We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frost and Fire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location of this place is fantastic. We had a double room with balcony over the river. It was large, light and modern. The area is peppered with geothermal hot pools and it was a real treat to be able to boil your own egg for breakfast in one out in the courtyard. They also have a bread oven out there were all the bread is baked overnight ready for the breakfasts. With free use of the spa, steam room, hot tubs and swimming pool and bathrobes and slippers provided, we couldn't fault this place at all. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 all have a balcony that looks over the river and away from the car park.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RVACheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind and informative review for future travelers.
I can see that you have enjoyed all the facilities and it is great that you have now tried to cook the way people used to do here 100 years ago !

We wish you all the best and thank you for staying at F&F
Best regards
Elfa D Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Frost and Fire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel has a great location amongst the thermals in Iceland! Our room was very small but had a great view of the river and scenic bridge. We enjoyed the hot tub before breakfast! It was nice to have slippers and robe supplied by the hotel. Breakfast was superb! EVERY bread they had was fresh warm and SOOO TASTY! Cooking eggs in the thermal was so much fun! Staff was very friendly! We loved the 2 little black and white kittens on site!! Made us feel right at home! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows because they are pretty flat...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for a wonderful review and for your information that might be useful to future travelers.

Best regards from Frost and Fire
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't normally write a review but feel it is necessary in this case. Stayed here for the first night of a short trip to Iceland. Four adults. Sister In laws 40th.
The very first impression is the location. Set off the road in a small valley surrounded by snow covered hills with steam venting out from cracks peppered all over the place.
And a Icy river slowly flowing by.
We got a lovely warm welcome, and were shown to our perfectly formed rooms. Which were fairly basic but nicely decorated, clean and lovely and warm. Our room had really big open windows so we could look out over the stunning views.
Sandals and bath robes were provided and essential for taking the rather chilly journey to the outside hot tubs. Which were the absolute highlight of our entire stay in Iceland. Waving to hikers and joggers, and Just being able to relax in there surrounded by those views was amazing!!
We easily booked a table for that evening and had a lovely but quite expensive dinner. But later found out that expensive is just how Iceland seems to be.
All in all this place is just perfect. Thank you frost and fire!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Planktonsnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've stayed in other 3 star accommodation in Iceland and I'd say the guest house is at the lower end of the range. It had everything you needed including wi-fi, good TV channels, lovely and warm, lovely selection of teas in the room - but still it wasn't very inviting. We asked for a double bed which was 2 singles pushed which were extremely hard (no give at all vs a firm mattress), together with 2 of the flattest pillows I have ever seen! The room was small and after 20 mins there were bits all over the floor. The bathroom had absolutely no room to put anything and not even a tray for your products whilst in the shower.

The guest house does however have fantastic amenities in terms of 2 jacuzzis, pool and steam room - these were great given it was a really cold day. The guest house is in a lovely location by a stream.

Breakfast was good, but nothing special. I don't think I'd stay here again, even though the location and staff were really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papergirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Now we have very high standards so we ensure we trawl trip adviser before booking anywhere and it was worth it. We loved F&F.

It had a real chilled vibe, nice and quiet plus the setting was amazing, set in a valley overlooking a river-gorgeous. Plus the staff are great, especially Helen who constantly went above and beyond to help. Free wifi. Great value for Iceland in ideal location, plus it is clean and great service with some lovely touches.

Loved being in the heart of the geothermal area- plus we got to cook our breakfast eggs outside in a hot spring. Also, the breakfast choice consisted of home made traditional Icelandic breads cooked in the ground, continental meats/cheese and smoked trout, fresh fruit and a good cereal selection as well as other breads and of course fresh juices and coffee/tea. No English breakfast option such as bacon/sausages but this didn't bother us as the rest of the selection was very good. We ate more and more each day.

Location: Great location to explore the golden circle and the south plus the town has great walking trails to see the geothermal activity (hot springs and hot river). We hired a car and explored the country ourselves which I would thoroughly recommend. Very good place to see the northern lights from.

Facilities: They have 2 hot tubs overlooking the gorgeous view, a small swimming pool and also a sauna which were lovely to relax in after a day exploring. They provide bathrobes and flip flops. Plus they are building a guest lounge/ chill out area overlooking the stunning view which will be a great addition (they aim to have it ready for May 2014.)

Activities: all recommended by the hotel and we booked directly online (links below) before we arrived. All were awesome and we would highly recommend.

-dog sledging Iceland - http://www.dogsledding.is/ (1 hour sledging-amazing!)
-Icelandic mountain guides - https://www.mountainguides.is/day-tours/glacier-tours/?ref=fb2 (3 hour glacier hike at Solheimajokull)

Eateries:

-Hofland setrið - within walking distance from F&F. Amazing pizza due to generous helpings for the toppings. We ate in the restaurant one night joining locals and also had delivery another night.

There are also other good places to eat in hveragerdi such as Kjot & Kunst where they cook fish in the ground and there's a local Bonus supermarket in town to cater for your supplies - except for alcohol. Would highly advise buying this from duty free before you arrive.

-Kaffi Krus - Selfoss is just 15 min away. They serve amazing burgers, good service and again nice to be dining with locals (and tourists).

-The Fish Company in Reykjavik- we had a brilliant 3 course fish lunch and a glass of wine each for just £65. A bargain for such top quality food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olby1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The accommodation is located in a scenic location with a view of the mountains and river at the back. The accommodation has good facilities (i.e. sauna, spa etc) as well. Our room was spacious and clean. The breakfast we had was good with a decent spread of food, as well as the opportunity to cook our own eggs in the hot spring outside. However, we had difficulty logging on to Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My grandson and I stayed at the Frost and Fire Guest House in February. The ski-mobile trip that I had organised was cancelled the evening before. The extremely helpful receptionist rang round and found another excursion for us. When this was also cancelled the following morning (bad weather!) she found a local guide at Iceland Activities to take us out for the day. We had a fabulous time! The room was clean with a view over the river; the hot tub was great fun; dinner in the restaurant was delicious. I definitely recommend this place! Thank you for a great visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
8.7 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,709 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
7.9 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
813 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frost and Fire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Hotel

Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range: £129 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Frost and Fire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing