We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, rustic, and right next to the Meteora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doupiani House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, rustic, and right next to the Meteora”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location to enjoy the mountains. The place is very well kept, with rustic ambiance and exceptional views. Deceptively much farther away from the train station that new originally thought, we had to carry our luggage to Kalambaka's square and take a cab. Don't attempt to walk to the hotel if you have luggage!!
Management was nice, the breakfast was lacking though. It was mostly boiled eggs, bacon and fruit. All in all, it was amazing to share the evening with my loved one while being enthralled by the beauty of Meteora. We had the chance to see the Super-moon and it was quite a sight
Ps. Beware; Kastraki and Kalambaka are two different towns, 20 minute walk away from each

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global-Speedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    171
    60
    22
    22
See reviews for
153
320
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Molaoi, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Kastraki close to the monasteries and with lovely views of the rocks. Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. It's easy to find being well signposted from the centre of the village. It's off the main road so there is no traffic noise from coaches going to the monasteries. The buffet breakfast is more than adequate.

The owners were very helpful and friendly and always available.

Just be aware that the leaflets which they hand out for the monasteries are out of date regarding opening times so check before you travel to avoid a wasted journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philhellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent a couple nights here to see the monasteries in Meteora. This was a very nice place in a good location, up more in the hills than in the town. We took a train from Athens and then took a 5 minute cab ride to this hotel from the station. We were given a choice of rooms. The hotel appeared to be remodeled with an old feel, lots of beautiful dark wood. Our room had a nice patio and the front desk lady never seemed to sleep. She offered us lots of help and advice. We rented a motorbike to go between monasteries which she set up for us. We also asked her to call us a cab for our early train and she told us to wake her up if they did not come and showed us where her room was. Breakfast was not bad, and could be taken in the dining area or large outside patio. My only complaint was that the internet only worked in the common area. This was a nice place to stay otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

To start, I am not one of these petty people that demean a hotel for things out of their control. My reviews are almost always positive. I cannot say enough about the hotel and amazing view and proximity to what I came here for: Meteora. If you want proximity to Kalambaka, then this hotel isn't right for you. If you want to be close to the main attraction, then this is a great hotel...until I dealt with the A-hole of a night manager! This Putz couldn't even put down his iPad to answer a question. I was asking about how the best way to get to get to my next destination was, and he responded with " I'm sorry, this is important to me". I can understand if I was asking someone on the street, but this is something that most Trip Advisor places excel at: Customer Service. A final point is that he placed himself at the most focal point on the patio. The only real table with a view. I feel like checking out tomorrow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank buffalohockey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Doupiani House for two nights and it is a fabulous property. We had a panorama view room and it was spacious and comfortable with an awesome view of the rocks. The owners were friendly and gracious, and we loved their 7 or 8 Birman cats who hang out the front. Can be a bit noisy if your room is directly above the covered outdoor terrace and people sit there socialising at night, so ask for a room towards the end of the building - on the right-hand side looking towards the rocks would probably be good.

Room Tip: Get a panorama view room but ask for one away from the covered outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Doupiani House for one night. We had a hire car but were able to walk from the Hotel to a close restaurant which was very pleasant. Our view from the balcony was wonderful and gave us a taste of the days touring to come. Our room was very clean and quite 'fancy' - couldn't fault the room. The service however was probably the least friendly we had during our four weeks touring Turkey and Greece. The staff were pleasant enough just no smiles or helpful guidance - it all seemed a bit of an effort for them. If it had been the only place we had stayed at I probably would rave about it, but, though it was probably the 'fanciest' hotel the personal attention was definitely lacking. Having said all that - I would still recommend staying here:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBednarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I admit that I was a bit disappointed at first with the location of this hotel, since it was further away from the city center than I had originally thought. But I came to realize that the location is actually ideal for the attractions of this area. When we arrived we walked to the city center (about 20-30 min, we didn't have a car) which is nice, but there really isn't much to do there. All the attractions are outside of the city and Doupiani House is about as close as you can get to them. We took a half-day tour and we were the last couple to be picked up for the tour because the first stop was literally 2 min from the hotel. Had we known this we would have walked there the day before instead of going into town (take a left, instead of right when leaving the hotel, walk the opposite way from town).

The patio and decor of the hotel is amazingly beautiful and romantic, especially at night. The breakfast was decent, I recommend the Greek yogurt with honey. I only interacted with the woman, who I am assuming is one of the owners, but she was really nice and always greeted me in Greek. I really appreciated that and asked her how to say certain things in Greek and she was more than willing to teach me. (From her surprised/happy reaction I got the feeling most tourists don't take the time to learn any Greek.) The words and phrases that she taught me came in handy during the rest of our trip, Efharisto!!

We had a room with a small balcony and a view of the rocks/mountain from the back side of the hotel. Our room was quite small but nice. Now that I know, I would get a room on the garden side with a larger balcony. I think those rooms are larger too. The bathroom in our room had been updated and was nicely decorated, again just kind of small. But the price was nice and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so it worked out alright for us, plus we only stayed one night, so it was fine. The mattress was really firm/hard, and I usually like a firm mattress, but the fact that I noticed how "firm/hard" it was says something. (My husband said it was way too firm for his liking.) The cats that hang out on the patio are also really cute and friendly (I'm fairly certain that they are the hotel's cats).

In summary, this is possibly the best location for the area and its attractions. It has amazing views and the price is also very good for this romantic hotel, tucked away in the countryside.

Room Tip: The rooms with a garden view have the better views and the larger patios, and possibly larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiesg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Dellas Boutique Hotel
Dellas Boutique Hotel
#1 of 34 in Kalambaka
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsikeli Hotel
Tsikeli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kastraki
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pyrgos Adrachti
Pyrgos Adrachti
#1 of 7 in Kastraki
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kastraki
Hotel Kastraki
#10 of 34 in Kalambaka
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alsos House
Alsos House
#11 of 34 in Kalambaka
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Divani Meteora Hotel
Divani Meteora Hotel
#5 of 34 in Kalambaka
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doupiani House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doupiani House Hotel

Property: Doupiani House Hotel
Address: Kastrakiou | Kastraki, Meteora, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doupiani House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kastraki and beside the famous skete of Doupianis standing next to the imposing rocks of Meteora in a serene and devout environment is the mansion "Doupiani house." Recently renovated with original materials of wood and stone has given respect to the traditional architecture of Meteora. Archontiko Doupiani house situated on the highest point of the area in a quiet green area of six acres adjoining the roots of Meteora. It has the most panoramic view of the area and that’s why it is called "the balcony of Meteora." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doupiani House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing