We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Megalo Meteoro Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$374.71*
and up
3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Kalambaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice views. But unless you like Byzantine art, the monastery is a bit underwhelming. The sunset views of the monasteries -- now that's the really awesome stuff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    140
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stairway to Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was an amazing monastery to visit perched high up on one of Meteora's highest cliffs. There is a large number of stairs to climb but well worth the effort. We saw it as part of the Meteora Tour we did. There is a €3 charge per person in addition to the tour fee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino di Sangro, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“grand meteora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This monastery is one of the most beautiful monasteries I have seen before I go back to the city. me i need to go again in kalambaka in the beautiful town and monastery :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable architectural achievement, stunning frescoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was the first monastery we visited in Meteora and we were blown away by the whole experience. How without the aid of modern machinery, etc, it was possible to construct these exquisite buildings on the very tops of the massive monoliths is a total mystery. The richness of the decoration, particularly in the church, is breathtaking and also has been kept amazingly fresh and intact. A certain degree of fitness is needed to scale the many steps up to the monastery, but it is certainly worth the effort when you get there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnTilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
198 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visiting this monastery on the top of a peak really takes your breath away. Fantastic art work and very good exhibitikons.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Megalo Meteoro Monastery also viewed

Kastraki, Kalambaka
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 

Been to Megalo Meteoro Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing