We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our room had been renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After reading so many poor reviews on this hotel I didn't expect much. Our room had been renovated and had a fresh coat of paint but there is not much you can do when it is a small room. Wifi was very poor and only available in the lobby/bar area. Meals were fine and staff tried hard as some were backpackers and had only started that day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

I wouldn't call this a "hotel" room -- I'd call it a POOR MAN'S YMCA! Read all the previous reviews of this place, and then picture the rooms as HALF as small as that. The beds were so tiny you literally couldn't turn over, nor could you move in the WC.
I really can't understand how they could have made rooms so small, when the public areas of the hotel are perfectly OK. The dining room is large, with a great view of the lake.
But nothing compensates for the room size, so if you possibly can, find someplace else in the area.
As far as we could tell,there's another hotel right across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perhaps this was the smallest room with the smallest bed and smallest shower out of all of the hotels I have stayed at in Iceland. We joked that everything was designed for elves, but seriously, fitting myself and a suitcase AND a computer bag into the room was reminiscent of a tetris game. Luckily, the location and the views are so stunning that you won't want to spend any time in your room anyways. So perhaps that is why there is so little care put into the size/layout of the rooms. The hotel is right on the lake and just outside there are trails for walking through the spectacular scenery of the pseudocraters. Hotel restaurant has decent food for breakfasts and dinners. Staff is very kind and help with shuttling bags up and down the stairs as there is no elevator.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if taking your luggage up and down the stairs is going to be an issue, alert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were on a tour of Iceland with Adventures Abroad. We were fortunate to stay here for only one night and on the ground floor so we didn't have to bring suitcases up the stairs. If I judged the hotel by its surrounding scenery this would be a 5 star place. I choose to rate hotels on room size and this was the smallest room I've ever stayed in. The beds were narrow, one had to be inventive in storing suitcases and backpacks in order not to trip over them. The dining room was spacious with amazing views, the food at dinner was good, the breakfast buffet fine. The lounge area was comfortable. We went for a walk after dinner and the views were spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel itself is quiet and pleasant, with a confotable and cosy restaurant with a great overlook of the lake and the clear sky. The lounge area is the only place where you can get wi-fi. Now about the rooms: beds were the smallest for humans, makes one wonder if they are for elves. The room itself is a cubicle, where you and your bags struggle for survival. Bathroom was proportional to room size, what means it was dwarfs place with a minimal shower and a rotten egg smell comming from the hot watter (typical when one is having thermal watter supply)

Room Tip: try to shrink yourself to fit the beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leflaneur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for just one night on an organized self drive tour. The hotel itself is quiet pleasant, with a very nice dining room/restaurant overlooking the lake. The lounge area was minimal and the only place to get free wifi. The rooms are another story! I wonder if they are even legal size? The beds were the smallest I have ever seen. Maybe they cut a single mattress in half? We had a double room that consisteded of two mini beds seperated by a mini table. We had trouble if we both wanted to move around in the room. Also finding space for the suitcases was impossible.
I think we had the worst night sleep of any place we stayed at in Iceland, as we were frightened to turn over and fall out of bed. The bathroom was minimal too with a minimal shower.

Room Tip: Find another hotel in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The tiny beds are so narrow that you must not roll over, just roll in place. Only one person can move around the room at a time. Finding room for luggage was a struggle. There was no internet in our room and no elevator access to our floor. The breakfast was competent. The setting is stark but works OK if you want to visit Myvatn and surrounds.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms if you have difficulty lugging suitcases up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Myvatn hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
347 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#1 of 1 in Skutustadahreppur
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
Dimmuborgir Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
232 reviews
5.0 mi away
Vogafjos Guesthouse
Vogafjos Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gigur by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gigur by Keahotels

Address: Skutustadir, Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northeast Region > Lake Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lake Myvatn
Price Range: £244 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gigur by Keahotels 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gigur by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing