We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Belladonna Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belladonna Cottage
Ranked #16 of 68 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was our third stay at the Belladonna over the past 5 years, twice in the Street level, this last time in the Garden level. This place is simply amazing, We loved the street level but after staying in the garden, i will definatly have a hard time choosing on our next visit. Victorian, its not... the timeless beauty, relaxing deep jewel tones, large windows that bring the out doors in, make for one of the most relaxing and intimate experiences we have ever had. I cant say enough good about this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Throughout our travels, this place still ranks among one of our favorite places that we have ever stayed. Nine years ago in March, we stayed at the Belladonna for our first anniversary on the lower level. We found the place to be romantic, relaxing and enchanting. The owner was not only helpful, but also left us with interesting books and organic treats. While soaking in the jacuzzi, deer actually walked up into the yard and roamed around (we fed them cheetos). This year will be our 10th year anniversary and I’m hoping we will be able go back : )

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was a wonderful weekend getaway that allows you to get away from it all! Patty, the owner, is so nice and helps with directions and restaurant choices in Eureka so you can enjoy it like a local!! The room was so nice and fridge was stocked with food and coffee. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenningsobgyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Quaint, as it is charming - there is a whimsical magic to the Belladonna Cottage that plays a special tribute to the life and work of popular local artist - Julie Traxler. The cottage itself is inspired by the work of "JTrax" and among the jewel-toned, dark colors and rich fabrics are stunning pieces of her collection. The cottage is adorned with suede, velvet, and richly-hued fabrics, woven rugs, and lots of textures to complement the bohemian-chic "Street-Level" suite. The "Street-Level" suite comes with a private covered balcony and an open sun deck, both of which overlook an uncompromising view of North-American forest. The covered balcony is adorned with heavy rugs, wicker furniture, a day bed, bamboo screens, and heavy fabrics. The day bed was perfect for sipping a cup of tea and an early morning study of the ample wild life about and listening to the gentle rustling of the nearby bamboo garden.

The bedroom is also adorned with richly textured fabrics and colors that were inspired by JTrax's art work. Heavy red velvet curtains adorn purple-black walls to add a romanticized mystere to the bedroom suite which also comes with a DVD player, a television, and richly adorned furniture. The bathroom comes with a jetted jacuzzi tub perfect for one, but don't expect a hot shower - it is a handheld shower head in the jacuzzi tub. There simply is not enough space in this older home to build a better shower. Also, don't expect to actually watch television - satellite and cable is not provided. You will need to bring your own DVDs or rent one from the store. We just watched a movie on our laptop using the Internet provided.

There is a generous living room, complete with paperhanging lanterns, stained glass windows, a futon, a small suede couch, and more richly hued and textured fabrics. There is a funky antique phone lamp and other whimsical pieces that lend a bit of playfulness to the cottage, and of course there are inspiring pieces of JTrax's art adorning the walls. A very small, fireplace stove that acts as the cottage's main heat element is here as well. The kitchenette continues the whimsical theme, with the usual complement and includes a refrigerator stocked with some morning goodies and juice. Organic tea and coffee along with a box of organic oatmeal are also provided for guests to enjoy. However, whimsical you might find the vintage Magic Chef (light it yourself) stove to be - you will miss the microwave for heating your oatmeal, for there isn't one to be had. A bit of an annoying oversight, as heating an oven and or taking a match to a stove to reheat a sandwich or cook oatmeal seems to waste more energy than it is worth. But, you are on a getaway vacation and this place does a remarkable job at reminding you of that.

Outside, the front porch has vintage wicker seating and a garden that is a living tribute to the deceased artist. Everywhere are small trinkets, recycled junk turned into abstract art masterfully hidden among wisteria, bamboo, grasses, and what surely must be a spectacle of riotous color in the spring (we were here in January). The garden continues to inspire, but could use a bit of tending - as there were a few pieces of broken ceramic, but one couldn't help think that JTrax would see the beautiful irony and fatalism in the juxtaposition of how the pieces fell together. So, don't expect to see a well-tended, manicured English-inspired cottage garden ~ you will be disappointed. Instead, expect to see the unexpected among the magical details to be found: a group of bowling balls and bowling pins sculpted into shapes and a collection of toothbrushes adorning the back of a chair among many other playfully hidden gems. JTrax's living tribute would no doubt continue to amuse even the most recalcitrant critic, and Belladonna Cottage does just that.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alskx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is the fourth time that my wife and I have visited the Belladonna. We have stayed in both suites, and each visit has been perfection. It is such a rare and precious find to stay in a place that mixes art, history and nature. It is palace to truly rest and relax but within walking distance of downtown Eureka Springs.

The atmosphere is outstanding, with rich colors, warm lighting, comfy furniture and the artwork of Julie Traxler. If you have seen the popular French movie Amélie, the decor evokes a similar feel to Amélie's apartment. The yard, like so many other places in Eureka, has a mix of quirky art and beautiful plantings - it's fun to go and explore. There are so many neat little details, from the tiny stone pharaoh near the front gate, to the bamboo curtain rods and organic shampoo that each moment reveals some little unexpected discovery that makes staying at the Belladonna fun and interesting.

We love this place so much that it is now our traditional anniversary destination. I highly, highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay. We enjoyed all aspects of the Belladonna: the coffee/teas and organic breakfast, the decor, the privacy yet closeness to downtown, and of course the jacuzzi tub on the garden level patio. I'm a teacher who just got out for summer break. Starting the day by sitting on the porch with the birds and a cup of coffee and ending the day with a hot tub soak at sunset was exactly what I needed. It was a lovely, secluded getaway.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank uniqueusername_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Belladonna! It is just a magical place. The sleeping porch was wonderful as the spring weather was mild. Very quiet and peaceful location. It's small but cozy plenty of room for a couple. Patti was a pleasure to work with! We usually never want to repeat staying in the same place twice, this is our first exception, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glendarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 68 in Eureka Springs
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Woods Cabins
The Woods Cabins
#1 of 68 in Eureka Springs
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 68 in Eureka Springs
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arsenic and Old Lace Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Rose Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage
Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage
#23 of 68 in Eureka Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belladonna Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belladonna Cottage

Address: 12 Echols St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3402
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range: £89 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belladonna Cottage, with its deep jewel tones, lends itself to a relaxing atmosphere. Capturing the eclectic essesce of today's Eureka. Music, art, light and nature. As one reviewer stated, "classically hip, whimsical, rich and sensual...At once exotic & homey. The Belladonna rewards those who revel in the unexpected! Amenities: 2 private suites, Hand woven imported rugs. Quite woodland historic district. Private outdoor jacuzzi/ hot tub. Beautiful grounds, fish pond and more. 2Min. Drive to downtown. Full kitchens, off street parking, wifi. Dvd. All organic continental breakfast. 2Min. Drive to downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing