We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in the Kalahari room. The room was very clean and very quiet. We liked the safari theme and loved the gas stove. Wish we would have found the romantic ceiling lighting the first night. Surprisingly, no one else used the community gas fire pit or the hot tub, so we had them to ourselves. Resting in the hot tub, seeing the stars above and hearing the big cats roaring in the background - not something that I will soon forget! We hope to come back next year. A perk - you get to enter the compound an hour earlier than the public. I also liked knowing that my lodging fee helped to support the work of the sanctuary.

Room Tip: The Kalahari was a fine room, but the deck faced the parking lot. Even though the traffic is minima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    30
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
97
120
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Bugs all over floor wasps/bees inside. Couldn't shower, drink water or brush teeth because of the smell of the water. I could have paid lots less for a real bed and these other comforts. The daytime visit was fine, treehouse was very unkept. Even my 12 year old was disappointed. My husband was very upset and did let the front desk know about our experience

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimbolton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Siberian Room overlooking the 3 tiger enclosure holding Donna (same name as mine), Wings, and Pebbles. Watching and listening to them as well as the lions across the way was wonderful. The staff made us feel very welcome, and we appreciated the unexpected breakfast offerings in our little fridge. Some milk for the oatmeal would have been welcome, but fruit, muffins, and coffee were great. We enjoyed meeting our neighbors next door and sitting on the porch with them watching the activity in the compound beyond the fence. Wish we could have spent another night!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DonnaFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've stayed in the tree house twice. It is pretty small, but it's right behind some tiger cages and you can hear them playing. The temperature stayed warm for us over a cold weekend and there were two twins in the loft and a futon full bed on the main level for two people to sleep.
There was breakfast in the fridge of muffins, packets of oatmeal, juice boxes, and fruit cups. I was a little disappointed that we stayed two nights and that wasn't replenished. There was also coffee. There were 4 mugs, 4 plates, but only 1 bowl (for oatmeal) which also was a little annoying.
The decor was cool with African animal themes in the bedding and artwork on the walls. Plus when you stay you get to visit the refuge for free and the Wildlife Refuge is awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was such a wonderful experience. The lodge was cozy and perfect for our anniversary weekend. The view from the porch was beautiful, and the mid October weather allowed us to sleep with the windows open and listen to the sounds of the animals at night. We had an amazing time and really can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinMow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

6 RV sites and some tenting sites. What an experience! We camped next to the cages of tigers, heard the roar of lions as we laid in our beds. The staff here is wonderful and informative, the refuge is an amazing experience. I wish we would have stayed two nights instead of one. I have to thank the federal government for this stay because due to the shutdown we had to change our plans last minute and Turpentine Creek was our overnight choice. We will be back because I would have liked to have watched the cats longer and taken the tour.

Room Tip: Site 1 is next to the tiger cage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in the tree house on our last visit, but it was cramped and the sleeper sofa was very uncomfortable (that was two years ago and the "bed" may have been upgraded since then). We opted for the Congo Safari Lodge this visit and truly enjoyed it. The bed was comfortable, it was roomy, air conditioned, fireplace, cooling fan refrigerator...basically anything we needed. The covered deck was roomy with nice views. We particularly enjoyed the common area with the propane fire pit and it provided the opportunity to meet and visit with other guests. We made the short walk for feeding time and there is nothing like it. When the sun went down, sitting around the fire pit, the lion roars were frequent reminders that of where we were. We recommend it all of our friends. NOTE: This would have been an easy 5, but it did not appear that the pillow cases had been changed (as in hair). We mentioned it to one of the interns (the interns are awesome!) and she provided new ones within minutes.

It is an experience you will not soon forget!

Room Tip: While the Tree House is located next to a number of animals, the Safari Lodges provide much better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
6.8 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#9 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,516 reviews
6.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,263 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Trails Inn
The Trails Inn
#1 of 35 in Eureka Springs
515 reviews
5.4 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
217 reviews
6.7 mi away
All Seasons Inn
All Seasons Inn
#16 of 69 in Eureka Springs
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging

Property: Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging
Address: 239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-9185
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is a walk through facility is open at 9:00 AM every day of the year (except Christmas Day). We now have twenty-seven natural habitat areas, where our 6 black bears and many of our cats can run and play on the grass and under the trees; this is our ultimate goal for all of our Big Cats. All of our cats are beautiful, special and loved very much. Each one has his/her own story to tell and you are sure to find a favorite or two among them. Our prices: Adults - $15.00. Children 4-12, seniors 65 and over, and veterans - $10.00. Children 3 and under admitted free of charge. Our group rates are: Bus Drivers and Guides are always free. Groups of 6-10 / $1.00 off each admission; groups of 11-20 / $2.00 off each admission; groups 21-30 / $3.00 off each admission; groups over 30 / $4.00 off each admission. Your admission is good for all day, and includes a walking tour of our newly opened natural habitat areas as well as a self-guided tour of the cats in our main compound. The time you spend in the main compound can vary from 10 minutes to over an hour, depending upon how much time you spend in front of one cage or another. The walking tour of the habitat areas is about a 30 minute guided tour and they are scheduled every hour on the hour from 11:00 a.m. - 3 p.m. The self-guided portion is all walking, but there are benches throughout to rest. We do have a wheel chair to borrow if needed. The guided tour is also walking, unless special assistance is needed and we can accommodate people with a riding tour on our cart (which carries five maximum). For large groups we will be happy to put one of our staff on your bus to give you a guided tour of the large habitat areas upon special request. Most of our staff are Biologists or Zoologists that come from all over the world to learn how to work with the Big Cats. Our tree house bungalow rents for $150/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 5 or older. It sleeps two on a "clicker sofa" downstairs, and it has two twin beds tucked under the eaves in the loft. Generally, it is comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. Although small, it also has full kitchen facilities, a wrap-around deck and is quiet and secluded. The cats are located only a few yards away in some of the larger enclosures. Children under 5 years old are not allowed in Tree House due to TCWR's safety policy. Our two Bed & Big Cat suites can accommodate up to four people, with a queen size bed and fold-down clicker couch. Price is$150.00/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 3 or older. Babies are welcome at no additional charge. Both rooms have cats right outside the window, and are open year-round. The Safari Guest Lodge (adults only) is now taking reservations to complete your adventure at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge. Each Room is designed for 2 adults and rents for $150.00 per night. Overlooking the sprawling Eureka Springs Valley, with beautiful sunrises and magnificent sunsets and the caroling of the Big Cats. There are five unique cabins. Rent one or all five units if available. They are perfect to accommodate small groups if you choose to spend time with friends, family, small business retreats, workshops and wedding parties. Each room has an exceptional personality, along with snugly spa robes, luxurious bedding and linens, coffees and coffee pots, continental breakfast, color TV / DVD player, refrigerators and microwaves and clock radios. For rainy days or after hours, the rooms also have their own collection of favorite games and books. Cast iron fireplaces and air conditioning keeps you comfortable during the changing seasons too. Each room is also furnished with African Drums for those who care to start a drumming! Along with the spacious hot tub, the units share a 40' Octagonal Deck, complete with a charming covered Gazebo and Fire Pit. Tables and chairs surround the area for comfortable relaxing or light dining. These units are intended for adults only due to TCWR's safety policy. The price of your overnight visit includes unlimited access to our main compound during daylight hours for the length of your stay. We also have a small RV Park that can accommodate up to 7 recreational vehicles. Rates are $25.00/night plus regular admission to the Refuge on a daily basis. Or, a Family Membership may be purchased for $50.00, allowing unlimited visits to the Refuge throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge Bb Hotel Eureka Springs
Turpentine Creek Bb Arkansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing