We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frost and Fire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very special place to stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. The rooms were quite basic (we had a double and sofa bed for our 2 children) but what made this hotel special was the location and friendliness of the staff. We loved spending time in the hot tubs overlooking the river and numerous hot springs which bubbled away... it was really quite surreal ! Even the outdoor pool was very hot ! Breakfasts were included and very good... including the chance to cook your own egg outside over a hot pit. It is now possible to get dinner in the evening too and we found the food to be very good.

We did a fabulous walk up to the hot stream in the mountains. The walk starts about 10 minutes (by car) from the hotel. The path winds its way up the mountain through the snow and after an hour we reached a hot river. The thermally heated river was a delight for us all to laze in and admire the spectacular scenery around. It was freezing cold getting out but worth it for the time in the river!

We did not see the northern lights while staying at this hotel but would not have missed this hotel on our trip around Southern Iceland.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review. It is good to see that you got a nice weather that allowed you to explore the surroundings of the Hotel, which can be quite magical even for us who spend most of the year here. Our staff is just wonderful and I will make sure to let them know about your kind words towards them.

We thank you for your stay and hopefully you will visit us again, maybe in a different season ?

Best regards from F&F
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    164
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
104
356
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Brilliant place. We had a complimentary upgrade of our room, which was really great. Sitting in the hot tub under the stars was fabulous, even if the northern lights didn't show! Cooking your own breakfast eggs in the hot pit in the earth is an experience not to be missed. Friendly staff, great food, whilst the rooms are quite basic, they are very clean and well presented, and have all that you need.

Our favourite hotel of those we stayed in during our visit to Iceland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardifftravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, it means a lot to us. It is a great compliment to be "a favorite hotel".
It is good to see that you liked all the facilities and that you enjoyed your stay here.

We thank you for your visit and hope you can visit us again one day.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. If you have time, it's worth getting out of Reykjavik, even for a couple of days. Hveragerdi is a tiny village surrounded by mountains and built on geothermal fields so there are hot springs bubbling out of the ground everywhere. The guesthouses overlook the river, as do the outdoor hot tubs. I have to say, sitting in a hot tub at night with a glass of wine, listening to the river and looking up at the mountains while the freezing drain drizzled down was a pretty memorable experience. The service at the hotel is wonderful -- they're friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread is delicious and the one night I had dinner at the restaurant was just great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guests.
What a wonderful review you have written. Thank you !
Our aim is to present Frost and Fire as a destination for everyone where you can spend the day in a unique environment. We are so glad see that you have just enjoyed all of that.
We hope you will be able to visit us again and thank you for staying with us.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a great time, the facilities were wonderful, the room was a little strange from the outside, but inside it was well decorated with a great bed and bathroom. The hot tubs and swimming pool were just fantastic, I can't recommend it enough.

Only complaint would be the restaurant that was only serving an expensive buffet - we had a large lunch and had difficulty finding food in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silospen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are very glad that you liked your stay here and that you recommend it for others.
Before Christmas we offer a traditional Icelandic Christmas buffet on Saturdays. It is a bit more expensive than the menu because it offers a great variety of quality food, such as wild Reindeer, smoked wild goose, wild trout and much more. It is a great experience to try it, even for the Icelanders.

We hope to see you again one day and wish you a great winter.

Best regards from F&F
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

WOW! If you come to Iceland do not miss this small but beautiful hotel, about 30 minutes from Reykjavik. Located in Hveragerdi, a town which is known for its geothermal activity, the hotel offers all of the local best - hot swimmingpool, hot pots, beautiful scenery, locally grown food, sauna, really nice and knowledgeable staff.
Me and my husband went for a getaway weekend and I honestly dont know how we managed to drive back to Reykjavik, as we we're so relaxed and well fed by wonderful dinner and breakfast.
A must go to - if you're there during summer, ask for hiking trails... they are really good and close.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review and your tips for the future guests.
We really appreciate your kind words towards the staff of Frost and Fire, that is really encouraging for all of us.

We thank you for your visit and hope that you will come back for a visit soon.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

When we booked, we were told that their restaurant was not open midweek in winter, but they helpfully recommended and booked a local place for us. Having arrived in a blizzard, we were VERY pleased to find that - due to guest comments - the restaurant was open. It was excellent, too!

Our whole stay was great. We were able to watch the Northern Lights in comfort from our room overlooking the stream. Breakfast was a good selection and the restaurant view of many small steam vents added an interesting dimension. We didn't take up the option of cooking our own boiled egg in one, as it was icy outside.

By the way, if you are travelling North from here, don't miss the Faxi waterfall on the road up towards Gullfoss. Faxi isn't as dramatic (or as easy to find), but beautiful and much less touristy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the stream also face North for light watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for this nice review. We are also very happy that we can have our new restaurant open all days during the winter, thanks to all of you travelers who are staying at Frost & Fire hotel. We couldn´t do it with out you. We are glad that you liked all our facilities and that you had the chance to see the Northern lights, that is always something, even for us the Icelanders.

We send our greetings from Hveragerði and wish you a lovely winter.
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent one night here and wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived one afternoon without reservations, about 2, were given a guided tour of the facility and our room and checked in quickly. We loved the provided bathrobes and slippers and spent the rest of the afternoon treating ourselves to the "spa". We took a dip in the geothermal heated pool, a steam in the sauna (which could have been a bit warmer), a rest in the relaxation room and spent a lot of time in the hot pot..ie the hot tub. It was next to the river and the sounds and sights were glorious. The staff is fabulous and helpful. We especially enjoyed Lara (sp) a young girl from Germany who spent time telling us about the area. We would have liked to have eaten at the restaurant but it was closed for a special party. We ended up at a pizza place, as there are not many choices in this small town. We did see, briefly, the northern lights out our windows. We had planned to hike up to the top of the hill around midnight for better views as the staff suggested but there were gale force winds and it just did not seem possible. The breakfast was very good and fresh including the brown bread cooked in the thermal springs. Our only regret is we did not have another night so we could have hiked some, enjoyed their restaurant and spent more time in the hot pot!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guests.
Thank you for your lovely review, especially the comment concerning one of our staff, Laura. You know that you are always welcome back and we will be here. Unfortunately the restaurant was completely booked the night you were here.

We thank you for your stay and again for your friendly review.

Best regards from all of us in Frost & Fire
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
8.7 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
188 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
586 reviews
7.9 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,557 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frost and Fire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Hotel

Property: Frost and Fire Hotel
Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Frost and Fire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing