We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfalls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Waterfalls”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room was quite plain and unassuming with two beds, and a cabinet.
the bathroom was quite large with loads of unused floor space. There was no hospitality tray and I went to buy a cup of tea to take back to the room and was told I would have to drink it in the lounge! Needless to say I didn't bother .
the evening meal was a set three course and was excellent, as was the breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    259
    157
    26
    7
See reviews for
80
316
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the second IcelandAir hotel we have stayed at. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and the property is well presented. Unfortunately, for the price paid, you expect far, far more! If the room rate was halved, you would be happy with what you got.

The lady on reception was wonderful, and very helpful, however other staff were at best disinterested, some outright rude. Internet was terrible!

Like the previous IcelandAir hotel, the restaurant over-promises and under-delivers - massively overpriced, poor produce, unskilfully presented and delivered. The "cafe" down the road does amazing meals at less than half the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenmanHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
2,902 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,258 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent a single night at the hotel during Easter.
Kirkjubaejarklaustur (located in the middle of nowhere, literally), is a tiny settlement in the central part of southern Iceland.
The hotel is located near the entrance to the settlement, a couple of minutes drive off the ring road.
There was plenty of parking space (free, of course).

The hotel itself is a tiny dorm-like 2-stories building, upgraded into a 3-star hotel with some lovely modern design (and a gorgeous wooden statue at the entrance, which is the trademark of IcelandAir hotels).
We booked the only suite in the hotel, which is located on the second floor (room 201).
Sadly, there is no elevator in the hotel, but the GM of the hotel himself carried our heavy suitcases to the second floor via the staircase.

Our room was rather decent. It had a small 15 square meters bedroom with twin beds and a similar size living room. It also featured a bathroom with a tub.
There was a little bit sulfur smell from the hot water, but much less than in other hotels we've been to in Iceland.
The bathroom offered some decent shampoo and conditioner, but also shower gel dispensers, which we do not like that much.
The room also featured a big flat screen tv and a work desk.

Our rate included breakfast, which was a bit disappointing. We felt as if we are on austerity.
The breakfast included very few products (eggs, some fish, very little fruit, some cheese) and the person in charge of it did not fill up things that ran out. It felt a bit awkward having to keep asking for him to fill them up.

Our room rate (with breakfast) was 260US$ for the suite, which is a horrible rate and totally not worth it (and we stayed at the hotel during off-season).

Having said that, the hotel's GM, Mr. Jensson, who works at the reception, is a really nice and down-to-Earth guy, who gave us some great tips about the area.
Make sure not to miss the beautiful waterfall, which can be found a 5-minute walk west of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A great, small hotel. The dinner and wine selection was strong. Breakfast (as were most of our breakfasts in Iceland) was delicious and included in the room rate. Hotel has a nice polish to it and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived with trepidation having read the reviews and I have to say I had a great time. Hotels in Iceland are not flash, but this was well designed, quiet, warm, clean and with very friendly staff. The lady on the front desk was super helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was great. The service was a bit random but friendly. They all seemed young and learning. This town only has 120 people in it, so it is probably not easy to get loads of staff. I had the goose carpaccio followed by an enormous piece of lamb. It was all lovely. The wifi worked fine and was free, so maybe they fixed that. The room was comfortable and the shower great. My only complaint was the curtains did not make the room dark enough! Breakfast had all you could want with bread, cereals, meat, cheese, spreads, a waffle machine etc. would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Clean, fresh and bright premises. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is good, even when we were there in low season in winter. Poor internet in the rooms. Good starting point if you want to take day trips and come back and sleep well.
The hotel has been checked 2013. So the three stars are almost on the low side.
We have stayed in hotels with more stars who have been much worse.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiwano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I spent 2 nights here earlier this month, and I overall enjoyed my stay. I found the hotel to be really very clean, and the staff was super friendly. The hotel was quiet too - at least I didn't notice anything when I was in my room. The food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious! Between my 2 night stay, I had some arctic char, lobster soup, mushroom soup, and a couple different desserts... everything was amazing. I think that whatever you pick will be a nice choice!

The only major complaint I have is about the internet. It was not working for me, nor was it working for really any of the people in my group. When it did work, it took a very long time to load. Most of us couldn't get our email; or we could sent but not receive. It's unfortunate when you pay 900kr to use the service, and have it not work. Maybe the server was down for that time, or there were just too many people online. Either way, I think that it is something to take into consideration since wifi becomes very important to people when they travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkjubaejarklaustur
14.1 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
556 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
538 reviews
138.3 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Glacier View Guesthouse
Glacier View Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
88 reviews
4.8 mi away
Horgsland
Horgsland
#6 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Hvoll
Hostel Hvoll
#5 of 7 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Klaustur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Klaustur

Property: Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Address: Klausturvegur 6, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkjubaejarkl...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Klaustur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Kirkjubaejarklaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur Iceland/Kirkjubaejarklaustur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing