We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"One of the best place I have stayed in"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hrifunes Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The charming an friendly owner Hadda greeted us when we arrived 13 people together at 12 of august.We got a three course meal and it tasted like in a michelin restaurant.

Breakfast was also very good, home made bread, (The best I've ever tasted ) ​​homemade jam,cheese and meat toppings,plenty of everything.
The room was clean and tidy,and the bathroom also. Everyone was very happy!

I will definitely stay there again.

Kristján Eldjárn

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristjan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived after 9 hours in the car and wanted to retire to our 'delightful' room. It was right next to the main dining room and about dozen dinner guests were expected. We had already eaten and declined. Our room was small, the bed was old, the walls were thin, there was a gap under the door, the host was the epitome of indifference. I asked for a cup of tea and had to provide my own teabag...
The dinner guests arrived and soon there was a lot of noise. There was no sitting room for us to sit in, the sofa was next to the dining table. We asked for a quieter room but it was not much better, it was poky, with two very small old single beds - worse than a youth hostel.
We left and this annoyed the host, we embarrassed her in front of her guests. That's all she cared about, that the room actually costs Ikr 19'000 (a lot for such an old uninviting cell) didn't seem to matter.
Very bad value for the money. What about some courtesy and hospitality? Worst stay in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabel814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddaBjork, Owner at Hrifunes Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

I am very sorry to receive this kind of a review, the lady seemed to be very exhausted and tiered upon arrival.
Few corrections from the host:
The tea is free for our guests (and the coffee).
The beds in the rooms she was offered are new (purchased in May 2013).
If you look at reviews from other visitors staying in our guesthouse and photographs on our web site and FB site you can judge for you self. Guests are delightful with the surroundings, meals and service provided.
This lady did not stay overnight and left without notice in the evening. Hopefully she got a good rest and had a pleasant stay in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a great place to stay. The hosts are wonderful, great traditional food and truly a remarkable place.

If you are one of those travelers who yearns to meet the real people of a country and sample their food and ideas this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mig009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Unreal place, so lovely decorated. Hadda's fish soup was by far the best meal I has in Iceland.

Make sure you stay in the Main building it the new flat next door. The older house down the hill is a little old fashioned but still clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mail2mmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at Hrifunes during the second week of June for 3 nights and although the weather was not cooperating, our stay at Hadda's house was most appreciated. The house was perfect, very clean and Hadda's hospitality was worthy of the best hotels! She was very helpful and gave us very good ideas of what to do, that we would not have done if it was not for her. Another thing to mention, is the FOOD! Hadda is an incredible cook! We ate there one night but regretted not having it every night.
Etienne and Anne-Marie

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis-Etienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We went with a group around iceland and stayed for one night. Seen many accomodations at iceland but we thought this one was the best. Very homely (if you find stuffed animals horrible don't go, they have some beautiful stuffed birds in the living room). Besides the clean and tidy bedroom you share a living room with other guests and a big kitchen. All very good equipped and feeling like you arrived "home". The host can cook for you and this is strongly recommended. Two of my companions couldnt stop talking about the fantastic food they had, even two days later.. Nice area as well, good for walking and within the "golden circle". Also very good place for to bring children along.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you plan to stay in the Vik area, you will be more than happy at Hrifunes Guesthouse. It was the place we felt most like home on our 3 weeks trip. The center is the beautful kitchen with a big dining table where you will be served breakfast and an optional dinner (had a delicious lamb soup). While enjoying the great view, you will already smell the various ingredients Hadda will cock with.

We had a shared bathroom, but since there were only 4 other guests, it was not really an issue. Hadda told us, that she and her husband are expanding, so watch out for even more options in future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
17.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
580 reviews
21.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
31.3 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
576 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glacier View Guesthouse
Glacier View Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hrifunes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hrifunes Guesthouse

Address: Hrifunes | Kirkjubaejarklaustur - Vik, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range: £96 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and rustic accommodation in South-Iceland. Hrifunes Guesthouse is located in the heart of South Iceland, close to Landmannalaugar and the highlands, Vatnajokull National Park, Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon and the towns; Kirkjubaejarklaustur and Vik. A romantic and rustic guesthouse with a personal service and unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hrifunes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hrifunes Guesthouse Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing