We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Frumskogar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hveragerdi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super friendly place.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was a bit of a space cadet this trip and locked my room keys in (twice!) and locked my car keys in the rental car once. This during only a 3 night stay! The owners were super helpful in getting a local mechanic to break in to the car, it cost me $20 and a beer....not bad! The owners were very helpful and sociable. I had a huge room with a microwave, hotplate, fridge, coffee maker and electric tea kettle as well as some basic pots and pans. A good selection of plates etc. was provided. Yes, the water jets didn't work but 'big whoop' . The hospitality and helpfulness more than made up for the lack of a water jet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolbrún B, Owner at Guesthouse Frumskogar, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello and thanks for very kind review for your guesthouse and our staff , we try always to help people if we can. Glad you enjoy the trip to Iceland , about the bubbles in the hot tub, we had to turn them off because there was to much noise and people forgot to turn off, and it was bothering other guest in the nights.
Best regards, Kolbrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    29
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here on our way to Skaftafell National Park. Guest house is located on a quiet, leafy neighbourhood street, walking distance to most restaurants (the town is not that big). The Pizzeria in town was pretty good.

We stayed in a double built into the eaves of the roof - a bit tight for two people, particularly if you are tall. Only two single beds, a small sink in room and the room was tight. One very tiny window which was unfortunate because you need to keep the shades down to block the 3am sun so there was not much air and it was a very warm evening. The shared shower and toilet were fine - very clean.

Breakfast was extra which we did not opt for but they did give us a complementary coffee. We did not use the hot tub - did not look too inviting. Rather, we went to the town pool which was a 5 minute drive up the hill. There is an olympic sized swimming pool and hot tubs, heated by the geothermal springs (note sulphurish smell). This is highly recommended if you want a break from touristy stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolbrún B, Owner at Guesthouse Frumskogar, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your review, I am agree we have a nice neighbourhood and the street is quiet .
All our guest are werry welcome to the hot tub and the steam bath, and we are sorry if you feel like you was not invited to the hot tub, It is for all our guest . About the window in the room , then it is in our to do list to change the window , becouce the opening window is to small .
The local swimming pool in the town is great and in an wonderful area. When I was growing up in the town I spend a least 1 to 3 hour in the pool every day.
best regards, KOlbrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked this property 9 months in advance specifically because of their outdoor hot tub.
We checked-in with the not particularly friendly owner. The appartment was clean & with all you need to cook if you want to.

2 Icelandic channels only on the TV.

Then we jumped in the hot tub outside but could not turn on the bubbles. After trying for a while & pressing the one visible button, I grabbed my towel went round the driveway & rang the bell. The same woman answered, did not offer for me to come in (I was shivering in my swimming costume) and then told me when I said the hot tub did not appear to work: "oh, yes, it stayed on all night last night so we could not bother with it anymore & we have switched it off."

No apologies, no offer to switch it on for 15 mins for us, nothing! How very nice when you've been looking forward to a nice soak after a long glacier hike!

They advertise that hot tub on their website, on Trip Advisor, everywhere but they could not be bothered to switch it on!!! Unbelievable! The sheer disregard for their guests is incredible.

Don't stay there! I'm sure there are friendlier options in town.

Room Tip: Apartments are better than rooms but sound insulation is not great so you will hear people in the ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbgigs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolbrún B, Owner at Guesthouse Frumskogar, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear guest.
We are very sorry to hear you are not satisfaction with the stay in the Guesthouse. There must have been some misunderstanding about the hot tub, because we truly have a hot tub, and steam bath, but we don´t have bubbles in the hot tub...
As you can see on other review´s our guest are pleased with the stay in our Guesthouse.
Hope you had good stay in Iceland.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here with a small group and was very impressed. Comfortable rooms, even though I stayed in the shared bathroom part of the facility. I did check out their apartments as well. They would be great for a family. Folders in every room provide ideas for day tours from the guesthouse. Yes it is centrally located and would be a great location for exploring the south of Iceland. Great breakfast and awesome hot tub outside.

Room Tip: On a budget, guest house room, want to treat yourself, check out the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The guesthouse offers breakfast at a fee, and without kitchen facilities, this serves to be quite an inconvenience to us as we had bought breakfast to cater in. Note to travelers: If you're traveling with a group, It is definitely worth it to pay a little more for the apartment which has a kitchen and a hot tub for you soak in the cold weather.
Despite that, the room was clean and neat, with a sink in each of the rooms. There's a bathroom and a toilet shared among approximately 4 rooms.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Rooms are reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koochiehsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were in a group of 10 so had dinner included which was delicious. Our apartment was cosy and next to the hot tub and steam room which was a lovely addition. Something special about being in a hot tub in the snow - hot water courtesy of the geo thermal system! Colbruin was very friendly and helpful. A super place to stay while exploring south east Iceland. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MittensMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Clean. Comfortable. Very quiet. Friendly and helpful owners. Nice to have a little apartment, instead of just a room. There's a binder in each room with information on area sites. There are multiple copies of each page, so you can take with you. A great location for doing the Golden Circle.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJoWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
0.4 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
599 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
188 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ork
Hotel Ork
#2 of 3 in Hveragerdi
345 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
84 reviews
24.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Frumskogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Frumskogar

Property: Guesthouse Frumskogar
Address: Frumskogar 3, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Frumskogar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Frumskogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Frumskogar Iceland/Hveragerdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing