We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Nupar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Laki(Efri-Vik)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Skaftafell(Skaftafell)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur(Kirkjubaejarklaustur)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
139
294
168
68
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
294
168
68
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsroom facingglacier lagoonwaffle makerlava fieldslarge windowswafflesbuffet stylebathroom floorremote locationring roadlambbreadstayed nightsskaftafell national parkrooms are nicearctic char
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nupar Fosshotel is literally situated in the middle of nowhere. The outside of the hotel doesn't look like much (the building resembles some containers thrown together), but the rooms on the inside are nice. It is rather special staying in the middle of lava fields with a view on the glacier. From your room you can step outside into the wilderness. We visited Jokusarlon from this hotel, but be warned, it is quite a ride from the hotel to Jokusarlon (90km).

We had dinner in Nupar Fosshotel twice. The buffet was really nice. Especially enjoyed the arctic char. Loved the roasted vegetables also. Dessert wasn't much, but I didn't need one anyway, because of all the other really nice food. The first day of our stay the breakfast buffer was very well attended by the staff, second day, staff seemed not to notice that there where people waiting for a clean table and the buffet wasn't filled up fast enough.

When we stayed in the hotel they had recently made sure you could use the wifi in the rooms. Worked very well, so we were happy about that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is aptly located for travelling on the South coast and offered best rooms and facilities as compared to other hotels we stayed in Iceland. The dinner options are limited but well prepared (even for vegetarians). And the restaurant offers best views I ever saw for a restaurant, saw snow, rain, clouds and clear sky change withing minutes as we sat having our dinner. Also managed to see Northern lights from our room.

The staff was very helpful and even agreed to adjust our bookings at no extra cost.

Truly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank over2vikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was touring a round island trip here in Iceland as a tour guide and when we spent a night at Hotel Núpar we had our dinner there at the hotel. It was a buffet which was so nice that I couldnt forget it for days. There was so much variety of food to choose from, especially for vegetarians, given the fact that it was a country hotel in the middle of nowhere. I was so impressed with the meal that I strongly recommend everybody going there to have a nice meal at least if you are in the area. The accommodation was on the other hand not as nice as the buffet, cos it is a row of rooms with wooden floor which creates so much noise when there is just a tiny move from anybody passing by or opening the door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A basic clean and tidy hotel with one t.v. located an a corner at the end of a corridor. Our two day stay coincided with the football world cup. The first evening staff not working monopolised the area which had seating for seven people while guests watched from whatever vantage point they could find. The second night a coach party of Dutch visitors were thrilled by the Dutch team's victory. It appeared that whilst staff were pleasant and helpful they had received little guidance about how to work in a hotel or restaurant. Plates were whipped away whilst others at the table were still dining. and breakfast was a fairly chaotic affair. The hotel is well located for a trip to Jokulsarlon and the South East.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel lies in the lave fields with nothing much in the environment (20 km further down the road there's the minuscule Kirkjubæjarklaustur). Look like an army location from the outside but the rooms are decent. It's all on ground floor level and each room has a backdoor from which you can actually walk into the lava fields. Quite cool. When I was there, it was quite foggy so that made it nicely spooky.
Restaurant is great. Tasty food and the staff got me a table even though the place was fully booked. It's a pity that there's only wifi in the main hall + restaurant and not in the rooms :-(.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Taco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews