We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel, lovely area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Amarillo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Adequate hotel, lovely area”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We got a great rate on Priceline. When shown the room it was quite small, so I requested a different one and got one 3 times the size. We travel in the off season a lot and these were week days right after Labor Day, I think that accounts for the much reduced rate. It is remodeled but the lobby lacks ambiance, its just a walk through to get to the elevator. The interesting detail is that it is next to a small quaint park where locals play music almost every evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nighthorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    348
    152
    91
    69
See reviews for
240
643
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the Basin Park Hotel in Eureka Springs during Volkswagen Weekend and really enjoyed the downtown access and Basin Park area just next door.

Our room number was 315 a “Jacuzzi Suite” and the Jacuzzi was nice after a long day! Our room was clean, and the AC worked great to cool off as it was very hot weekend.
Like other reviews have mentioned parking is a little awkward in that it is quite a distance from the hotel, however this was fine for us as we enjoyed the walking. If you prefer, the hotel has a shuttle van that will pick you up at the parking lot and take you back when needed.
We parked our car Friday night and didn’t even need in until we left on Sunday since everything is within walking distance to the shopping and entertainment. The only thing I would stress is that the parking lot is Gravel and is very dusty, so if you just washed your car, plan on another wash up.
Basin Park Hotel is an old historic hotel so the walls and floors, are a little noisy, but hey that’s part of what to expect in an old hotel. The staff was very friendly, the bellman was polite, and the hotel has a nice restaurant on the 1st floor that was fun to watch the crowd & VW’s below.
I would recommend this hotel, and add that you should find out if your room has a nice view as well. Our room was in the rear of the hotel and did not have a view…other than of the roof of the building next door and the rocks in back.
I also would recommend the stairs as the elevator is slow and HOT! The stairs are easy and short and sometimes just as fast.
One other note is to checkout the local guides to see what is happening in town, or online before you go, we were pleasantly surprised to find a great little concert in the Basin Park by a local artist Mountain Sprout and really enjoyed the show only steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Tip: Ask about the rooms view first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDeadVWBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you had a great stay downtown. The hotel's location is a perfect spot if you want to step outside the hotel doors to shopping, dining, and live entertainment. Hope you choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdown, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at the Basin Park the weekend of the recent Bluegrass Festival. The festival was held in Basin Park adjacent to the hotel so the location was very convenient. We watched some of the performers from the Balcony Bar in the hotel, then went to the park to enjoy the rest. It was great being right downtown as well. The hotel is packed with history and was built in 1905, so don't expect new and shiny. It was clean, the staff was very accommodating, the room had a comfy bed and the Jaccuzi was wonderful. They provide a shuttle service to and from the local restaurants, so you can enjoy drinks with dinner without having to be concerned about the drive back to the hotel. There were young couples asking for rooms on Saturday night, but they were all booked up. I think a wedding party was staying there. Lots of handsome young men in tuxes and pretty girls in bridesmaid dresses.
We enjoyed our stay at The Basin Park. (No ghosts in our room!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I think they try very hard to keep the history and authenticity of the hotel intact. We booked online not knowing what room we'd get and ended up in the Joe Parkhill Suite. I had viewed the suites online and was interested in that room, but didn't think we could afford it. Once we checked in, they told us we were booked into that suite! I was so excited! The room itself was nice, but it's an old hotel and new carpet would've helped out tremendously. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but being an older hotel, the walls were thin and you could hear people in the lobby and also walking around up above you. Sometimes it was very loud. With it being an older hotel, you have to expect some inconveniences of that nature. But the history, charm, and location of the building more than make up for it. Just be aware of this before you go. If you like ultra modern, etc, you're barking up the wrong tree. If you're a history buff or in to atmosphere... you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klmm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

If you are looking for a modern, snappy kind of place, this is not for you. However if you are looking for romantic charm with a warm feel, Basin Park is perfect!!

My husband and I had our wedding reception here almost 4 years ago and stay here every chance we get. It is a place dear to our hearts We love the king Jacuzzi room which has a large jacuzzi in a corner window where you can relax and look out over the town. The staff are wonderful and very accommodating. We actually planned an anniversary trip for our 1st anniversary. We were supposed to stay 3 nights, but on our second day we had an emergency and had to leave. The staff was very understanding and did not charge us for our subsequent nights.

I would recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JingJing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay in a historic hotel on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a very old hotel and the parking is not great but it was such a nice, quaint hotel. The rooms were clean, bedding was crisp and clean, and the air conditioner, while a window unit, was able to keep up with the hot, muggy summer temps. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamb68116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My sister chose this hotel to have her wedding reception so we all booked rooms to make it convenient and close. I loved the old feel of the hotel. With so many of us staying there, I was able to look inside several of the rooms. Each was different but very charming in its own way. I knew the history of the hotel so I didn't expect to have modern ammenities. The suites and larger rooms were really awesome!!!! If I visit Eureka Springs again, I will chose the same hotel. The location is perfect and the hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetatip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy your sister chose to have her wedding with us. It's a great location to be in the heart of downtown where shopping, dining and nightlife are just footsteps out the front door of the hotel. Hope you come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#9 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 35 in Eureka Springs
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edelweiss Inn
Edelweiss Inn
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3105
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing