We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mousaka”
Review of O Magklaras

O Magklaras
Ranked #20 of 104 Restaurants in Kalambaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This is the place where we ate the best mousaka in all Lefkada and Meteora area. The place is nice, looks like a family business, if you want to have a relaxed last meal around Meteora this place is great.

I recommend!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Eliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

The food and wine were all right, in a pet-friendly tavern, in close proximity to Meteora, a great touristic attraction.

Yet, when the bill arrived, there were, sadly, things charged twice in it, as well as inexplicable charges. An inflated total amount due ensued!

There was some initial reluctance of the staff to accept payment by a debit card, too.

As soon as we found out the mistakes in the bill, explanations were asked for, but not provided; apologies weren’t offered either! We were reimbursed at once, at least.

We didn’t waste our time by filing a complaint with the authorities, since it’s only human to err. The incidence might (or might not) have been unintentional; we’ll never be sure about.

Please, check your bill very carefully, item by item, if eating there!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ICPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Very nice taverna. The food was very good. We stopped here on our way back from Meteora. Great place for travellers to or from Meteora.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank s-eligijus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The restaurant is a bit outside Kalabaka (on the way to Ioannina) but it's definitely worth the detour.
The Owner and his daughters have a really good sense of customer-service, and the cook is doing a great job at cooking either meat or Greek food.
Don't forget to try the off-menu Greek food!!
Hope to see you guys again soon!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Xo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stopped here on our way back from Meteora today, not expecting much, as we were the only customers (this soon changed) we ordered, a tomato salad, pork with leeks (so tasty), village sausage and a kilo of village wine, the food was so appetizing, I wish I could had eaten more and I would love to visit there for an evening meal. The thoughtful touches in the ladies bathroom, hairspray, handcream, everything you could need to freshen up. Great place and a place for travellers to enjoy a great meal.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Magklaras also viewed

 
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 

Been to O Magklaras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing