We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Like most hotels in Iceland, this is not a luxurious hotel. The exterior is quite plain but the interior decor is bright and cheerful. It would s in the commercial centre of Eggilsstadir. There are two supermarkets within a few minutes' walk. The room is not large. We had breatfast, lunch and supper in the hotel and the food was good. One can have a cold beer from the tap before supper and all drinks are half priced at happy hours. Internet service is provided free both in the lobby and in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wun Tong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Totally didn't expect such a personal service in a hotel like this. But we were WOWed. Room is comfortable and clean, we were on 3rd floor with nice sunset view. Restaurant is outstanding and service is also great. The hotel manager made us feel like we were her friends visiting Iceland! She recommeded us to find hotpots up in the highlands, we chatted about aurora and she planned our drive from the town to the next destination. We asked our agent to change one hotel to another Icelandair Hotel simply because of the experience at this hotel!

Room Tip: 327 had a great sunset view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samandjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The rooms were nice and large.

Our room was on the main floor near the elevator and next to the men's bathroom. We were a little concerned but felt relieved when I ran a few tests flushing urinals and toilets and not a peep was heard.

The lamb at dinner was tough and barely edible. Seems strange to have a bad cut of lamb in Iceland. The other items were okay.

It took about half an hour to get the bills for my three rooms due to a computer glitch. Hopefully that was a rare occurrence.

We would probably stay here again but definitely eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeInPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Spacious modern hotel, large area and bar.
Bedroom modern and nicely furnished. Tea making facilities but no fridge or safe in bedroom. Walk in shower in bathroom , face flanels even provided. Pay wifi in bedroom, Disappointing that connection cost approximately £5 per 24 hours , however free in lounge. Meals of a very high standard (although as we were on a tour it was a fixed menu). A lovely hotel located in a lovely area! Even saw the Northern lights!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for a week recently for work and wasn’t sure what to expect as I saw pictures of a white box online and also noted it was associated with an airline. Getting to it was nice though, all of 5 minutes from the domestic airport, the hotel is very welcoming and warmly designed inside, with mostly friendly staff. English was very well spoken as it is in the country generally and the lobby was nicely colored and laid out. The rooms were simple but nicely done with clean furniture and shapes – not as well designed as the public areas but still felt nice and modern. Good storage space and OK beds (bit soft for me personally).

The restaurant was good although mostly meat of course; can get busy if tour groups are passing, as they were some nights. Breakfast was good and included; wifi was about £6 per day, although was free in the lobby area at least.

Very nice comfortable stay – not the best for views perhaps, since it is in the town, but many great open places are easily reached with a drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a nice size room and the bed was very comfortable. The drapes were thick enough so that we were able to keep out the sunlight and sleep. We were here only one night as part of the Iceland Complete tour. The food and service we very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoiledrotten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On my way around Iceland I decided to stay also at this Icelandair hotel. This one is characterised by a huge wooden deer in the front lobby.
Althought the hotel was booked out according to online system, after emailing them I got a confirmation (great!); obviously the hotel has a technical reserve (a couple of free rooms not appering in the booking system).
The hotel and rooms itself are cozy, bed was really good, there was a walk-in shower instead of a bathtub which was actually better than a small tub.
The service (both reception and restaurant) were fine; because of many tourist groups sleeping at icelandair hotels (which also organizes these trips) tables are numbered so you will have your breakfast table already allocated if you paid for it (which I did). The bar offers a huge selection of pretty pricey drinks but how often do you have a possibility to enjoy a glass of icelandic beer? Four out of five for me with the one star missing for the really enormous hotel bill for the accomodation (yes, it's pretty expensive even in Icelandic measures).

Room Tip: Every room is fine but beware, the hotel is sold out pretty fast and pretty early in the year especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.3 mi away
Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
91 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birta Guesthouse
Birta Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Egilsstadir
78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eyvindara
Hotel Eyvindara
#1 of 15 in Egilsstadir
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Herad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Herad

Address: Midvangur 5-7, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range: £83 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Herad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Herad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Egilsstadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing