We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the review and you be the judge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage
Ranked #24 of 69 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Ferdinand, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Read the review and you be the judge”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We arrived and knocked on the office door and were asked to stand on the porch in the rain while the owner got his shoes on. He never asked our names or told us his. He lead us to Gabriel's Apartment which was very small. Showed us how to use the two person Jacuzzi (which was only for one person), air conditioner and our room key then told us we would have a hard time finding a place to eat and was gone. Never welcomed us or offered any tips of places to visit or dine during our stay or told us we could contact him for any needs we may have. We were left with a book chucked full of Inn rules and threats of fees we would be changed if we lost our key or caused any damage to the room. The tiny loud air conditioner that was only 5 feet from our bed had to run the entire time during our stay to keep our room cool. We had a nice deck to sit on but even there you had to listen to the air conditioner. Our breakfast was delivered to us each morning and each morning we found several hairs in our food and each morning we each received a very small glass of orange juice. Glad the weather was nice the only place there was room enough to eat was on the balcony. When we checked out he said nothing to us just handed us our receipt. We will not return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank couplefromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are searching for an excellent location, excellent host, excellent breakfast, excellent value and an excellent room in Eureka Springs, your search is over. I have stayed at B & B's all over the US and Europe and Heart of the Hills is as good as it gets. David is an incredible host. Experienced by far the best breakfast ever in a B & B. The only breakfast I have ever had in my life that compared to this breakfast was at Brennan's in New Orleans. Friends staying at a hotel in town came over for visits on the front porch and David was very accommodating. Will be returning in October for fall foliage. Enough said.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctordouglas48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
little rock
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Two night stay last week in Carriage House..excellent B and B. Comfortable bed, kitchenette, spacious bath, many amenities..private parking..gracious host. Catch trolley just steps from your door! Huge Breakfast delivered each morning by your host David..next visit we will enjoy it on balcony overlooking lush sunken garden!

Room Tip: The Carriage House does not require steps except for anyone sleeping in upstairs loft!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Gabrielle room and it was fabulouse! David was great, and we loved his little Scottie! Very romantic breakfast on bed, very deliciouse! Thank you David! We likes the assigned parking too! Withen walking distance of downtown!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg-n-josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our comfortable stay in the Gabriel room was even made more special by the roses, truffles and wine provided by our host, David. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast followed by a nice visit with our host discussing the many wonders of this area. We plan on returning again and hope to revisit the pleasant memories started from this initial stay.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable and had a private deck area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is a lovely little B&B with a charming and talented host who epitomizes hospitality.

We rented the cottage which is a structure that was originally the carriage house for the home, then a doll house and is now a cottage with a touch of quirkiness that makes it welcoming. Kudos to the person who decorated it with a mix of items (modern to vintage) while maintaining the cottage's sense of age and history. Small touches and little amenities gave it a personal touch. Even the small coffee packets were better than your standard fare.

It has a small kitchenette, a full bath and an incredibly soft and comfortable bed on the main floor and another in the loft. Though it was much softer than what we generally prefer, we felt like we were being cuddled by the bedding and had a hard time getting up in the morning. Sleeping late for us means staying in bed until 6:30 a.m. or so. Not so at Heart of the Hills. We happily lazed about until breakfast was served.

The back door leads to a balcony/deck overlooking the side of the main house as well as a picturesque little garden. Other buildings and homes are in close proximity, but privacy was never an issue. We enjoyed pretty views of the woods (filled with autumn color) behind our B&B and watching the local wildlife.

There are two potential noise factors for this cottage. One is the street and foot traffic because the cottage is a simple sidewalk width away. The other is the air conditioning unit that is built into the wall. Neither bothered us. We were never disturbed at any point and shutters ensure privacy from prying eyes or passing cars.

One huge plus for a business of this type in Eureka Springs is the parking. Each suite and the cottage come with an assigned space mere steps from the doors.

Since this is a B&B the breakfast has to be mentioned and I am glad to do it! Both mornings our host greeted us with a smile and a description of our breakfast as he served it to us on a collection of old china and pretty trays. The dishes were clever, creative and tasted wonderful. My only disappointment was in being unable to finish the generous servings!

Everything listed and promised on the website was accurate.

I have already recommended this location to friends and family. We will be staying there again when we next visit Eureka Springs (and we are truly looking forward to it)!

Room Tip: The cottage and both suites have private entrances. I believe Gabriel's Suite is the one with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TopazMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed in the Summit Suite on two different occasions this summer. The suite contains a living area, a bedroom, and a bathroom all separated by pocket doors. The whole suite is beautiful and clean. It opens out onto the front porch where there are chairs for sitting outside and enjoying the little garden out front. A delicious breakfast was delivered to our room at the appointed time. It's a little too far to walk from the downtown bustle but a wonderful place to end up at after spending some time there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 69 in Eureka Springs
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Lodging & BnB
Tradewinds Lodging & BnB
#12 of 69 in Eureka Springs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 69 in Eureka Springs
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
All Seasons Inn
All Seasons Inn
#16 of 69 in Eureka Springs
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliff Cottage Inn - Luxury B&B Suites & Historic Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage

Property: Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage
Address: 5 Summit St, On the Historic Loop, Eureka Springs, AR 72632 (Formerly Uptown Cottages)
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of the Hills Cottage/Inn a B&B, sits on the upper Historic loop only 3 blocks from the heart of downtown Eureka Springs. With easy access to walking, hiking and biking trails this Inn is centrally located. This award winning Bed and Breakfast Inn & Cottage has been serving guests with a "local authentic travel experience" for over 30 years. If you are seeking relaxation, refreshment and or maybe some romance then Heart of the Hills Inn is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heart of the Hills Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing