We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No rooms at the hotel, but the restaurant was nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Dachau
Maryland
Level Contributor
439 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“No rooms at the hotel, but the restaurant was nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We tried to get a room at the hotel but there were none, but we did eat at the hotel's restaurant. Dachau isn't that large of a town, and little is open after about 6pm. Parking in the town was free with the Parking placard, so that was nice. This restaurant had a nice atmosphere both inside and out. The waiter was great and worked with us since our German isn't that great. The food was good and reasonably priced for Europe; not inexpensive, but no meal in Europe is inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
16
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Dachau itself is a charming village; surprising given the chills conjured by the name of the town. Munich was full to the brim so I went to Dachau since I was intending to see the concentration camp memorial anyway. Surprised me how close to Munich it is, very convenient and far cheaper than Munich accommodation.

This is a very old building, so keep your expectations reasonable. I got the last available room without a reservation; bath was down the hall, but it seemed I was the only one using it. Toilet and sink were in the room itself, so it was just a walk down the hall to shower in a clawfoot tub with shabby shower curtain and fixtures. Room was adequate but dusty, with old unattractive paneling. It was also up two flights, which was a bit of a chore since I don't think there is a lift.

Staff were very helpful and friendly finding things in town. Breakfast was decent. Didn't check the dinner as I was too late, and the bar wasn't open because the place was very quiet. A local cultural centre had jazz, blues, rock and beer happening, which was nice. Price for the room was quite reasonable, 40 euros for a single in early July. I arrived late in the evening desperate for a room, it was a welcome respite. Just don't expect posh surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

It was a nice hotel. It had its flaws. First We had to air out our room when we first arrive. Everyone smokes......i dont think there was such thing as non smoking rooms at this hotel. Second, the smell and noise of the kitchen.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Food was good, service was great, overall a nice place to stay. Internet service was consistent. Bathrooms are big and modern. Double windows block out the street noise. Large bedrooms with separate lounge area. Clean hotel. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmccec83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. Nothing seemed to work it was cold, didn't smell good , during the night they close the heating..., Only in summer it's better....... I guess; aaas and the kitchen is also poor

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisicabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

During the October fest in Muenchen it is hard to find reasonable priced hotel. We choose to stay in Dachau, 20 min train ride to the center of Muenchen. It takes 15-20 min to walk from the hotel to the station. The rooms were dated and the noise from the street can be disturbing. We had a fine dinner the first evening but we was served not cold October fest beer so we had to switch to standards. Do not thing it is a Brauerei Gasthof, at least they did not have any own beer. Looks as if the staff is not not that attentive as you would expect in a German hotel. Much improvement needed from the management if this hotel should succeed.
The breakfast did not meet our expectation for a hotel in Germany.
The surroundings are fine but the is through traffic in front of the hotel.
So in general this hotel was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wasabi69Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dachau hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We found this hotel whilst looking for a place to stay in Dachau. The appearance of the place seemed fine and the young girl on reception was very helpful. The rooms are quite dated and small in comparison to other hotels in the munich area that we stayed in. We later went into Dachau in search of somewhere to find a drink and just found the people to be rather off with us. On returning to the hotel we were ignored by several members of staff who just seemed to glare at us as they walked past. We werent made to feel welcome. I dont know if the rest of Dachau was like this but try to avoid the old town. Considering this is only 16KM from Munich it is amazing how different the people can be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dachau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel und Tafernwirtschaft Fischer
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Dachau
Hotel Central Dachau
#6 of 10 in Dachau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Alp Style Dachau Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Burgmeier
Hotel Burgmeier
#3 of 10 in Dachau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bavaria Safari Hotel
Bavaria Safari Hotel
#4 of 10 in Dachau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Drei Loewen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu
Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 8, 85221, Dachau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Dachau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Dachau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Altstadthotel Zieglerbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing