We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never. :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Flocelliere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Flocelliere
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better late than never. :)”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We rented the Keep with 10 friends one year ago during july. I really don`t have anything negative to say about our stay. The rooms are beautiful,kitchen is well equipped. Garden is fabulous and the couple who own the Castle are very nice & speak very well English,which is good cause my French is not so good. We enjoyed our meals in the patio every evening. But the dining room is also amazing if it happens to rain. We all loved it very much! Thank you again for making our stay very memorable & we hope to come back soon! :) .p.s. Extra bonus was the pool & our "own" dog Diva,who spent nearly every evening with us. :P

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in the self catering section. Was greeted by the owners, lovely and helpful people. Kitchen and dining area were lovely leading to a nice little terrace. Pool area was great, one of our best points of the holiday. Some bedrooms were a bit lack lustre and lacked luxury compared with others. Enjoyed wine tasting and been taught the history of the Chateau by the owners. The grounds are brilliant to explore, we never knew what we find next. The outside of the buildings were beautiful and the part of the old castle walls you can see are amazing, reminds you how long this building has been here for. It's the perfect setting for a wedding. So quiet too. And Diva the resident dog was lovely, very calm and friendly. Would recommend this place highly to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank martydonk128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had planned to have one night in a chateau during our trip to France and chose La Flocelliiere and what a great choice it was. Everything about our stay here was perfect from beginning to end. We were warmly welcomed by Vicomte Patrice Vignial and his wife Vicomtesse Erika who made us feel at home in their home - the chateau. Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished and more than lived up to our expectations of what we wanted from our French chateau experience. Our stroll through the gardens was a delight, accompanied by the owners' beagle to keep us company. Pre dinner drinks and conversation with the Vicomte and Vicomtesse were another highlight. After a good night's sleep in the comfortable canopied bed, we had a good breakfast in the chateau's impressive dining room. All in all an extremely pleasant stay which is sure to be the highlight of our trip to France. An experience not to be missed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJWTP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika V, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Flocelliere, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your nice report
We were delighted to welcome you

have a good time in France ending your long trip
Erika Vignial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

No trip to France would be complete without at least one night in a genuine chateau. If La Flocelliere's location fits your itinerary this is your choice. Right from the start you are made welcome by the owners,the Vicomtesse Erika Vignial and her husband Vicomte Patrice into their 11th century family home lovingly restored and furnished with ancestral treasures.
Each of the five bedrooms has its own personality and charm. In making a choice, consider flights of stairs involved. If mobility is a concern, request the Baronne Alquier suite on the first level.
To make your visit complete be sure to book dinner with the owners. The evening begins with drinks and comraderie in the very spacious lounge. Guests are made to feel comfortable and right at home in the beautiful family dining room while enjoying a truly lovely meal prepared by the Vicomtesse herself.
Stay here once and you will want to return. We did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika V, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Flocelliere, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your nice report
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Normandie, it must have been amazing

All the best
Patrice and Erika Vignial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Fans of living history will not find a better experience for staying in a 12th century chateau! The owner managers are a delight, and have managed to combine luxurius and modern amenities while preserving a completely authentic experience. This isn't a hotel, it's a castle!

Room Tip: No room is the same, each is unique, so none are really are really better than others. The castle i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XRhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

21 of us have just spend the weekend in this amazing chateau. 1000 years of history with the main house still attached to the ruins of the original fortified castle.
We were welcomed by the owners who are the direct descendants of the original owner, so the castle has been in one family for its entire history. In daily use as their family home we enjoyed pre dinner drinks and a chat with the Viscount and Viscountess, before enjoying a splendid evening meal. The rooms are huge and lavishly appointed, with all the original features and decor, with massive beds which were extremely comfortable.
The Viscount told us a little of the history of the castle and compared our ride in through the gates on our motorcycles to the knights of old who would have ridden through on horseback.
A stunning place to spend a French break..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika V, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Flocelliere, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your nice report
Hope to see you again
Patrice and erika Vignial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Etienne, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Second time i visit this castle in winter. Possible to make some fire in the room...it was so nice.
The owner explains how he get his castle during the breakfast.
He's good to give us some advice for restaurants not far from.
It's a good place to be for à week-end....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rembrandt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Flocelliere
7.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
#2 of 5 in Les Herbiers
155 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chateau du Boisniard
Chateau du Boisniard
#1 of 3 in Chambretaud
157 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbin...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ibis Les Herbiers
Ibis Les Herbiers
#1 of 5 in Les Herbiers
283 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel La Verriaire
Hotel La Verriaire
#1 of 1 in La Verrie
335 reviews
5.4 mi away
Domaine de La Boulaie
Domaine de La Boulaie
#1 of 1 in Treize-Vents
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Flocelliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Flocelliere

Property: Chateau de la Flocelliere
Address: 30 rue du Chateau | A 8 Km du Puy du Fou en Vendee, 85700 La Flocelliere, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > La Flocelliere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Flocelliere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the vendee high copse, at 8 km from The Puy du Fou spectacle, immediately next to the little town, the medieval castle of la Flocelliere appears in documents dating from the XIth century. The castle dominates a park planted with hundred years-old-trees. Vicomte and Vicomtesse Patrice and Erika Vignial,lover of history,are thrilled to welcome their guests to dine with them qanbd to offer advice on excursions in the area Heated pool in summer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de la Flocelliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing