We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
122
147
61
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
147
61
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building the owner one night northern lights bathroom door charming hotel breakfast buffet rental car reception area short drive reception desk hot tub woods cabin lounge dinner veiw
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Eyvindara for 2 nights during our 11 day tour of Iceland.The hotel has a mixture of rooms in the main building, the annex or in seven cottages. All our party had rooms in the main building. The rarity of the hotel site is that it has trees which is quite rare in Iceland! The hotel owner performs at the evening meals by singing old Icelandic songs with a beautiful tenor voice. On our second night our group reciprocated with a rendering of 'The Wild Rover'!
Good clean accommodation and very welcoming staff. They will also do your laundry for you which was very much appreciated by our group having been on the road for a week! The hotel is a good base for exploring Dettifoss, Namaskard and Dimmuborgir. Good fresh local food.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Located outside of town, this hotel is a cabin-camping-hotel hybrid with a central building and outlying smaller structures. The room was warm, clean and had an amazing view of the surrounding area. The staff was nice, but the owner was a bit overbearing and controlling. They state that they have free internet, but the connection only works in the central house, and when it does work it is not reliable. Breakfast is alright, less options than other hotels. There is an onsite restaurant with a set 3-course menu, but there are also other restaurants located nearby in Egilsstadir.

Room tip: The annexed 'cabin style' rooms are separated from the main building. The rooms are quieter and more private.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sidneys580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely friendly hotel. We stayed in one of the wooden cabins which gave us privacy, a peaceful setting and freedom to come and go. Rooms are clean, warm, well maintained. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Explore the local area. Lots of lovely walks.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank YorkshireLavagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Our cottage was one of the newer ones and was situated amongst the trees, so was more private than the older cottages. It was sunny weather when we stayed and it was lovely sitting out on the little deck. The food in the restaurant was delicious and good value for money (comparatively) and the owner & cook(?) were lovely & helpful. On the negative side, the kitchenette was tiny - Ok for breakfast or sandwich lunch but not enough room to prepare a meal, so we had to eat out which incurred more cost. The main room contained the two beds, lounge, small table & chairs and tiny kitchenette, so was quite cramped - the only room for our cases was on the lounge, so we had to sit at the table or on one of the beds. The bathroom was behind the main room and was long & narrow, but adequate.

Room tip: The older cottages are not as private but have separate living room, bedroom & bathroom, so seem larger.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Nice peaceful location (almost goes without saying in Iceland). Recently extended with nicely equipped new rooms. Good buffet breakfast and nice evening meals in the restaurant. Complimentary salad bar was a welcome bonus.
Friendly welcome and even a hug from the owner for being patient when she had trouble with our bill.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rowington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews