We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was staying at Fawlty Towers”
Review of Hotel Ork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ork
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel was probably the worst of the 7 we stayed at in Iceland. Firstly you will be dragging your luggage up the stairs as no one is there to assist you. Check-in and requests were dealt with a bit of a surly attitude and reluctance. Received a room on the basement level. Décor was something out of the early 80's and state of repair suggested the same. Room was on the small size and bathroom was cramped. Breakfast was disappointing and didn't look fresh. We arrived at the later part of the breakfast serving and had to clean our own dishes off the table. A table had a pile of dirty dishes where people or staff were clearly dumping them. There were two employees on duty that were bustling around doing various things but cleaning was not one of them. Hotel is in a great location but will be choosing a different one next trip. Hotel is not for the immobile.

Room Tip: Go highest floor you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Otbax

I am sorry to hear about the service you received. It is of course not according to our standards as you can read about here in other reviews. We will make sure that this does not happen again. Glad you liked the location and sorry to hear that you will not choose us again. :/

Hope you had good time in Iceland.

Best regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

A city style hotel with large tarmac car park, golf course, swimming pool, waterslide and hot pools and sauna, plus games room, along with a bar *happy hour 4-6. Friendly staff and some eateries nearby. Stayed here in 2007 and it was good then and didn't disappoint this time either.

Room Tip: They all have good views.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear sm t

Thank you for your review and your stay in Hótel Örk.
Glad to hear you liked our facilities and that you will stay with us again.
We are situated in the country side but not so far from the airport in Keflavik (around 60 min drive) and it is true we are in deed a good base for all kinds of tours especially in the south.

Take care and we are looking forward to welcome you again and again in Örk :)

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I didn't have an altogether great stay here, we stayed for 5 nights, but the hotel was situated perfectly, there was a supermarket across the street, perfect for people who want to try out some local groceries, and we were not much of a drive away from some key landmarks. The rooms were basic and nothing special at all, although we had 2 single beds and 1 crappy camp bed, seriously, who is going to get the camp bed? Especially when it breaks as soon as you sit on it, which happened again even after they replaced it (or replaced the planks). The shower sprayed everywhere and soaked the floor, so I would suggest to put it on the toilet and cover it with a towel if you want to use it. I unfortunately didn't get to go in the pool, but I heard from people that had been in that the slides were pretty good and the pool was great. They had a nice rec room, with darts, a pool table and table tennis, which all were used regularly and were good fun. The food was pretty nice, although I can't judge too much as I went with my school and we got buffet food (still decent, although most of my friends didn't think so, seeing as school kids are all so fussy these days). It was friendly and it had a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lillie W

Thank you for your review and your stay in Örk. :)
Sorry to hear you got folding bed for your room we try our best to let people have extra bed but unfortunately when it is fully booked which has definitely been your case we don´t have enough of extra beds available, sorry for this. Sorry to hear about the shower as well hope you let the lobby know about this matter so it could be fixed.
Glad to hear you liked the facilities we have to offer (pool table, the play of darts and others).
The pool and the hot tubs are fantastic warm and cozy hopefully you can try them if you visit us again. :)

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having just spent two nights in a modern city hotel in Reykjavik, we arrived at the Hotel Ork a little bit worried about what we would find. We shouldn't have worried, we had great rooms, all together on one floor which was a bonus. The TV's whilst not flat screen still have all you need showing BBC and ITV programmes. The bathrooms have toiletries, hairdryers, plenty of towels. The only thing missing for me (being a true Brit) was my coffee making facilities. Food at the hotel was excellent although breakfast could be a bit of a bun fight depending how many groups were staying at the hotel. However, the selection of food was good. The outdoor pool and saunas are excellent with the waterslides being a big plus for the kids in our group. Perfectly situated for the Geothermal areas and the hot springs. Try boiling an egg and baking bread in the geothermal park, it's well worth the experience. You can go hiking, biking, ice walking as well as touring from this central area and its not too far from Reykjavik by public bus if you fancy.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views of either the swimming pool or the surrounding gardens and mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear UKCarole

Thank you so much for your kind review and your stay in Örk hótel.
So glad you liked everything we have to offer so much. :)
Regarding kettle in the room unfortunately we don´t have it in all rooms but we have it in our Superior rooms.

We hope to see you here with us again in Örk :)

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel if you have water - loving children: as well as sauna and hot tubs there is a decent sized, lovely warm pool with slides that provided hours of fun . The staff are lovely and the food very tasty. The hotel is very handy for the town and the small but fun geo-thermal park. My only gripe is that they didn't put on more staff when there was a conference on, but the minor inconvenience on that one day was outweighed by the general loveliness the rest of the time

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eightbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Eightbirds

Thank you for your stay and your review.
We are so happy to hear you liked what we have to offer.

We hope to see you again in Iceland :)

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was in the Hotel during my trip in Iceland and it was one of the best I was in. It was quiet and very close to the N1. It was also close to some restaurants and the post office.
Wifi was working nice on the rooms, but the WiFi access points were hanging from the roof and just in front of the head. It was somehow "funny", but well, not how it should be.
Normal breakfast in a very big breakfast room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear MGS1984

Thank you for your review and your stay in Örk.

We are happy to hear that we are one of the best hotels you stayed in Iceland, that says everything it needs to say so glad! :)

Thank you so much and we hope to see you again in Iceland

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at ork hotel in early may, clean and tidy room, overall impression of the hotel is that it is very well maintained. The restaurant was very good and the staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was not extraordinary, but contained everything necessary for a good start of the day. A huge plus for the outdoor pool area with heated water and a steam sauna free of charge. Only flaw was a slight overload in the breakfast room one morning due to two busloads of italian seniors, wich the breakfast staff had difficulties to keep up with. Our overall impressions of the hotel was such, however, that we can highly recommend it. The location is perfect if you wish to reach the islands nature without having to drive an hour from Reykjavik first.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutger311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ork, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Rutger311

Thank you very much for your stay and your kind reply for our Hótel Örk.
We are glad you liked our facilities and our great staff.

Good to hear that you will recommend us :)

We hope to see you again in Iceland :)

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.7 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
643 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
227 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
827 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
93 reviews
19.4 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ork

Address: Breidamoerk 1, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range: £113 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ork 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Örk is a first class hotel located in the hot spring capital of Iceland, Hveragerdi. The hotel has 85 rooms with good amenities. At the hotel there is an outdoor swimming pool, two hot tubs and a geo thermal sauna. We also have a beauty parlour, a pool table and a ping pong table. HVER Restaurant is a newly opened restaurant at Hotel Örk that offers a la carte menu with delicious courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ork Hotel Hveragerdi
Hotel Ork Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing