We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a blast, this hotel is so cool. The wait staff and all the staff were very kind. The rooms and everything were so creepy but so awesome. I've never seen anything like that and probably never will. Have a blast!

Room Tip: Go for 218, it's the scariest and most requested! i survived :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCriss06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, General Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Crescent Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the fun staff. We hope to have you as return guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have stayed at several historic hotels across mid America. This hotel was impressive in some aspects yet less in others.

The experience at the registration desk was excellent. We arrived without a reservation and the clerk was professional and patient in answering our questions. We decided to stay as guests rather than simply explore the hotel (all floors are open to the public as is the ghost tour). The bellhop - summoned with a desk bell and dressed in period coat and vest - arrived immediately and offered assistance with luggage. The hotel lobby is BEAUTIFUL; the historic facility is presented warmly and richly. We walked around the building in the early evening and enjoyed the large back porch, balconies and gardens.

Our room was ... interesting. The ceilings are approximately 14ft tall and the windows are 4ft wide by 8ft tall, single pane, in both the bedroom and bathroom. The king size bed had an 8ft tall headboard and was lovely. The upholstered chair however was sad in that it was lumpy and the seat bottom was broken so setting was uncomfortable. The sideboard in the room was not usable as a dresser and the only other furniture in the room was a small table holding a coffee pot, mugs, the phone and a clock. The window unit was a heat pump. Heating a cold room became a challenge as we figured out how to dial in heat. The control knob was set incorrectly so that "10" was blowing in cold air from outside and "0" was finally bringing in heat!

Our experience with the room did not end with the heater. The shower in the room did not work. I struggled with adjusting the water flow handle but could only get 1/2 of the water to flow to the shower head, the other 1/2 ran freely down the drain. Deciding that I would rather take a bath than waste the water, I tried to use the plug for the drain. The tub was a large, claw foot tub, but the plug (rather than providing a standard stopper) was a misfitted modern plug too large to fit into the drain. The bath was out and I ended up with a quick, shower. :( Our room was #109. We reported the shower issue when we checked out.

We also took the ghost tour while at the hotel. The tour was interesting as we walked around the hotel but we did not go into specific rooms as these were rented to guests. We stood in the hallway and listened to our guide, Michelle, tell the stories and suggest areas for photos. We did travel through all levels and into the famous basement morgue. This experience was entertaining

Room Tip: Avoid room 109 for the plumbing and heating issues above. NOTE: Every time someone opened an outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourMoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, General Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Crescent Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and the historic feel of the hotel and it's time period. Sounds like you may have had some issues with you room. Please let the front desk know of any problems with your room and they'll be happy to assist right away to correct the problems. We're glad you enjoyed the ghost tour and hope to have you folks back in the future for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just spent a couples weekend in Eureka Springs at the Crescent Hotel. We stayed at the crescent for the lovely view of the fall colors from the roof top bar. We had drinks and a great lunch. It was crowded but the staff did a good job getting as a seat and drinks. The sandwiches there was good. We also attend the ghost tour that evening. This hotel has a sorted history and the lingering sprits are everywhere. The tour was good, but uneasy dreams fill my night. Not nightmares, I keep meeting people that had stayed there, it was friendly, but weird. This is a must stay for the change in fall color!

Room Tip: There are rooms that are more haunted if that is what you are looking for. Other than that all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbywenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, General Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Crescent Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you as repeat visitors in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been staying here for the last 4 nights and tonight is my last night. The hotel is really, really nice. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated in period furniture. The ambiance is fantastic and I would highly recommend the "Ghost Tour". It really gives a unique flavor and history of the hotel. Our guide was "Ramsey" the butler.

All of the staff were pleasant and willing to help. The hotel provides an on demand shuttle to downtown Eureka Springs for those who don't want to take the trolley.

Now for the "except" part !! Each day when we came back in the afternoon, the toiletries were not refreshed in the room. Monday no soap or lotion refill, Tuesday nothing at all. I mentioned this both days and the Bellman brought up things each evening but should I have to request it ? Wednesday the soap, lotion and shampoo had been refreshed and I figured the word had finally gotten to the housekeeping staff but sadly when I came back to the room an hour ago again there was nothing. I know some are thinking why do you need stuff each day ? My wife works in the developmentally disabled class in our local High School and one thing she teaches is hygiene. The kids love the "fancy stuff" she brings in from my trips. Therefore I squirrel away the toiletries each day so she can make them available to these kids. I am sure that I am not the only "road warrior" that does this. I do not believe that a shampoo, lotion, and soap each day from the Moon Spa will break the bank. Will I ever stay here again, you bet I will because other than this one issue this was a definite "5" hotel experience.

Room Tip: The "haunted rooms really add flavor to the stay especially if you take the Ghost Tour. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trafcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Crescent Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The toiletries issues have been noted to the Housekeeping supervisor and corrections have been made to better serve our guests. We hope to have you as return guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This is an old, historic hotel. Got it. And a walk through the lobby with its 130 year old "cusp of the Arts and Crafts movement" woodwork, massive fireplace, cashier's cage and quaint artisan shops is a very good way to spend an hour or two. Still, when you get above the lobby to the rooms where the paying guests actually spend most of their time, some very basic upgrades would be welcome--and certainly would not detract from the character of such a wonderful old slice of history as this. And it wouldn't take much...to wit:

1. How about two or three hooks in the bathroom--one on the back of the door, another nearer the shower and one close to the lav. Someplace to put your towel when stepping out of the shower, hang a robe, or the clothes you're taking off/putting on, cosmetic bags, dirty clothes bag, etc.. Literally, there is no place to hang basic things like that.
2. A lighting upgrade in the room would be nice. Is that you, dear, or did someone else of your general size wander in from the hallway?
3. A 20" CRT instead of a real TV. Really? If you're coming as far forward as the 1960's you might as well come on into the digital century.
4. With such a nice, spacious bathroom--about half the size of an entire typical hotel room in the modern era--why would you shoehorn the commode into a 2 foot wide cubbyhole between the end of the shower and the corner of the room? And then top the wainscotting with a 2" wide cornice at shoulder height that restricts your movement even more? I mean really, backing into position for a sit-down job here takes all the grace and skill of a long-haul trucker backing his rig down a blind alley.

Our room was just uncomfortable--it would have even been uncomfortable in 1890.

The best thing about the room was that we got a pretty good discount ($99) and the complementary hot breakfast/omelette bar in the Crystal Dining Room each morning was great.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rickrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Crescent Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed the historic aspect of the hotel and it's furnishings. Since the property is dated and is still in use, it is consistently undergoing renovations and updates so that we may better serve our guest in the future. Your comments have been noted to the concerns you had once you went past the lobby area to the guests rooms and repairs have been made as well as updating all of the T.V.'s. Thank you again and we hope to have you as a return visitor in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First of all, this is an historic hotel, so be prepared for an aged facility with dated furniture. We were on the 2nd floor, with a shared balcony. Beautiful views of the fall foliage. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom small. We were able to clearly hear conversations in the hallway, so sound insulation is lacking. Again, aged hotel.

We attempted to gain access to the electrical outlet on one wall, and upon moving the table, the table leg fell off. Again, aged furniture. Upon plugging in an extension cord, the outlet disappeared into the wall. Oh well . . . .

The bar/café on the 4th floor was horrible. Food is prepared on the 1st floor, and transported up. Therefore, slow service and the food was merely warm. We ordered the calzone. 90% breading. Wine list very limited.

The Saturday breakfast brunch was, on balance, very good. Omelets were large and very good, biscuits to die far. So this offset the dirty water goblet and sticky salt/pepper shakers.

The guests next to us (who we met on the shared balcony) reported their Jacuzzi started up in the middle of the night, and their toilet flushed without prompting. So they had ghosts. We just had disappearing outlets.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, ask for the haunted room(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBeanCounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Crescent Hotel. We appreciate your candid comments, each department head has been notified and corrections and improvements have been made. We're glad you enjoyed the lovely view from your balcony and the Sunday Champagne Brunch and hope to have you as return guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

First of all, take that ghost tour while staying here. Even if you don't believe in that kind of thing. You get to learn about the history of this beautful hotel. Some of the rooms are a bit small but keep in mind that it wasn't always a hotel in the past. Most of the rooms open up to a huge shared balcony that offer excellent views of Eureka Springs. The rooms are clean and the staff is excellent. I would definately stay there again.
Also, check out the Intrigue Theater just a few blocks down the street. Sometimes they do shows at the Crescent.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Index121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Crescent Hotel, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the Ghost Tour and hope to have you as return visitors in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#12 of 35 in Eureka Springs
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
#19 of 35 in Eureka Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
835 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
489 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Trails Inn
The Trails Inn
#1 of 35 in Eureka Springs
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 Prospect Ave, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3021
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range: £74 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing