We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Fort Scott, Kansas
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary by staying at the Basin Park Hotel for 2 nights. We had a king jacuzzi room. The view was exceptional. The balcony over the park was conveniently located so that we sat there and viewed all of the activity on the street and in the park. The hotel is over 100 years old so it has the charm and beauty of the old rock building. Part of that charm of the hotel is the the atmosphere of the vintage interior of the hotel. Of course, after that many years and that many guests, any building would show the wear. If you're looking for an authentic view of the past and enjoyable step back in history, this is the hotel for you. We have stayed in multiple hotels and cottages in Eureka Springs in the past, but this hotel afforded us a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Go for the King Jacuzzi rooms for great atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    331
    145
    86
    66
See reviews for
226
610
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hesston, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Basin Park Hotel has a wonderful charm but the eye for detail to capture that charm is lacking. The furniture in the lobby is dirty and in poor repair, hall and stairway carpets are also extremely soiled and poorly maintained. The same can be said for nearly all accommodations in the building. New paint jobs are needed on almost every floor, upgraded tables and chairs as well as a clean and well-maintained atmosphere is needed in the Balcony Restaurant. The location of the hotel and Balcony Restaurant hold a special appeal for visitors to Eureka Springs, however the hotel gives the impression that it's just getting by. I was very disappointed in the cleanliness and especially the lack of attention to detail. I would have liked to walk into a clean and maintained lobby that had utilized even just a consult from an interior design professional. We booked the least expensive room with two double beds option. Our room could hardly be considered a room. It was more of a large closet turned into a room that was difficult for two people to share. It should be a single room for one person with one of the beds removed and that would be just the start of what would need to be done to upgrade the room I stayed in. The bed and bedding is old and tired and it would be of benefit to look into replacing sheets, blanket and comforters. Our blankets had holes burned in them, torn areas and were thread bare in many places. If mattress pads have stains, replace them. We found razor caps in our bathtub and trash from McDonalds take out on the floor behind the desk in our room. Cleaning staff is either not trained well to do their job, or are negligent in their jobs. I think the Basin Park Hotel should capitalize on its location and seek to improve accommodations from the ground up. Beginning at the front door with a lobby that makes you want to stay and experience more of the hotel. If we hadn’t had reservations, we would not have stayed. Give the entire building some much needed TLC and improve the rooms and furnishings to meet the needs of all classes of travelers. Make the Balcony Restaurant a Eureka Springs eating destination by upgrading furniture, decor, cleanliness and quality of food. I ordered angel hair pasta with a mushroom and basil pesto cream sauce that was hardly seasoned, very bland and required a lot of salt. We did appreciate the customer service in the Balcony Restaurant. They were very courteous and accommodating. The hotel's shuttle service is amazing. The shuttle is prompt with friendly drivers who will go out of their way to meet your needs. For the most part, all of the hotel personnel are friendly and very accommodating and make you feel valued and comfortable. Upgrade the facility and Basin Park Hotel could be a Eureka Springs gem. She's a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're sorry you had a disappointing stay with us. I will be discussing this review with the F&B manager and the Housekeeping supervisor so we can have these issues addressed. We hope you will still return to Eureka Springs in the future even if you don't stay with us.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We love staying at this hotel! It has lots of history and character and it is in the heart of Eureka Springs. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Their bloody mary's are delish. Sit on the patio during a parade or head up to the top floor bar for drinks and shuffleboard. They say it's haunted...find out for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you return to Eureka Springs.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visit ES at least once every 2 weeks and have learned that the best hotel is the Basin Park. The staff trys hard to meet our expectations. Though we have tried other hotels, we will not waste our money searching for the perfect hotel as the Basin Park is it. Great downtown location and alot of charm and history with the hotel experience. I must stay for any traveler. Cody, front desk mgr, does an excellent job welcoming you to the property. We love the hotel and all adventures associated with being downtown and meeting so many cool people.
S & B - Central Arkansas

Room Tip: The 4th and 5th floors seem to be the locations for suites. I keep a record of each room we have st...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vette1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please stay with us again when you return to Eureka Springs in the future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Jacob checked us in quickly, professionally, and very friendly. We stayed in room 221. That room was marvelous. I think the place as a whole is perfect for wanting to stay in the Historic District. We found every staff member to be super friendly, from Jacob at check-in to Lee at the spa, Chris at the Balcony, and Norm up in Lucky Seven. I won't stay anywhere else after this last visit to the Basin. With all that said. There are a few things you should know about. It is old(that's what makes it so cool), and it's not a fancy smancy hotel. But it is perfect for the age. I would say that maybe the house keeping staff could use a little re-training as we had mold in our shower, windows inside the room were dirty(not sure who would clean the outside), I seen the same Dorito on the step before getting to the second floor the entire stay. But, don't get me wrong. I love this place and will return many times in the future. I would have liked to see the Lucky Seven open earlier than 6pm on Saturday though. My advice. Stay here and enjoy the history.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hammerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Apologies for the housekeeping issues. Sometimes are staff gets busy and rushed and don't cover all of their bases. I will pass your comments on to the housekeeping supervisor so we can address the issues stated. We hope you will stay with us again next time you return to Eureka Springs.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location love this hotel. Room was comfortable and roomy. Bar was fun great place to mingle with other guest.
Did not like the food. Would eat somewhere else. The spa was more like a spa hall but the staff and therapist were great. Will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the restaurant. I will pass your comments on to the Food & Beverage director. We hope you will stay with us again if you return to Eureka Springs in the future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews I wasn't sure about the hotel but the prices were perfect for our price range and it was right downtown so we gave it a try. We loved every second of it! When we got there the hotel staff was friendly and checking in was so easy. I absolutely love that this hotel is not completely updated in every aspect. We got real heavy metal vintage looking keys for our room and even though our room was a little small it was clean and really cozy. I think if the rooms were updated anymore then they already are then it would be just another boring hotel room. These rooms have so much charm! We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent. We only stayed one night and can't wait to go back already!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you return to Eureka Springs.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#9 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 35 in Eureka Springs
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
#6 of 35 in Eureka Springs
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3105
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing