We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home cooking”
Review of Hotel Eyvindara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eyvindara
Ranked #1 of 13 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful home cooking”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A lovely warm welcome in a guesthouse whose rooms are hotel standard. ? By being a guesthouse they can give you lovely homecooked food, overall the best meal we had on our 6 day tour. Our host entertained us with a short selection of Folk songs and regaled us with some stories of local customs and events For the first time we found ouselves amid real trees, and after overnight snow, the whole scene outside was magical after a very welcoming. This is an excellent location for those travlling by air or on the ferry from Denmark..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    95
    42
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
130
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This Guesthouse was horrible, our room was located right above the kitchen, it was very noisy in the late evening and the early morning. The rooms were tiny and there was only on chair in our room for two persons and one bathroom/shower/toilet facility for 4 rooms with two couples. Never ever again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fatal1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A brand-new upgraded facility (just opened in June), more like a small hotel with a nice view over the valley and totally easy to find by GPS. Small reception area, good sized dining area which would be enhanced if a corner were set up as a lounge.
Bed room with hardwood flooring, desk & chair, easy chair, chest with wardrobe and hangers – best equipped place thus far in Iceland.Spacious tiled bathroom with no-rim shower, ok shelf space and very good hardware, good wifi available but charge isk500, this is the only place that charged for wifi thus far. Regular breakfast spread, including herring with dark bread.
Buffet-style dinner is available at their restaurant in the nicely decked-out dining room, I enjoyed a creamy vegetable soup with home-made bread, organic green salad tossed with fresh vegetables, salad with ham, very tasty pan-fried salmon with new potatoes and fried raisins.
2 course isk4500 and a Chilean Sauvignon Blanc for isk4000 per bottle, which seems to be about mid-range in Iceland. Overall a quite pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennekom, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A good hotel if you are on transit. We booked a hotelroom for one night. The beds were good and the room was very clean and atmospheric. Look to get out of bed if you sleep on the window side. there is a sloping ceiling which you can bang your head.
If you want watch television, you have bad luck. There is no one. But that was no problem for us. If we are on holiday, we don't want watch televion.
We had a view over some colored trees with lot of birds singing for us. The bathroom was good but breakfast was not more than standard.
the staff was nice, where you feel at home. They where happy to help you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-PaulenUrsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have stayed in this guesthouse for the 3rd time and I just love it.
This time I have stayed in a cozy cottage for four nights. It is not very big but big enough, because I was only there to relax and sleep.
I decided to stay longer so I got a room in the main building with a double bed but no facilities in the room. But no problem because the shared bathroom is just outside. It was clean and it was free whenever I wanted to use it.
And the rooms they just built this spring are fantastic with very comfortable beds and lovely facilities in the room.
The breakfast table has a great variety and the dinner is just delicious. Even a vegetarian gets something very tasty, thanks to the kitchen.
The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Having begun to despair of hotels in Iceland we were pleasantly surprised by this guesthouse. The rooms were basic, but new and everything worked - it hadn't in every other hotel we'd be to. The staff were friendly, the dinner was fab and the owners' son sang to us all after the meal. Only stayed one night but it was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 16 night trip around Iceland and wished we hadn't. Upon arriving at reception you re greeted with a prison like building (the pretty red building on the first of the pics is now encased in a nasty greyish material. The room we had in the main building was clean and fresh and looked recently updated but here the good things ended. It was in a long dark corridor which was noisy with people coming and going and slamming doors and shouting to each other / children. There were no coffee facilities and none were available after a long day hiking/ driving etc. no tissues or bin in bedroom and as the weather was good and the room hot we needed the window open at night, which was a little worrying as we were on the ground floor and anyone could have climbed in ( luckily Iceland is a very safe place - but I was still concerned when we came back after a long day to find the window had been opened wide). Breakfast was fine but not sure I appreciate the staff collecting their breakfast and eating it while we were still having ours nor the young manager (I think) strolling about in his sweatpants and his Zumba hoody - all felt very unprofessional.

So if you have a choice give this place a miss and stay in one of the nicer places in town

Room Tip: There are other options such as log cabins so maybe they are a better choice otherwise choose anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleycat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
1.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
321 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
Hotel Edda - Egilsstadir
#5 of 5 in Egilsstadir
99 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
74 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eyvindara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eyvindara

Property: Hotel Eyvindara
Address: Eyvindara, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Eyvindara)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eyvindara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eyvindara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing