suites + Original Cabins, Eco-Friendly All Natural Fiber Linens + Amenities."Nestled into Nature" Picnic Area Fire Pit Balconies with Wooded Views Walking Trail all under Canopy of Native Pines.Ideally Located on upper 62 West, Historic Loop at Trolley Stop #100. Leisurely walk downhill to village shops, restaurants & galleries. Hikers will delight in exploring nearby Historic Black Bass Lake"Where Friends & Memories are Made Since 1929" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Joy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joy Hotel Eureka Springs
The Joy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing