We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Gasthof Drei Loewen
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dachau
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A fine, basic hotel in Dachau. This is was the second time we'd stayed at the Drei Lowen (the first being several years prior) and it didn't disappoint. We arrived a little later than expected (due to bad traffic around Munchen), but the staff was very friendly and helped us to our rooms. Many of the restaurants were closed due to the annual summer carnival, but the staff gave us perfect walking directions to the carnival itself where we were able to mix with the locals (my wife and I speak German). I agree that the decor is somewhat dated, but it is within walking distance of the Bahnhof. Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluedevil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for a few nights. It's basic, but clean and well-maintained. The owners/staff speak basic English and were very welcoming. It's right next to a bus stop that goes to and from the train station and the concentration camp (15 minutes to either - one to the North, the other to the South) and the buses are very cheap. I travelled in a taxi when the buses weren't running which averaged 10 Euros per journey. Breakfast was continental and adequate. Only criticism was that the beds came with strange narrow duvets. Happily I had a double room so I doubled up the duvets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Let me start with positives: the host is very nice, friendly and always willing to help. The hotel is conveniently located for the Dachau Memorial. Now negatives: very uncomfortable beds with cheap linen I couldn't sleep for two nights, rather small dated room. I was looking forward to breakfast as German hotels usually offer good food but Drei Löwen's was below average. Finally, it's too expensive. 4 nights €515? I managed to get 2 nights (weekend) in Munich in 4 star nice stylish hotel for €230.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alexloewenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our visit to Munich coincided with Oktoberfest weekend and so we chose this B&B due to its proximity to Munich. Although the B&B is a short walk from the Dachau train station, we ended up taking a cab (about 6 EUR) from the station as we had bags to drag around. Before we settled into our room, we enjoyed our first of many German beers from the bar. Our room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. We don’t speak any German but were able to get by. The hosts, especially Michael who is at the reception, were warm, helpful and answered all our questions. Breakfast was about 5 EUR per person and was a decent spread that included boiled sausages and eggs. The B&B provided us with umbrellas on a rainy day when we decided to walk to the concentration camp (about 30 minutes walk). We also spend some time exploring the rest of Dachau and found it very beautiful and charming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for commuting to Oktoberfest in Munich. If you catch the right train its only one stop and you are in the thick of it all. This is extremely convenient and its a 10-15 minute walk to the train station.

As for the hotel, the rooms are pretty basic. Clean, tidy, and tradition European. Breakfast was ok, but you have to pay for it. (I might suggest just going to a cafe instead.) We got this hotel at a great price during a VERY busy Oktoberfest season, so I can't complain about anything!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank valeriebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We enjoyed our short stay in Dachau staying the the Hotel-Gasthof Drei Lowen. We made our reservation roughly 6 weeks in advance. We booked a quad room (which are difficult to find throughout Europe!) and it was very nice, quite spacious, and comfortable. The hosts were helpful and friendly, and we would stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: We had a quad room, I am posting photos of the room since these are sometimes difficult to find. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, cheap hotel, within reasonable walking distance of the town centre this fits the bill.
The staff are polite and helpful, the breakfast is plentiful and it is down a quiet street.
As a guy away on business it met all my basic needs.
Not sure what the family rooms are like, but good value for money.
About 10 minutes walk to the main sation in Dachau one way, or 10 minutes to the alt Stadt in the other direction.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dachau hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burgmeier
Hotel Burgmeier
#4 of 11 in Dachau
58 reviews
1 mi away
Select Hotel Dachau Munich
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central Dachau
Hotel Central Dachau
#3 of 11 in Dachau
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel und Tafernwirtschaft Fischer
0.6 mi away
Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu
6.2 mi away
Gaestehaus Lohauserhof
Gaestehaus Lohauserhof
#1 of 4 in Roehrmoos
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Drei Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Drei Loewen

Address: Robert-von-Haug-Str. 5, 85221, Dachau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Dachau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dachau
Price Range: £87 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Drei Loewen 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Drei Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing