We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and a bit remote”
Review of Guesthouse Stong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Stong
Ranked #3 of 7 Lake Myvatn B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and a bit remote”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

It's a quiet place but fairly far from the main tourist part of Lake Myvtan but reasonably close to the attractions around the lake. The restaurant isn't bad but typically isn't budget priced but the food is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    58
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful stay in the main guesthouse. The room was simple, but clean and comfortable. The shared showers were clean and convenient, and overall we had a nice stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were traveling with 2 children, so they gave us a triple room that had bunkbeds and a 'double' bed. Perfect for us. I just mentioned the children in the comments when registering and they got back to me right away.
After we checked in we had the extra treat of being taken to visit some baby lambs that were staying in the barn. Our kids got to hold and pet them...a highlight of their trip! We can't say enough about how nice everyone was.
This is not the closest guesthouse to the lake and its attractions, it's off the beaten path, but well marked from the main road. Views were beautiful and we didn't mind being a little farther away.
This is a working farm, so it's not fancy...but clean, comfortable and friendly. We would love to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, just let them know and they will find a room that works for you either in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in the three bedroom cottage at Guesthouse Stöng in Mývatnssveit. Lots of room, well off the beaten path and a very helpful staff. It's not the closest guesthouse to the lake, but it was perfect for our family of 5. We'd definetly stay here again.

We also had a wonderful nighttime show of the Aurora Borealis, which topped of our stay nicely (see photo).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robogator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Location is perfect, in the middle of nowhere. Rooms are clean and it was quiet: we slept very good. The staff is very friendly, excellent service. Breakfast is good. The guesthouse is located in a old farm but is in need of home improvement. When travelling on a budget this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slangenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

we enjoyed our stay at the Stong guesthouse. It was out of the way of the main tourist trail around Lake Myvatn and the owner was very friendly and accommodating. It felt like we had the place to ourselves. the food in the 'restaurant' was very tasty - and large portion. the jacuzzi was a nice touch. it wasn't fancy by any stretch of the imagination but felt very comfortable and authentic. we stayed in the main building which was very quiet when we were there. we would recommend it for anyone wanting a bit of peace and quiet and friendly warm hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emileon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorsele, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

we stayed at the Stöng holiday cottages for 5 nights - the cottages are new, very comfortable and very clean - we saw the midnight sun - it's a couple of km to the Myvatn lake, but that's no problem - you don't hear anything,only the wind - the only thing that we've got from the owner was the key of our cottage, we didn't get any info at all, no internet

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at the cottage house #3 for 2 nights on Aug 5 & 6. It was booked through Nordic Visitor as part of our self-drive package. The house has 3 rooms (3 single beds and 1 double) with private kitchen and bath. It was very new and clean. We all loved it. The breakfast is pretty basic with bread, butter/jam, cold cuts, cereals, yogurt, milk, juice, coffee/tea. We tried their dinner. It was 4000 ISK for adults and 2000 ISK for kids. It comes with soup, lamb with potatoes and vegetables and dessert. It is all-you-can-eat. We liked the quality of the food and the lamb was well made. The only drawback is that it is a bit off from the the lake. As we had a car, it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bimmer_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Myvatn
0.0 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#6 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.0 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Stong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Stong

Property: Guesthouse Stong
Address: 660 Myvatn, Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house located 5 km from next farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Stong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing