We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunkubakkar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunkubakkar
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent two nights there. After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit off but we went anyway. We were the only guests as it was winter time, but we found it quite fun to be staying in a hut and the staff had heated up the room before our arrival. So we were happy. The tranquil environment was the best for viewing Northern Nights, or just star watching. We like it there. The lady who was serving us was polite and the breakfast was good. There is wifi in the main house only but its understandable; the lady is willing to open the main house anytime in case you need to use wifi. We think it's going to be more fun (i.e., more activities to do) during summer, but for a quiet and secluded vocation, it's not a bad choice. And, we left our baggage in the cabin on the day we left, they found it out really quickly and arranged to return it to us efficiently. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    61
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
36
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The radiators were turned off when we arrived with a chilly temperature outside. We turned on the radiators but took a couple of hours till to warm up which means we had to sleep in a cold room after a long cold journey. Apart from that, the hot water had been set in a very low temperature and there was no hot water, it took a couple of hours to warm upt as well. The problems did not stop there, as there was no shampoon at all and the light at the entrance of our little wooden room did not work. There is no Wifi in the rooms but only in the main building, however the Wifi even there had no reliable signal almost useless.
The next morning, one more disappointment, the breakfast. It was very basic and it wasn t refilled when something was running out. In my opinion it seemed like there was staff shortage.

The only positive about the place, was the location which was beautiful and the wooden houses which were nice. However I would not recommend this place having in mind the price and the luck of facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our most expensive accommodation in Iceland during 7 days vacation.
Hut only with basic equipment, internet access only in main building (reception).
Room wasn`t heated to acceptable level even in the morning.
Breakfast was rich and tasty. Staff was very friendly.
I cannot recommend this guesthouse in winter season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FijObb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Accommodation is in individual wooden cabins in a tranquil and beautiful location. The best cabins are alongside the stream; they are cosy and have wooden verandas. Not particularly well appointed and with only enough hot water for one long showers they are non the less a fun and cosy place to stay. The restaurant is situated in the main reception building and breakfasts are included in the price. Breakfasts are fine but the evening meals a bit basic with the usual lamb and arctic char dishes. The deserts however are to be avoided; Granma’s Ranalin was dry and Ola’s offering frankly disgusting; cardboard tasting round things covered in the cheapest chocolate sauce; [to be avoided], why would grandma and Ola lend their names to such unpleasant dishes? Despite the deserts we enjoyed our stay very much, the female staff were pleasant and helpful and the location on the road to Laki a joy. If you walk to the nearby beautiful gorge you might be joined by the farm collie dog [a real character].

Room Tip: The cabins by the stream are in the best position
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilReed186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are family of 5 (parents + 3 adults). We stayed two nights at Hunkubakkar (2 rooms). Nice rooms but a bit small. Nice location. Good service. Breakfast was ok (we also had a good dinner). Few comments:
- Water stream in the bath could be better.
- The 3rd bed in the kids room is a folding bed, not very comfortable (the same case also in other places we stayed in).
- No WiFi in the rooms, only in the main building
Overall a nice place, but not the same quality compared to other places we stayed in at the same price rate

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Cute and quaint spotlessly clean bungalows in beautiful lush countryside. We were glad to have tea and a kettle in our bungalow. The evening's home-made bread was delicious, but unfortunately there was none in the morning for breakfast which was a rather disappointing buffet in comparison to the lovely (albeit expensive) meal we enjoyed the evening before.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms per bungalow and unfortunately you can hear what is going on in your neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

These small cabins are very clean, warm, and comfortable. We stayed there for two nights as we explored the southern part of Iceland. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, especially the homemade bread. We did not try dinner there, but found a good restaurant within a short diving distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
2.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
522 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
495 reviews
16.9 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Geirland
Hotel Geirland
#4 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
224 reviews
7.6 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
204 reviews
13.4 mi away
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
Dalshofdi Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunkubakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunkubakkar

Property: Hunkubakkar
Address: Kirkjubaejarklaustur, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hunkubakkar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunkubakkar Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Hunkubakkar Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing