We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eyvindara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eyvindara
Ranked #1 of 13 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked by our tour company. We loved this place.The room was clean, quiet with garden outside.The staff was nice and the beds were comfortable. The wifi worked great and consistently. The breakfast was good .
We recommended this hotel to stay for more then one nigh if you want to rest and take trips around.
Thank for great hospitality and wonderfull staff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YANUSZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    87
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
117
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had been booked into this location by our tour company. Clean, not quiet during the day due to outside construction .... and a specific place set aside for smoking. Even with a kind of ash tray. Sound silly? Not at all. How did the chef save me. In the morning was on their terrace wishing much for a cup of coffee. Out of a small building near the terrace a lady emerged and asked if I´d like coffee with the smoke. I asked how? She said she was the chef and had a key to the kitchen. What an informative lady. She answered many questions I had about Iceland, as she smoked and drank coffee. I agree with some of the other comments, seems more hotel like than other guest houses we stayed in. Breakfast DID have some hot items on the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having stayed in a number of shared facility guesthouse rooms, we loved this place. They upgraded us to private facilities because they had the room. The room was quiet and the shades on the windows made it dark. We slept great. The location is lovely. The breakfast was pretty decent, including scrambled eggs. The staff was nice and the beds were comfortable. The wifi worked great and consistently. They offer laundry service for 1500 kr a load.

Out of the basic facilities guesthouses we have stayed in, this one allowed us to get the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lousymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had to stay here on a last minute booking. Minimally concerned as it had a fair amount of outside work going on, bit it wasn't too bad once we got to the room. Wifi was not reliable, but when you moved around the property, you could find patches of good pick up. Breakfast in am was good. Overall, a fair option, but definitely more rustic and not a hotel feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

In a very quiet environment just outside Eglisstadir you will find the partly renewed hotel Eyvindara II. We stayed in a hotel room on the ground floor with a small seat outside. Very clean, sufficient space and a good bathroom. Kind and helpful personnel. Breakfast with a broad choice of products. Value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the ground floor. Sitting outside you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night wile doing a tour around the 'ring road'. We had a room in the new section of the main building, and it was the most modern and 'hotel like' of all the places we stayed around Iceland. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the blinds/curtains blocked out the light well. There's no TV or radio in the room, but there is wifi. The restaurant was not open while we were there and there is no bar either.
The hot water here smelled slightly of sulphur, but was not too bad. Breakfast was pretty similar to other places we stayed. No hot option, but cereals breads cold meats and cheeses.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin. While the price was affordable, the infrastructure of the cabin itself was very simple.

It was just clean enough, beds felt dilapidated, and the breakfast was simple at best.

Honestly nothing wrong, but very average.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dollarwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
1.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
Gistihusio Egilsstooum
#1 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eyvindara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eyvindara

Property: Hotel Eyvindara
Address: Eyvindara, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Eyvindara)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eyvindara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eyvindara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing