We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE! !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DONT STAY HERE! !!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

When we checked in we had reserved a king-jacuzzi room. We walked into a room with no jacuzzi. Had to go back down to the front desk and so them our conformation. Thank God we had it on our phone. The rooms looked nothing like the website. We were very disappointed with it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 80bekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered while checking into your hotel room. The appropriate departments will be informed of your experience. We understand that our hotel was built in 1905 and therefore is not a new establishment, but we do our best to maintain cleanliness and up to date furniture, regardless of the hotel's age. We are sorry for any disappointment you felt upon arrival, but ask that you visit us again in the future. We promise to do our best to make sure your next experience is a favorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    323
    140
    83
    65
See reviews for
211
592
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for state-of-the art, modern lodgings, this isn't the place for you, but it is a great old hotel. Rooms were clean, service was excellent, and a great historical vibe. I'm going back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated the service and character of the hotel, and invite you to come back in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Loved everything about my stay. I had the Cobb Salad for lunch at the Balcony Restaurant, and it was delicious. It was my first time to eat on a balcony, so that added to the experience. The room was very clean and comfortable. The décor reminded me of the hotels in old western movies - loved it. My car had to be parked a few blocks away, but the shuttle driver was ready and eager to transport me to any place I wanted to go and as often as I wanted. I'll stay again!!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Library-Lady65571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are very pleased that you had such wonderful experiences with the Balcony Restaurant, with your room, and with the shuttle driver. We welcome you to return at any time and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We love historic hotels and this one did not disappoint. Enjoyed a great massage at the spa. The bar/restaurant on the balcony is fine but the Mud St. Cafe down the street is excellent. Didn't see a ghost, however. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHenry1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the historic atmosphere of the property and that you had a good experience with the Serenity Spa. Thank you for trying our dining accommodations. We welcome you to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is my second stay at this property in 14 months It must be fine or I would not have returned, you say. Well, actually, the location of the proerty was the primary motivating factor for a return. Eureka Springs is a very small town, situated basically in a ravine. Parking is at a premium so location becomes important.

At check-in my reception was cool, but without problems. The room was a king suite, consisting of a bedroom, sitting room and bath. The room was generally appointed in the period style (1905). The bed was quite comfortable.

A cautionary word or to. Housekeeping could use some fabric softener. The bath towels felt like one was drying off with a sheet of sandpaper. On the subject of the bathroom, there was no non-skid surface in the tub: My travel companion and I both had "slipping" issues when showering.. Fortunately, there was a handicap bar to grab on to: it was put to good use.

Check-out had all of the makings of an early morning confrontation: which, as it turned out, did not happen. The bill that was under the door had 2 charges for "Service Gratuity", one $6.00 one $3.00. The bill also had 2 daily charges of $6.50 for "Activity Fees". Really? When I brought these charges to the attention of the nice lady at reception she readily offered to remove all the aforementioned charges from my bill. I took her up on the offer: confrontation averted. I pointed out that none of these charges were mentioned at check-in, nor are they disclosed on the hotel's Web site. The nice lady rolled her eyes and said, "I know". BEWARE UNDISCLOSED CHARGES AND FEES, travelers.

As for my rating, a word. Eureka Springs is a town of 2,073 regular inhabitants in the mountains of northwest Arkansas. This is a fine property for where it is situated. I give it an "average" becasue, compared to other properties at the same price and a different location, it would be just that, average. If I again am in Eureka Springs I would again stay here (and take a careful look at my bill).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denniskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We are pleased that you took the time to review your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are glad that you found your room to be comfortable and that the location of the hotel was an advantage of your stay. We apologize for any issues you had with the towels and bathtub and your comments will be passed on to the appropriate departments. The activity fees are part of the room charge because they include wireless internet access, the shuttle that runs downtown for our guests, and they provide complimentary tickets to the downtown tours. The activity fees are promoted on our website under reservation accommodations, but we have no problem removing the charges from your bill upon check out if you did not take advantage of these resort accommodations during your stay. The gratuity fees are collected for the number of employees in the operation who do not receive tips because of their work locations and responsibilities with the property. We are glad that your stay was primarily enjoyable, and welcome you to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is a very charming old hotel with a lot of history. Our room was very nice. The only part of my stay which was NOT enjoyable was having to park in a DIRT parking lot down the mountain from the hotel (on another street). I had to wash my car after departing because of all the dust kicked-up by other cars in the stuffed parking lot. However, there is a fairly convenient shuttle van available 24/7. The upstairs bar was packed both nights of our visit and service was slow, but the drinks were good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We appreciate that you took time to write a review of your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience of the location of the parking lot, but it is a little further away because the hotel is located in the center of downtown with no close lots available. We will pass your comments about the inconvenience of the dirt parking lot to the appropriate departments for consideration. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the historic property, shuttle service, and drinks from the Lucky 7 Rooftop Billiards bar. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit downtown Eureka Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed here with a group of women. Many of the rooms were nicely done for an old hotel. Mine, however, was awful! There were tears in the carpet, mold in the shower, and the sink was falling off the wall. The only mirror was a small one over the sink. On the good side, the bed was comfortable and the bedding was crisp and clean
I mentioned these items to the front desk several times over the 3 nights I spent there. There was nothing done about it.
They did a very nice job with breakfast each morning and the staff was very nice. However, I would not stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with your room. Because the hotel is a historic property, we have maintained many of the original furnishings, although the carpeting is not original. We have two full time maintenance personnel and an executive housekeeper who are consistently working to update the rooms, although it is not always a fast process. However, your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on to the appropriate departments. We are happy you enjoyed the bedding, breakfast, and staff accommodations during your stay. We hope that you will reconsider and join us for your next stay in Eureka Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#17 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3105
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing