We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Ork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ork
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very good location if you want to visit Gullfoss and Geysir (around 1 hours by car - nica landscape and good roads).
The staff is frindly and gives good advice. The restaurant is very good and the hotel is calm.
There is a swimming pool outisde (not tested).
The rooms are very well equiped and big. The hotel is not cheap but the price is honest for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Hamm14

Thank you for your review and for your stay.

I am glad to hear you liked our hotel and the restaurant and maybe on your next trip you will be able to try the swimming pool :-)

Yes the location is good with a short drive to the golden circle and now with the new south shore road it is also a short drive to the Blue Lagoon and to Keflavík airport.

Hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    169
    77
    19
    11
See reviews for
79
158
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here on 2 nights while on a self-drive holiday, plenty of free parking. Staff friendly & very helpful when I wanted to print out boarding passes for trip home. Didn't try the restaurant for evening meals but I enjoyed the breakfast spread (I have to say I ate very well throughout the whole trip generally). Along with the other hotels I stayed in, the Ork doesn't do tea/coffee-making facilities in its rooms, but this seems to be standard for Iceland (it's not a big deal).
We made use of the swimming pool and the hot tubs - very nice having a late night soak. The Ork provides swimwear and towels if you don't have your own (I think currently they don't charge for this).
It's easily found - when you get to Hveragerdi there's a roundabout and the hotel is just down the road on the left. It's close to shops, restaurants/cafes & an information centre and is a good base for walking trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieGamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear GoldieGamgee

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk and for your review. I am glad to hear you liked our hotel and the swimming pool / hot tubs. My favorite is to use the hot tubs during a cold winter evening with starlight and if you´re lucky some northern lights as the view :-).

We hope to see you again in Iceland

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Room is standard but clean. Lift broke down and I stay on 4th floor but the receptionist did help with luggages fortunately. However, please AVOID the restaurant if you are not eating in big group as the waitresses would only look at big group tables and completely ignore you or treat you as totally transparent if you are not part of any big group. I had to wave non-stop for 5 mins before I was served just for hot water for my tea. Then when I wanted to ask for my bill, I had to keep waving for almost another 5 mins but was completely ignored when two waitresses went to a big table to serve them. Inevitably, I took the opportunity to ask for my bill but was snubbed at by one of the waitresses indicating that she was serving the big group. The setting of the restaurant seems to be upmarket but food is no big surprise given the price tag especially with the appalling services. I stayed at Hotel Ranga prior to Hotel Ork and the services was immaculate in all respects, of course that includes the restaurant and the price and service was worth the value.

Daisy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Daisy L

I am sorry to hear about the service you recieved at our restaurant. It is of course not according to our standards as you can read about here in other reviews. We will make sure that this does not happen again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ork for one night whilst touring Iceland. It is a fair size and has 4 floors serviced by a lift. Check in was quick & efficient and the presence of a supermarket just across the road was a bonus. Our room No 418 was a good size with the usual standard furnishings, desk, chair, tv etc. We were disappointed at the lack of tea & coffee making facilities but it was no big deal.

Dinner was very good with a soup starter, Chicken ,mash & veg followed by Pannacotta and coffee. The service was excellent. Breakfast was the usual buffet of cold meats, cheese, cereal, fruit juices etc etc. but there was no hot dish available.

There was also a free internet point near reception. The hotel is a comfortable enough place and like so many Icelandic hotels it is functional rather than offering luxury. I don't have a problem with this in that it met all our requirements.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Dave

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear that you like our restaurant and the service. We always try our best to serve our guests.

Warm regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We only stayed for one night and arrived too late to try all the hotel's facilities. The bedroom was a good size, clean and we got a good night's sleep. The pool and hot tubs looked inviting, even though it was just above zero outside. Excellent views from the dining area for breakfast. Breakfast itself wasn't memorable though acceptable. Like a previous reviewer I liked the offer to be woken if the night manager spotted that the Northern Lights were visible. Good location if you want a base outside of Reykjavik for touring the main sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Belgarum

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel. You mentioned that the hot tubs and the swimming pool looked inviting even though it wast just above zero. We find the hot tubs more inviting the colder the weather. It is a great feeling to soak in the hot tub in the evening looking at the stars (and hopefully the northern lights) and the colder it is the better :-).

We hope to see you again in Iceland and perhaps next time you will be able to try some more of our facilities

Warm regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. The staff are friendly and the services are up to expectations. Everybody in this hotel as well as the town are friendly and keen to help. Nearby are many attractions not to be missed.

Room Tip: Don't miss the wake up calls for the northern lights :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkhatnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Good value stay, booked through hotel website and got better deal than booking sites.
Clean, had good view and helpful night porter would contact you if Northern Lights visible, We were lucky to see them one night.
Breakfast good often only people in dining room as party of elderly Icelanders in Hotel who got up late.
Had dinner one night nice meal and attentive service but was a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for view to see Lights and we were given one overlooking hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.7 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
609 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
392 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
84 reviews
7.0 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ork

Property: Hotel Ork
Address: Breidamoerk 1, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ork 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Örk is a first class hotel located in the hot spring capital of Iceland, Hveragerdi. The hotel has 85 rooms with good amenities. At the hotel there is an outdoor swimming pool, two hot tubs and a geo thermal sauna. We also have a beauty parlour, a pool table and a ping pong table. HVER Restaurant is a newly opened restaurant at Hotel Örk that offers a la carte menu with delicious courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ork Hotel Hveragerdi
Hotel Ork Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing