We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in Hotel Ork” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ork
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
gosport
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our stay in Hotel Ork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Ork for 2 nights on the 18/19 November 2013. On arrival the female receptionist was absolutely fantastic, talking us through where we could go and visit and was very knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable and free wifi. Only drawback was that there were no tea or coffee facilities, but on mentioning this at reception a kettle was produced for us to use for our stay. We had travelled with coffee and hot chocolate bags from the UK, so were well prepared. The hot tubs were to die for, although cold outside, temperature in the hot tub was lovely and warm with various tubs to use at varying temperatures and if you were daring enough a swimming pool with a slide. Changing room were lovely and clean and towels and shower gel in abundance. Fruit teas on offer when you come in from the cold and a lovely lounge area to relax in. Continental Breakfast is adequate, although not an enormous choice, there is enough of a choice to ensure you will not leave hungry. An ideal position to stay as there are shops and a supermarket nearby and a lovely area to explore with lovely scenery, hot geysers and waterfall. All of the staff were friendly and we will certainly go back to Hotel Ork with no hesitation. Well done for making our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne23Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Lynne23gosport

Thank you for your stay in Örk and your kind review for us :)
Glad you liked all we have to offer and more glad that you will recommend us :)

We hope to welcome you again in Örk :)

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    155
    72
    18
    8
See reviews for
71
148
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of our Iceland holiday. The room was quiet and we could control the temperature of the radiator easily. While the decor is a bit dated the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Wifi was free and worked well. My only complaint about the hotel is that we could only get tepid water rather than hot which seemed odd for a geothermal town! We did not complain as we were only staying for one night so I don't know if it was a problem specific to our room.

Breakfast was included and I enjoyed what was offered, with some really tasty breads and a good fruit selection including ripe watermelon. We ate dinner at the hotel as all the restaurants in the village seemed to be closed as it was a Sunday night. The food was delicious and much better than I had expected. We couldn't have the Fish of the Day as it had sold out so we had lamb and the barley risotto both of which came with lots of vegetables.

Service was consistently friendly and the front desk staff were very helpful with where we could go for a walk in the village.

With the exception of the hot water, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlazaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Quiet, clean and comfortable and easy to locate just off route 1. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a slightly dated feel, but the room we had was large and very comfortable. The hotels restaurant has a limited choice but the food was excellent and the service first class. For those more budget concious the hotel is only short walk from great bakery and a Bonus supermarket. Breakfast was average with quit limited choice. Would I use again - yes definately. The thermally heated outdoor pool is a definate bonus (even in the rain) for soaking tied walking limbs and is free for guests

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mystic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear mystic100

Thank you for staying at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and our restaurant. I will make sure that the staff will hear about your kind review.

You are correct about the location, very easy to find from route 1 and in a walking distance to other restaurants and the bakery.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
356 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I can't say that this hotel is spectacular, but for an overnight while traveling in Iceland it is perfectly fine. The rooms are small but clean. They offer an extensive breakfast included in the price. They have a separate restaurant that was good, but a bit pricey (not unusual for Iceland). WiFi was good. The staff, btw, was excellent. Very helpful with directions, made some excellent suggestions. Dakri, the woman behind the reception desk was exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear LesPicker

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and restaurant. I will make sure that the staff and Dakri will also hear about your kind review.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on an Icelandic tour. The hotel is spacious and modern. Large reception and dinning area. The bedrooms are clean, carpeted and nicely furnished. The bathroom is large with nice bath/shower. However no tea making facilities or safe in bedroom, but there is a noisy fridge. The evening meal was superb,
one of the best on tour!. Also has outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs.
A great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Ork, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear wonderfree41

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Örk. I am glad to hear the you liked the hotel and that dinner was superb.

We hope to welcome you to Iceland again

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Hotel Ork was the last stay on our tour of Iceland and, though certainly bigger than the places we had got used to, it provided a great finish. I can't comment on prices as were were there as part of a package but the hotel is very smart throughout and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. Food was very good and the bedrooms were well-appointed and comfortable. There is also a heated outdoor pool (with water slides) and hot tubs and a sauna.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had a great two nights at this hotel during my week in Iceland. It was much LESS rustic than the other places I stayed, and not much more expensive, so overall, I felt the value was good.

I asked for a quiet room and got one! The woman at reception gave me a room away from the elevator and away from other guests, and it was wonderful. I wasn't far from the pool, which was refreshing.

I had dinner in the restaurant on my first night, and while a little pricey (but isn't everything in Iceland?), it was extremely tasty. I had a starter salad of caprese (fresh mozzarella and tomatoes), and then a main course of fresh fish. I'd been told the fish in Iceland is excellent, and this meal proved that. It was delicious, and all elegantly presented.

This hotel is well located for long day trips out to the Golden Circle (Thingvetlir, Gulfoss and Geysir) and Jokulsarlon (which is a loooooong day trip, especially if you stop and take photos of all the amazing views and such).

All in all, Hotel Ork was a lovely resting place for me in a week of otherwise wild/rustic adventures.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenKate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.6 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
24.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ork

Property: Hotel Ork
Address: Breidamoerk 1, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ork 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Örk is a first class hotel located in the hot spring capital of Iceland, Hveragerdi. The hotel has 85 rooms with good amenities. At the hotel there is an outdoor swimming pool, two hot tubs and a geo thermal sauna. We also have a beauty parlour, a pool table and a ping pong table. HVER Restaurant is a newly opened restaurant at Hotel Örk that offers a la carte menu with delicious courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ork Hotel Hveragerdi
Hotel Ork Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing