We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely week at Nupar”
Review of Nupar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hveragerdi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nupar
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We just left these chalets yesterday. We rented them for a whole week and they were comfortable, clean and warm. The kids loved them! They have new owners who have improved them a lot with flat screen tv, new sofas and chairs (modern) and the kids enjoyed sitting in the lovely jacuzzis. The owners could not do enough for us, always there to help and even offered to pick us some shopping. These chalets have comfy bedding, small bathroom but are cosy and warm and some of the best cabins i have stayed in Iceland. Highly recommended and perfectly situated for Reykjavik, Hveragerdi, Grindavik and Blue Lagoon as well as the South Coast near to Road no 1. Need a car. Complete with bbq and new cooker/ovens in the larger chalets they are a good way to enjoy iceland on a budget.

Room Tip: all the chalets are the same for their size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orangecagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at Nupar last week and thoroughly enjoyed it - although unfortunately we'd only booked one night.

Our host gave us a very warm welcome even though we clearly caught him on the way out with his kids. We were given the keys to cabin #1, and made our way over there. On first sight, the cabins look like slightly oversized garden sheds, but they fit into the surroundings so well, and are actually really lovely. The inside was very spacious, with a small kitchen area fitted out with lots of crockery, pots and pans, etc, as well as a table and two chairs. On the other side was a comfy sofa, coffee table and TV. The bathroom and bedroom were also a very decent size, and just fine for our needs. And of course just outside our front door was a private hot tub with water that was constantly being kept at a snug 38 degrees C! Easily the highlight of our stay at Nupar.

One small minus needs to be given for cleanliness though: I found a load of dead flies dotted around the inside of the cabin, mainly by the windows. It wasn't a big issue for me though, and we didn't complain about it. It was just as easy getting rid of them ourselves, and the rest of the cabin was clean too.

What did surprise slightly was how lovely and warm the cabins were inside. I read in a lot of reviews, that this type of accommodation is typically used as a summer house, but it's just as good in winter. We did not require any extra blankets and were happily wandering around in t-shirts inside.

As for location, Nupar is very well placed too. We stayed here after doing the Golden Circle tour and before heading towards Vik and Jokulsarlon, so it was great staying somewhere less busy than Reykjavik, with a good view of the Northern Lights at night, and a slightly shorter drive the next day.

Next time I'm in Iceland I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joniko5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We found these cottages some years ago and stay each time we are in Iceland. The small cottage is ideal for 2 people, the bed comfortable, sufficient pots and pans and attractive crockery. The cottage is warm and cosy.The new managers are keen to ensure the cottages are clean and attractive. Check in and out is relaxed. The only disappointment - on several stays - has been the hot-tub which is rarely hot enough to use, surprising when the water supply you can see steaming away a short distance from the cottage is obviously so hot. Lovely peaceful surroundings, but only 2 km from the village of Hveragerdi which has a good supermarket and a couple of bakers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mintpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We (couple) called en route and were able to book in no problem. Met at house by friendly dogs and got keys from friendly lady owner. Had good feed (something & Kunst in town), hot tub with a beer before cosy bed.
No rush to leave (midday checkout) in morning after a leisurely breakfast made in cabin. Good sized cabin for two. Poked head into larger cabins in front which looked suited to 2-kid family. Cabins a little too close to each other for me, and view not exactly wild nature, but bearable from hot tub and interior easy on the eye.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

when we arrived the cottage wasn't cleaned, the dishes were not washed up, the shower was dirty, so we 've got another cottage, that was better, but the hot tub, one of the reasons we choosed for Nupar, could not be used, because the water wasn't warm enough

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Nice place. Clean. Parking next door. Kitchen, 2 beds. View all around.
Easy to find

We loved the place.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Gonen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed at their cottages with three other friends and we had a great time. It is out there in the country side, so if you're looking for a quiet place it's ideal. The cottage was not big but cosy, all in wood, 2 bedrooms with two beds each, an equipped kitchen where we cooked. Best feature was the hot tub with hot water from the source below, great to soak in the sulfur water. It's not far to the next town, Hveragerdi, where we did shop for groceries and all, and 45 min friom Raykjavik. Well placed to go on the classic tour of the Golden Cirlce. We had a great time there and would definately go again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
2.3 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ork
Hotel Ork
#2 of 3 in Hveragerdi
393 reviews
16.2 mi away
Minniborgir Cottages
Minniborgir Cottages
#1 of 34 in Selfoss
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Guesthouse Frumskogar
Guesthouse Frumskogar
#1 of 9 in Hveragerdi
102 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hjardarbol Guesthouse
Hjardarbol Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Hveragerdi
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Icelands Guesthouse
Icelands Guesthouse
#2 of 9 in Hveragerdi
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nupar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nupar

Address: Nupir II | Olfusi, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Hveragerdi
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nupar Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing