We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!!”
Review of Vergoula's Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vergoula's Mansion
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kastoria
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

It's the real Bizantene house! Amazing rooms and common spaces! Bathroons are very very very small, buy still... It's a real traditional experience!
Perfect location and perfect spot of town.
Lovely breakfast and very good taste in furnituring. We have been in august (very cheap), in winter should be amazing!
Lake view of course...! L

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenzo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

Except of the fine place we found, the view was great.
Reception and room service was always friendly and we didnt meet at all the problems others mentioned in their reviews.
Perfect wine! We felt like beeing in another century as owners of a classy mansion in the Lake Kastoria.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazzaro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We booked a quadre-room to stay with our very young two children. Unfortunately, this was a double room (the one shown in the pictures of the hotel's site) with two additional beds (don't know whether this is legal); so, very little room was left for living. The bath was very-very small. The whole room (including the bath) was hardly 25 square meters. And all this for 148 euros a day! According to my experience, this should not cost above 70 euros a day.
The worst was that the room was not heated adequately (central heating), although the inside of the hotel is quite warm; so our youngest child got a cold during the night.

They have a nice "restaurant" in the underground, but they only serve breakfast and wine. In order to have a lunch, we ordered from a local tavern, whereas we got an old bottle wine from the hotel (they have a excellent cellar, the wine was very nice, since 1998, and only 24 euros the bottle).

We decided to leave the second day and this was our worst experience: They asked us to pay the second day without staying, claiming that this is the law. After telling them that the only way to get the extra money is the juridical, they stopped insisting.

Some other details: They have wireless internet for free (quite fast). The breakfast buffet was small but interesting. The view from the rooms is marvellous. The area of the hotel is very nice for walking, although not very close to the downtown. Only two parking places; if you are not lucky, you have to park about 100 meters away (not a flat area).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ioannis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We read several reviews on other sites before booking this hotel.
We found out from the locals that this hotel is heavily advertised.

We arrived at the hotel at around 9 pm. It looked really nice and the person at the reception was friendly.
The room was small (very small) however the furniture and decoration was traditional. The bathroom was really a converted closet with literally no room to move in the shower.

Despite all this we decided it was not too bad and that this was the price to pay for traditional (on top of our 90 euros per night).

Unfortunately, we immediately made another discovery! We were not the only ones staying in that room. Tens of big flying ants were sharing our bed, cushions and bathroom!

As soon as we walked into the bathroom to have a shower we discovered two(!) leaks from the cistern that caused the whole bathroom floor to be converted into a big (or I guess small since the room is tiny) puddle. It was impossible to walk in and if you dared falling over was inevitable.

We complained to the person at reception who said that he could not do anything for the leak that night (these leaks had obviously tried being repaired before as there was cling film(!) over them). It would have to be fixed the next day.
About the ants, we were told that “It’s this time of the year” and that another customer had an even bigger problem with hundreds of them. I wonder if that was meant to say that we are lucky….There was nothing they could do about it. All other rooms were booked…

We suggested that we go out for a walk and they’d do their best to vacuum the room, at least to get rid of them for the night.
When we returned at after 11.30 pm and absolutely exhausted, we tried to forget about it all and get some sleep. Because the room was next to reception and the front door, which everybody had to knock coming in (for that extra traditional touch) we didn’t manage to get any rest until 3.30 am.

At around 6 am we realised that apart from all the problems, we were given an east facing room with no blinds and no black out curtains!!!

We packed everything up and decided to leave. The owner didn’t care why we were leaving after only 1 night stay when we booked for 4 and when we asked for them to find us alternative accommodation the response was “If you don’t like it, sue me!.”
In fact, he said a lot more, but I’m getting tired of listing all the issues…

If after all that you still want to know about the breakfast, let me tell you it was very poor in choice and quality. Long life juice, dry cake, boiled eggs and 1 piece of cheesepie per person. They made sure of that as it was the only thing brought to the
table instead of sitting at the buffet for the flying ants to consume before us!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ExcitedTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Διονυσία Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Οινώ Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Στον επάνω όροφο με θέα τη λίμνη της Καστοριάς.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastoria
2 mi away
Chloe Hotel
Chloe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chloi
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Esperos Palace Luxury & Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kastoria
Hotel Kastoria
#8 of 18 in Kastoria
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nostos Hotel
Nostos Hotel
#5 of 18 in Kastoria
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Calma Hotel & Spa
Calma Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Kastoria
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kyknos De Luxe Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergoula's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergoula's Mansion

Address: 14 Editras, Kastoria 521 00, Greece
Region: Greece > West Macedonia > Kastoria Region > Kastoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kastoria
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vergoula's Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing