We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel, enthusiastic staff, perfect location”
Review of Gythion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gythion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gytheio
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Gythion Hotel is located on the waterfront half way between the ferry dock and the KTEL bus "station". Ideal for those of us traveling by ferry, bus and foot. The hotel has only 7 rooms, really 5 rooms and 2 apartments.

Our room, 24, was quite large with a small balcony where we could sit and enjoy the view over the sea. Although it was right over the street, it was quiet enough when we closed the balcony door.

The breakfast and reception areas are very lovely, no view, but very pleasant, cozy and interesting. Breakfast was fresh orange juice, bread and homemade jam, coffee or tea, cake and cookies.

The best part of our stay were the two ladies who took care of use while we were there. They are both very enthusiastic and outgoing, willing to help or just chat. We found this hotel to be a good base for our visit to the Mani area and would stay again.

P.S. Try the Mani Sausage while you are in Gythion, cooked with orange juice and bits of oranges it is quite different than any sausage we'd ever had. We liked it grilled at Gonia, opposite the end of the ferry pier.

The KTEL bus "station" is a counter inside a cafeteria beside the Alpha Bank (just before the bank if you are walking from Gythion Hotel) and opposite the taxi stand. We walked past it several times and almost missed our bus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony, 24, 22 or apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

The price and location can't be beat. We doorknocked on several hotels on the waterfront stretch in this charming little town and this hotel was our pick initially just based on the cheaper price and a positive feel about the hotel (it is smaller than it's neighbours). We were given two large and very clean rooms with balconies overlooking the harbor. The sunset and sunrise were amazing. However, the best part of our stay was the incredible staff who were very helpful and would actually sit with us and have an enjoyable conversation about anything. Thank you so much Emily and Miriam for making our stay so much fun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

If you squint at this place you will be able to imagine all the 19th and early 20th century Grand Tour visitors who would pass through Gythio on their way to other spots in the Mani and the Pelopponese. Indeed this little port has changed little since that time, as you will see in the old photos in the lobby.
The Gythion Hotel is an old hotel but has been pleasantly updated with TV, ( no English channel) good AC ( it was 100 when we visited!) minibar, a good shower and most importantly very helpful accomodating people at the desk. We were right on the street, but the noise was minimal. It was a good value- about $80 a night. The lobby area is very old fashioned but charming. But sure to check out the Roman Amphitheater about a kilometer north of the hotel. It's an interesting old site in the middle of an otherwise busy neighborhood. We ate dinner at SAGA. It had been recommended, but we thought it was overpriced and nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank dimitris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Florian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank sgilioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gytheio hotels
0.0 mi away
Pantheon City Hotel
Pantheon City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Gytheio
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#8 of 11 in Gytheio
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mareggio Exclusive Residences & Suites
2.4 mi away
Alistos Hotel
Alistos Hotel
#5 of 11 in Gytheio
19 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aktaion Resort
Aktaion Resort
#2 of 2 in Selinitsa
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gythion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gythion Hotel

Address: 33 Vassileos Pavlou, Gytheio 232 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gytheio
Price Range: £33 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gythion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gythion Traditional Hotel is accommodated in a neoclassical building of 1864, which for several decades was the House of Commerce of Gythion town and which was transformed to a hotel in 1982 and was renovated again in 2001. It is a small and cozy hotel with 7 spacious rooms in the most central spot in Gythion Town. All rooms offer a spectacular view to the port of Gythion and the Lakonian gulf. Thanks to its location, Gythion Hotel can be the starting point for a range of very interesting daily excursions by car to Sparta, Byzantine city of Mystras, Taygetos Mountain, Mani, Diros Caves, Areopolis, Gerolimenas, Vathia, Porto Cajio, Monemvasia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gythion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gythion Hotel Greece/Gytheio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing