We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Galleri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galleri
Ranked #1 of 2 Laugarvatn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a place with Feng Shui. It is set with great taste and gives you a great impression from the first moment. it is three bedrooms altogether sharing a bathroom totally independent to the owners and the connected craft shop.
The bed, duvet and pillows, were probably the best in our 20 day tour around Iceland.
The rooms are well appointed, two double rooms and one family room.
However, our room seemed smaller than the other double one, as the other had a sitting area that looked very cosy. We asked if we could have the other but it was given to a couple who were staying longer. Fair enough. But to me it was rather different as our room was a bit small.
It was a bit cold in the night and when we enquired if there was any heating, we were given an electric heater, which inmediately did the job.
Breakfast was good quality though not very varied,and i miss some of the treats previous reviewers mentioned.
The village is lovely. It is nice a quiet and we had the chance to go trekking in the nearby mountains and lake just 5 minutes to the Galleri.
Besides, it was close to main tourist sites but away from the crowds, so I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have the chance, take the double room with the setee, it has more space and seems more cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

The room was nicely furnished. Breakfast was very good. Hosts were friendly and helpful. This is a great location for visiting Gulfoss, Pingvellir and Geysir. Although the 3 rooms share one bathroom and toilet, it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SwissMissSpokaneWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A very nice and welcoming Icelandic hotel in the pleasant town of Laugarvatn. Enjoyed staying here very much and being in the town. Would also recommend eating at the excellent Lindin in town.

Beware though that bathrooms are shared, it's totally fine but just make sure you are not caught by surprise.

The shop that the owners run is also lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a very nicely furnished comfortable room. The photos do not do it justice. The breakfast was excellent (especially the waffles!). The room was spotless.

The location is great. As well as the Golden Circle attractions of Gulfoss, Pingvellir and Geysir, we stumbled across Kerid, a volcanic crater filled with turquoise waters and lava fields.

It's worth noting that staying at this B&B entitles you to a discount at the Fontana (the local spa) which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a beautiful room with views of the mountains from the window at the front and a door on the side. Although a bathroom is shared between three guest rooms, this was never a problem, and towelling robes were provided. Tea and coffee were provided in the communal area just outside our room - more than many of the hotels can manage! The breakfast spread was also one of the best we had, ranging from cereals, fruit, cold meats, salad, bread, jam and even a waffle maker! Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and it was a lovely 'home' to return to after visiting Geysir and Gullfoss. (We were extremely lucky as we visited when the temperature was 18 degrees and sunny so the experience was even better). This b&b turned out to be one of the highlights of our tour round the whole of Iceland and I am so glad that All Iceland recommended it to us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita1439404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a unique place and I can't say how impressed we were with the standard of the accommodation and our friendly welcome. Although the bathroom is shared, it feels like being in someone's home, the bathroom is absolutely beautifully fitted and has every little thing you could possibly want. I wish my bedroom and bathroom at home were so nice (and there was even a hair drier). Complimentary hot drinks in the hallway, every little touch has been considered. Some of the more expensive hotels should send staff here to learn customer service! It is very well placed for Gullfoss and Geysir and we also went to the Fontana baths spa, which was beautifully relaxing. Check out the review for the Lindin for somewhere special to eat (easy walking distance).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had a lovely two night stay here in February 2012. The room was clean and comfortable and the hosts were friendly and helpful providing advice on where to visit in the local area and where to eat. The breakfast was lovely and served in the lovely gallery area. A really great place to stay which we don't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
20.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Farmhotel Efstidalur
Farmhotel Efstidalur
#1 of 2 in Blaskogabyggd
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laugarvatn Hostel
Laugarvatn Hostel
#2 of 4 in Laugarvatn
86 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fagrilundur Guesthouse
Fagrilundur Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Reykholt
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleri

Address: Haholti 1, Laugarvatn, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laugarvatn
Price Range: £89 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleri Laugarvatn is a different kind of guesthouse. Located in a small town in southern Iceland, the closeness to nature can be sensed immediately. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Galleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing