We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Agios Nikolaos Anapaphsas
Ranked #11 of 28 things to do in Kalambaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the smallest of the 16th-century monasteries.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The fact that monks built these monasteries on top of these rocks in the 14th century is spellbinding. Papa Dimitri was our host and treated us with the greatest humility and dignity. UNFORGETTABLE

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank BillZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Amazing, would love to do other monasteries next time...

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank CGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutman, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The views around this monastery are breathtaking in all directions.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Magical Place-Don't Miss It !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I watched a programme about this place, and decided that I had to visit. I got a train from Athens to Kalambaka, and walked to the village of Kastraki, at the foot of the Monastries. I stayed in hotel France, basic, but the manager was very helpfull. He drove me on his Honda 50, to the bend of the ascending road, and showed me a shortcut through which I could climb directly up to the highest monastry. This was the old path that the monks took, long before a road was built. Not for the faint hearted, and you need to be able to fill your lungs with oxygen ! When I got to the top, I was immediately taken by the views of the valley below. I went into the Monastry, and leisurely walked around. The centre of the monastry, where the place of worship is, was beautiful, and unworldly. I felt I was back in time, surrounded by painted walls and ceilings, and a feeling of being in a time capsule. Indeed it is a time capsule, so go and feel, smell, and see it. A magical place !

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank MarcOMaoldomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good view - grumpy monks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Made a small child wear a wrap skirt (none of the others do) and she nearly tripped and fell down the steps.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Squeaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agios Nikolaos Anapaphsas also viewed

Kalambaka, Trikala Region
Kastraki, Kalambaka
 
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 

Been to Agios Nikolaos Anapaphsas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing