We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great First Night in Iceland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guesthouse Frumskogar
Ranked #1 of 9 Hveragerdi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Clean. Comfortable. Very quiet. Friendly and helpful owners. Nice to have a little apartment, instead of just a room. There's a binder in each room with information on area sites. There are multiple copies of each page, so you can take with you. A great location for doing the Golden Circle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoJoWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a great place to spend a night on your way east from Reykjavik heading east. My friend and I spent a night here before heading out toward Vik, after visiting Thingviller. The room was so clean and comfortable, and affordable too. There was tea available all the time, and the breakfast was pretty decent too-- it came free with out stay, which was great. They were flexible with our arrival and departure times, and the location is on a quiet, tree-lined street. It was a perfect place to stay in "civilization" before heading out into the wilderness!

Room Tip: We chose a room with two twin beds, and it was very spacious. The beds were so comfortable. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during a roundtrip tour. We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious apartment which is foreseen with a living room (including tv, many magazines & books), free wifi with a decent speed, kitchen and comfortable bedroom (with extra pillows). It's also very good isolated; a couple with a little baby was staying next to us and we were a bit afraid that we would be kept awake because of the crying, but once inside, we didn't hear a thing anymore. Outside there is also a sauna and hot tub, but we didn't try it as we were too tired and had been to the Blue Lagoon just 2 days earlier. Breakfast was ok, though not a lot of different things to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is an excellent base for south west Iceland. The apartments are lovely - clean, spacious and the heating is easily regulated! The owner is very helpful and friendly, and the food is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We saw the good reviews on trip advisor, and they are so accurate. We had an apartment, though we did also have the breakfast on the first day, to save buying things. That was good. But the apartment just has all you need. A friendly welcome, everything clean and neat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M_the_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our family stayed for two nights, and we really appreciated the clean, spacious holiday apartment. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but instead bought our own groceries, and made good use of the bakery down the street. The owner was very helpful with directions, etc., and my sons really enjoyed the hot tub and sauna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Frumskogar for two nights & returned for two additional nights when our trip around Iceland was upset by the eruption of Grimsvotn.

I loved the fact that there are apartments with their own living room, kitchen, & bathroom! They are so nice & very affordable. The apartment was great, but the icing on the cake is the amazing hot tub and sauna. It was so nice to relax in the hot tub after a long day of sightseeing. My boyfriend & I really enjoyed walking around the town of Hveragerdi at night when the sun was still shining. There is a gas station/little restaurant a short walk down on the main street, which we bought icecream at and then enjoyed walking to the little park near the river. There is also a bakery in town, which we went to every day (sometimes twice a day).

This guesthouse is a gem & we loved having Hveragerdi as a home base! We were so happy to have found it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acasterlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.4 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ork
Hotel Ork
#2 of 3 in Hveragerdi
395 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Icelands Guesthouse
Icelands Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Hveragerdi
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skyr Guesthouse
Skyr Guesthouse
#8 of 9 in Hveragerdi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Frumskogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Frumskogar

Address: Frumskogar 3, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hveragerdi
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Frumskogar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 6 apartments and 4 rooms available , outdoor facility hot tub and steam bath , outdoor shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guesthouse Frumskogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Frumskogar Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing