We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lot of noise from Nurburgring”
Review of Hotel Blaue Ecke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blaue Ecke
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Adenau
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, lot of noise from Nurburgring”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in Hotel Blaue Ecke for one night, during the Heimatfest. Location is in the middel of town, on the market square. Rooms are large and have a bath room with shower. Breakfast is nice, served in a beautiful room. We also had dinner on the terrace, with was simpel but good. From the hotel, you can do some nice hikes in the surroundings. However, there is quite some noise from the Nurburgring!! We preferred hiking in the surroundings of Altenahr (about 20 km from Adenau), which is more beautiful and much more silent.

Room Tip: Rooms 3.06 and 3.07 have views over a nice square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    61
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
67
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They also have rooms in another building about 100 yards away which is where I stayed. The rooms were simple, but clean and a good value especially taking into account the very nice breakfast included with your rate. It's a great location in the only "big" town around the Nurburgring, so it was a great base of operations for a trip there. It's downtown, so you can easily walk to restaurants, ATMs, stores, etc. Parking is a bit tight, but workable. Do be aware that there is no air conditioning, which is typical for this region of Europe and in general not an issue given the average temperatures. The windows vent in a fashion that is secure, but still allows good airflow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great hotel, old on the outside, modern on the inside, quiet little parking square behind the hotel frontage and good hospitality for an area that gets a lot of short term visitors mostly there for the Nurburgring.

Its a five to ten min drive from the hotel to the track entrance which is useful for warming up or cooling down cars/bikes before and after track sessions and there are viewing areas of the track closer to the hotel, Adenau bridge for instance is a five to ten mins walk along the street.

Pinocchio's is a must to dine here and Sonja's FanStop Shop is worth a look, even if its not the biggest store in the world, its well stocked and she's very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aly-rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Clean rooms, large bathrooms with modern fittings, friendly English-speaking staff. It's far better than expected considering the low price. There is a market in the area and the Nurburgring is only a short drive away.

The entrance is slightly hidden - off to the side of a plaza - but it's worth the 2 minutes needed to locate the sign.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrtego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends as we visited the Ring.
The hotel was great, a strange mix of modern entrance and old rooms but both were immaculate and the rooms comfortable.
The breakfast was fine, with hot and cold food options.
The only issue would be the available parking, I had planned on trailering my car over but was glad I never as I would have had no chance of parking near hand.
This obviously out of the hotels control and a problem for all the hotels in the area which are filled with drivers.
I wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was the second time I had stayed at the Blaue Ecke and my second stay was just as good as my first. Situated in the heart of Adenau, ideal location as a base for my visit to the nurburgring, The Blaue Ecke welcome you with friendly staff, particularly Fabio Pala who went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our short stay comfortable. The Hotel itself is very clean, service is excellent and free wifi is an added bonus when you need to download your track video footage from your go pro and get it onto YouTube. Parking is limited, but again the Fabio helped to sort this out with nearby garage rental available for the duration of the stay. The hotel itself plays on the Motorsport theme, with many classic photos on the wall and a wall of fame, where previous guests can place photos of past antics in the bar, at the ring, etc. Great value, excellent service - recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NorthernMonkeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

On a road trip through Northern Europe & the Nurburgring was a must-see. Arrived at the track late at night - Nurburg was closed (it was late March) & Adenau wasn't much better. My co-driver spotted the Hotel Blaue Ecke down a side street, so we pulled in to check it out.

After a few moments figuring out how to get in, we were greeted by a wonderful Italian gentleman (I didn't catch his name unfortunately, but we had Sicily in common - he a native, us regular visitors) who made us feel as if we were doing him a favour by checking in late for a single night (rather than the opposite).

We were upgraded to a fabulous room & shortly afterwards headed down to the hotel bar where we had a few cracking beers & two burgers, each the size of a steering wheel! They didn't just look awesome either - the taste was big too.

Overall a great find & somewhere definitely worth staying longer. When we come back to the Nurburgring in the future for track days, you can be sure we'll be looking to book in here!

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for the Blaue Ecke on Adenau's main street as the hotel entrance is a little har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichnusa69, Manager at Hotel Blaue Ecke, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Gavin C,

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

Your statement “superb” and the words which you have chosen honour us very much! Thank you for the prise to our staff! We are always keen on making every guest´s holidays simply unique and are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Blaue Ecke so much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adenau
0.3 mi away
Landhaus Sonnenhof
Landhaus Sonnenhof
#1 of 2 in Adenau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Kastenholz
Hotel Kastenholz
#1 of 1 in Wershofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel zur Burg
Hotel zur Burg
#4 of 5 in Nuerburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel am Tiergarten
Hotel am Tiergarten
#3 of 5 in Nuerburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lindner Congress & Motorsport Hotel Nuerburgring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blaue Ecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaue Ecke

Property: Hotel Blaue Ecke
Address: Markt 4 - 5, 53518, Adenau, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Adenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Adenau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blaue Ecke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blaue Ecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing