We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointment”
Review of Hunkubakkar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunkubakkar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our most expensive accommodation in Iceland during 7 days vacation.
Hut only with basic equipment, internet access only in main building (reception).
Room wasn`t heated to acceptable level even in the morning.
Breakfast was rich and tasty. Staff was very friendly.
I cannot recommend this guesthouse in winter season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FijObb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Accommodation is in individual wooden cabins in a tranquil and beautiful location. The best cabins are alongside the stream; they are cosy and have wooden verandas. Not particularly well appointed and with only enough hot water for one long showers they are non the less a fun and cosy place to stay. The restaurant is situated in the main reception building and breakfasts are included in the price. Breakfasts are fine but the evening meals a bit basic with the usual lamb and arctic char dishes. The deserts however are to be avoided; Granma’s Ranalin was dry and Ola’s offering frankly disgusting; cardboard tasting round things covered in the cheapest chocolate sauce; [to be avoided], why would grandma and Ola lend their names to such unpleasant dishes? Despite the deserts we enjoyed our stay very much, the female staff were pleasant and helpful and the location on the road to Laki a joy. If you walk to the nearby beautiful gorge you might be joined by the farm collie dog [a real character].

Room Tip: The cabins by the stream are in the best position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilReed186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are family of 5 (parents + 3 adults). We stayed two nights at Hunkubakkar (2 rooms). Nice rooms but a bit small. Nice location. Good service. Breakfast was ok (we also had a good dinner). Few comments:
- Water stream in the bath could be better.
- The 3rd bed in the kids room is a folding bed, not very comfortable (the same case also in other places we stayed in).
- No WiFi in the rooms, only in the main building
Overall a nice place, but not the same quality compared to other places we stayed in at the same price rate

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Cute and quaint spotlessly clean bungalows in beautiful lush countryside. We were glad to have tea and a kettle in our bungalow. The evening's home-made bread was delicious, but unfortunately there was none in the morning for breakfast which was a rather disappointing buffet in comparison to the lovely (albeit expensive) meal we enjoyed the evening before.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms per bungalow and unfortunately you can hear what is going on in your neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

These small cabins are very clean, warm, and comfortable. We stayed there for two nights as we explored the southern part of Iceland. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, especially the homemade bread. We did not try dinner there, but found a good restaurant within a short diving distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We can recommend the small chalets at Hunkubakkar. The rooms are clean, owners are friendly and breakfast is in a nice breakfast room with great choice. We would recommend to choose on of the single huts, to stay more private.

Room Tip: Single hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyFlueck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The chalets are lovely. Cosy rooms with plenty of space. The location is good as well, jut off the main circular road on a farm with the road to Laki and very pretty gorge just up the road. The food is plain, and when we were there was the same each night. Nothing wrong with it at all, but not memorable. Though a nice place, it is expensive really for what you get, even for Iceland: £100 per night for the chalet and over £25 for the meal without drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
2.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
580 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
575 reviews
16.9 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
265 reviews
2.5 mi away
Klausturhof
Klausturhof
#8 of 8 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
184 reviews
7.5 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#6 of 8 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunkubakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunkubakkar

Address: Kirkjubaejarklaustur, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range: £105 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hunkubakkar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunkubakkar Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Hunkubakkar Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing