We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient location”
Review of Famissi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Famissi Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Kalambaka
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convient location”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is the first hotel you see as you drive into kalambaka. Has ample parking available just outside the hotel. Public areas and dining room are comfortable. Comfortable, clean and friendly, and caters for large bus groups. Breakfast nothing fancy but typical of a three star hotel. We were given a large room for two people with a very small bathroom. Overall the room decor was a little old fashion but best value for money. This hotel is centrally located for acces to all the monasteries and surrounding attractions. Also, step out of your hotel and you are on the Main Street and very short walk to the town centre and shops.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the monasteries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    32
    22
    17
    13
See reviews for
15
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel seemed to meet our requirements when booked but on arrival, not so.
On the plus side our 'suite' which was actually a double with another smaller room with a small
Double, so a family room had good views from the balcony, ie the street and the monasteries.
On the down side the promised air con didn't work efficiently, ie it never cooled enough to be
Comfortable so at night was very warm, and to leave doors open for air, was very noisy. Wi fi very hit and miss in the reception area only.

Room Tip: Don't rely on having efficient air con if its very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Illinois
Level Contributor
515 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I really liked this hotel but the beds are flat and hard. It has a beautiful garden and lounge area. Room was functional and fortunately I got a room with a view of the mountains and rocks. Great!!! Some overlooked the street. This is a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Hello, everybody, I am very sorry to write such a bad review about a hotel that is otherwise very nice, but this is a problem one cant't overlook. Last night we stayed at this hotel and today when we checked out, I lost my scarf in the elevator. In the bus I noticed and somebody in the group I was traveling with said he found it and took it to the reception. One would think this is safe but no, they are the real problem. Went back, talked to the young lady, and now be amazed. She said yes, somebody brought it in the morning, left it, but SURPRISE, now is gone, somebody, a man took it. I asked her who, can she check on cameras, find out, she sais, it is not her problem, she won t do that. I told her that this is stealing, and it is their responsability to sort things out, but with the most RUDE attitude she again refuses, says she won't do it. So I ask you, is this a normal behaviour, I wonder if she itself wasn't the one that took it. So please, if you go there, please don't put yourself in the situation to need the reception staff's help!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalambaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed in Sept this year and found the hotel to be more interesting visually than functionally. Actually, this hotel had the hardest bed and pillows i have ever slept (or attempted to sleep) on. The bathroom had a deep old tub with a curtain and a very low sink (had to bend to use it and i am only 5'3"). the toilet sat on a corner and blocked the door from opening all the way.
The balcony was nice. We were street side and overlooked the hotel across the street which appeared to be under renovations. Looked a bit like the french quarter in New Orleans, Louisiana.
The neighborhood was nice to walk around, good shopping, bars and scenery at the base of The Meteora Monasteries. The staff was very nice and they offered a good breakfast as well as good evening meal. It did have very good free internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Positioned at the entrance to the town the hotel has a beautiful lobby and dining room. Also well appointed bedroom with very comfortable bed. We overlooked the street but the other side of the hotel looks up at the fabulous Meteora rock formations. Brief but nice stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as part of Cosmos/Archers tour of greece. Arrived late evening all luggage handled by the staff. Free wi fi in all rooms code was on the desk. The room had traditional oak furniture all very clean and light. We stayed in 210 which overlooked the busy road. The balcony was good to watch the world go by. The road is full of cafes shops and art shops all across the road from the hotel. In the bathroom were toiletries. the only complaint is the small tv screen. Usual buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Famissi Eden
Hotel Famissi Eden
#18 of 33 in Kalambaka
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kosta Famissi Hotel
Kosta Famissi Hotel
#15 of 33 in Kalambaka
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaikis
Hotel Kaikis
#8 of 33 in Kalambaka
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alsos House
Alsos House
#10 of 33 in Kalambaka
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
#7 of 33 in Kalambaka
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kastraki
Hotel Kastraki
#9 of 33 in Kalambaka
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Famissi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famissi Hotel

Property: Famissi Hotel
Address: 103 Trikalon, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Kalambaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Famissi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the Hotel Famissi at the entrance of the town of Kalampaka, which is situated below the magnificent, eternal rocks of Meteora.It combines perfectly the unique beauty of the place with the traditional architecture and the modern accommodation making your holiday a very beautiful memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Famissi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing