We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blending of elements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frost and Fire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Came here on an excursion from Reykjavik.
The property was and surroundings were very stark and magical.
Geothermal steam permeated the whole area, and was great to be a part of.
The restaurant was great, with local ingredients, and I especially like the cod liver oil shot station.
The rooms were cabin like, spacious, with a terrace facing the river and surrounding hills.
The hot tubs were awesome. They were hot, and I could have sat in them all day. The weather was windy and frigid, but the hot tub was like a vacation unto itself.

I loved this place.

Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We considered this hotel expensive for the very basic room but then what a unique location! I read one of the earlier reviews describing the place as "not quite clean" and the hotel's response. I can relate to the problem of corrosion because we live at the beach in Australia and we have to carefully consider what materials we use in our home. Anything metal corrodes before your eyes and the moisture creates mould. My initial impression was "shabby" but then instantly realised how the elements in such an environment would effect the building and outdoor areas.

Our room was a double with separate shower. There were windows on two sides so we had a panoramic view of the river and cliff faces with steam rising from the hot springs. It was wonderful to wake to this view in the morning. The bathroom was an add-on in the room, poorly designed and very cramped. I actually hit my head on the towel "rail" when I stepped out of the shower. The duvets did not appear to be feather or down and there was only one very soft pillow for each of us. Having said this we both slept very well.

We were too tired when we arrived to take a dip in the hot tub but my husband ventured out after breakfast. The large pool was far too hot so he used the smaller one and found it enjoyable. He said there were beer cans everywhere left by guests who had been partying in the hot tubs late in the evening. Obviously against hotel rules.

Breakfast was nice with a delicious array of breads, good quality granola with a yoghurt type milk and fresh fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, a variety of meat and birch smoked salmon. As mentioned previously you can boil your own eggs in the hot springs but it was raining and cold so we decided against what I'm sure would have been a fun thing to do.

I think a few personal touches would make a difference to the overall impression of the hotel. Some bath products would not go astray.

The highlight of my stay was a visit from a very cute black and white kitten (missing mine)!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your very kind review.
It is good to hear that you liked your stay and that you slept well.
For one and a half year Frost and Fire is being refurnished and we have been adding some new things to the hotel with new owners. We will add some bath products before June which will be Icelandic.
We are focusing on the surroundings, the geothermal activity and so we intend to add some mud baths with in the next months and an outside steam bath.
The bathrooms are rather small here since we have an lot of outdoor bathing facilities.

We thank you for staying at Frost and Fire and hopefully we will see you again !

Best regards
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a great location to the adventure activities (ice climbing, Scuba Diving etc) or simply relaxing away from it all.
It's about a 40 minute drive to/from Reykjavik and an hour to/from the airport. If you plan to stay here, hire a car.
The restaurant is excellent. We ate there twice and almost never eat at hotel restaurants. The food was outstanding and very good value. The breakfast was great too (boil your own eggs in the natural hot springs outside!).
The staff were extremely accommodating and even helped us change rooms to something more suitable. The natural hot spring hos tub are excellent and not crowded (even when the hotel was pretty full).
Beautiful views and outlook. Very tranquil setting away from roads and people.

The rooms were nicely appointed, clean and comfortable but fairly simple. The beds were the standard twins joined together.

Overall an excellent experience. A must stay in Iceland.

Couldn't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: The quad rooms are really only suitable for families (the four beds are in the same room). The doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSLMPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about the hotel, staff and Restaurant Varmá.
We opened the restaurant 11 months ago focusing on local Icelandic food, good quality and the cooking is based on the slow food concept. We also use old methods when we cook some specialties in the hot spring.

We thank you for staying here at Frost and Fire and we wish you a wonderful upcoming summer.
Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Frost and Fire is located along a lovely river and near hills dotted with geothermal vents. The landscape is beautiful and the hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple and delicious every morning, especially the fresh bread and smoked trout. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tubs near the river, and our kids enjoyed cooking an egg in the ground and playing with the hotel cats.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guests.
Thank you for your lovely review. I see that you met our cats Álfrún and Elding who both are extremely friendly and grew up here.
It is good to see that your whole family enjoyed the stay with us.
We thank you for your stay and hope to see you again when you visit Iceland again !
Best regards from all of us in F&F
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was a great way to end a trip to Iceland. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful and the view can't be beat. We loved relaxing in the hot tubs next to the river. The shower for the sauna wasn't working, which was unfortunate, but the pool was lovely. We enjoyed the icelandic breakfast, including the moist, sweet bread cooked in the hot steam of the springs. We didn't cook any eggs in the hot springs, but it was fun to see other guests enjoying this experience. The restaurant was lovely and we were sad not to have partaken of dinner here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikiMouse76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind review and for staying at Frost and Fire.
It is good to see that you have enjoyed your stay, that is really important for us to know.
The out door shower is always unplugged during the winter to prevent accidents.

We wish you a lovely summer and hope you will visit us again one day !

Best regards from F&F Hotel

Elfa D. Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We traveled quite a lot around Iceland and this is one of the biggest disappointment we had.

Sure the location is great BUT:
- rooms are cheaply build and furnished
- the hot-tub water was dirty and full of dead skin and particles ( see photos)
- if you want to take a shower, well look at the picture .... and it does not even work...
- Breakfast was just average and when you look at the prices you pay for a room it is really not normal.
- Nothing is really dirty but not quite clean either.
- No attention to details whatsoever
- You really feel that you are in a tourist trap just meant to be a cash cow...

Do not trust the nice and fancy pictures on the website, we did and we really regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest.
Please, you have to be careful about what you say about things you are not familiar with.
I just wished you would have talked to us about these things you mention in the review so we could have explained things for you.
- The hot tubs are washed 3 to 6 times a week and the swimming pool 1-2 times. Everything in registered here. They refill about 3-4 times every 24 hours because the water runs constantly in along with the condensed steam.
- The hot tubs are NOT full of dead skin...The particles that you saw in the water were minerals from the steam which we use to heat up everything here.
- The hot tubs are painted each spring, but we have to wait for the temperature to reach at least 6°C and without any rain for 3-4 days. We are still waiting....
- The outside shower is always unplugged during the winter to prevent accidents caused by ice in front of the steam room and the lower hot tub.
-Our buildings are not cheaply built. As you may have noticed there is a lot of geothermal activity here. Hot springs are every where and the steam from them are very eroding, that is why our houses are all covered with a special material that can be cleaned and which the steam does not affect.
-Our photos show exactly how our hotel looks like, no hotel can do otherwise.
Our aim as you can see from other guests reviews, is to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Our staff is truly amazing and put their heart in to their work and so do I.
If you would have informed us about your discontent we would have helped you finding another hotel. You should not have to be disappointed about anything when you are on a vacation. We are here to solve things and me,the owner, I am always reachable for helping out, I just have to know if something is wrong.

We wish you a lovely summer and hope you will visit Iceland again one day.
Best regards
Elfa D Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Easily found, it is right beside a fast flowing river, underlooking the mountains and about 20 geothermal hot springs....

Like a Holiday Lodge set up in the Lake District !

It does possess extremely helpful staff, good basic bedrooms with drying heaters, great views, and a wonderful outside hot tub which was over 100 degrees. As I dont get in a bath unless it is just lukewarm, this was a personal first-and we spent about 2 hours in 3 visits to it.

Next to it is the Sauna and a hot/cold room with an ice bath. So dead easy to combine lots of stretching if you are a sportsman...

We ate outside the hotel but breakfast was very pleasant and there are two very friendly black and white cats ! Downside was the WiFi was off.............

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your friendly review.
We are happy to see that you have enjoyed all our facilities here and even got to meet Álfrún and Elding. They were adopted to F&F after they were found only new born out in the nature this winter.

We have installed a brand new Wifi and TV system that works just perfectly. The old one was not stable enough.
Hopefully we will see you again next time you visit Iceland.
Best regards and thanks from F&F staff
Elfa D Þórðardóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
8.7 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
227 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
634 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
7.9 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
827 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frost and Fire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Hotel

Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range: £133 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frost and Fire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing