We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hogsveil Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Eureka Inn(Eureka Springs)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ozarka Lodge(Eureka Springs)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1905 Basin Park Hotel(Eureka Springs)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks(Eureka Springs)(Great Value!)
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Eureka Springs)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanderoo Lodge(Eureka Springs)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn(Eureka Springs)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
84
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshickory hollowlarge porchmy husband and icharcoal grilljacuzzi tublittle thingswooded areashower headin townhobbit cavesget awaygreat place to staycoffee potour honeymoonbed was very comfortablehuckleberrydeer
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2007

The cabins were immaculate,very well mantained,very cozy,you can tell they are kept by a loving hand,like someones private home.we got married on sight,and could not have had a better experience, John and Bev go above and beyond to make your day special! We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!! oh yeah, the beds are beyond comfortable!can't say enough about how awesome our trip was. we will most defintly be back.
Pat & Gary Wagner

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Songsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

I would first like to say a BIG thank you for John and Beverly, for such wonderful hospitality! And Katherine the cleaning lady as well. Super nice people!

We have been to several "cabin" style spots in Eureka , and we have decided, that this will be our spot everytime we come back to Eureka Springs! We found all our previous spots on the web., and found that when we arrived, something in the ad was misleading, but not Dogwood, it is everything they say it is!

This is a beautiful place to stay, clean, quaint, quiet and just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the town, and the deer right up close is amazing! On our last day, we had 4 bucks and a doe right in front of our cabin! We will recommend this spot to anyone who is travling to Eureka Springs!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beavers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

My wife and I try to make it to the Eureka Springs/Branson area almost every year. We have tried several different places to stay, but since we found the Dogwood Cottages we have made it our "home away from home". We have stayed in almost all of their cabins, but prefer the two bedroom unit. They are clean, well decorated, and our hosts (John and Beverly Dowland) are the perfect hosts. Get John to tell you some stories from his many years running an English Pub and Hotel in the UK.

The cabins are in the woods, yet in the middle of this quaint Victorian town, and only steps away from a trolley stop. I would highly reccommend this place to anyone visiting Eureka Springs. Many of our friends and family stay there also.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luvusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay at this delightful
resort, individual cabins in the pine and oak woods just a couple
of blocks from the highway, restaurants, trolley stop, and but five minutes from downtown Eureka Springs. I was amazed at the
beauty and quiet of the place, very clean, flowers and plants
everywhere. We stayed in cabin # 1 and found it spotless,
restful, a fresh rose, complimentary wine, and a wonderful
jacuzzi. Try their website, <dogwoodcottages.com>, for a peek
at what they have to offer. And the deer are really there, we
saw a doe, a buck, and a faun one evening. The owners
are very helpful and courteous. Do yourself a favor and
stay at the Dogwood Cottages. You'll have a wonderful time.

Ignatius Kansas City

The Sign Man

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ignatiuskansascity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

I want to say good things about Dogwood cottages. Our cabin was very clean and in excellent condition. The property was well maintained and the location - just east of Eureka Springs on Hwy 62 - was quite good. Dogwood would be a great place to relax except for the signs.

I've never worked in the hospitality business but I do have some experience in building management. I fully understand how hard it can be to keep a facility in top condition and how stupid and destructive some people can be. So maybe I'm a little more aware of how I should behave than some other folks, but I really don't need a big list of nagging house rules that are written in boot camp language and posted all around the cabin. We might have found the signs less nagging if we saw “please” or “please help us by …” (Its not what you say, but how you say it) Anyway, we didn't smoke, we didn't bring our dog, we didn't use any towels to wash the car, we didn't flush anything other than toilet paper, we didn't remove makeup with the white towels - none of which we would have done anyway. We didn't even take any of the six white hangers which a sign told us to leave in the cabin. We were left with the impression that the owners of Dogwood considered their guests to be vandals and barbarians, and only the threat of huge cleanup fees and extra charges for linens and hangers would make them behave in a reasonable manner. When we give somebody our business we'd like to be treated like responsible adults. There are lots of other places in Eureka Springs without the attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozarkmountaindweller, Owner at Hogsveil Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

This review was 4 years ago, but for those that read it, I would like to give an owner's response. I'm glad that you found the cabin to be clean and comfortable. However, your comments about our signs are exaggerated and over the top. The little sign by the door of each cabin does list some rules, with "please" in every sentence! Anyone that has worked in the accommodation sector will understand what I say here. The majority of our guests are wonderful. We have enjoyed a good repeat business; otherwise, we would have sold Dogwood Cottages ages ago. Unfortunately, it is the few that spoil it for the many. For example, we used to allow pets. We love animals and have rescued pets, ourselves. After one year of having chewed furniture, damaged blinds, messes not picked up, etc. we decided not to take pets. In the 8 and 1/2 years we have been here, we have seen some bad behavior. In our first year of business, over 70 hangers were taken. The list goes on and on, but we stay in business because the majority of our visitors are appreciative, fun and decent people! That is the part of our job that we love - all the interesting folks that pass through here. It is so easy to judge an owner when you have not been in this kind of business! We do hope that you would feel welcome to come back and enjoy the peace of our site and see what improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews