We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for the money!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This hotel is excellent for the money, Our room had its own bath which is rare for an Edda hotel and the service was excellent. They were kind and helpful and all with in our budget. I would recommend Edda for anyone looking for a budget hotel that still manages to be clean and give great service. Getting your 5th night free at any edda deal was great for us as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, ND
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hotel serves as a dorm for high-school students during the year. The rooms reflect that. They are clean, but do not have a television or phone. Nice location, though, and the dinner at their restaurant was quite good. I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I stayed in this Edda hotel for 1 night.
The building is really a school hostel during the winter and it becomes a summer hotel for tourists.
It's a good place,with all comforts ensuite,it's clean too! And my room had the view directly on the lake so it was a truely amazing.
very good breakfast .
Nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norvegiasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, NL
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We booked this hotel at the end of our 3-week tour of Iceland.
The IKI is an Edda Hotel overlooking the lake Laugarvatn, which is about 100 km from Reykjavik.

Edda hotels are boarding schools turned into hotels in the summer period. IKI Laugarvatn was like all Edda hotels --> just OK but nothing sensational.

  • Liked — Nothing special
  • Disliked — Nothing special
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

This is the smaller of the two Edda Summer Hotels located in Laugarvatn, and we stayed two nights on our return leg back to Reykjavik after touring Iceland. being a family of 4 with teenagers we booked 2 twin rooms, and were allocated two spacious rooms with balconies overlooking the lake. Both rooms were with own facilities/bathrooms, neat and tidy. As with other Edda Summer Hotels, the place is actually High School accomodation during the rest of the year, and contains the typical long corriders associated with student accomodation. During our stay in mid week early August, the hotel was only half full with us, another family and a small independent Coach Trip each night.

Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Meals are available at extra cost in the restaurant overlooking the lake. We took breakfast both mornings ( very good buffet) and ate one evening meal (at last an Edda Menu that our teenagers would consider!). The other night we ate at the campsite cafe/grill in the town.

You do have to consider when looking to book here that the town only exists because it was chosen to be the site of the region's High School and University, and the small town has built up to serve it. It only has one supermarket, petrol station and bank. It also has the Midge problem in early evening - having avoided midges in our stay at Myvatn, we got a taster each evening at the b****** buzzed around near the lake and got into hair, eyes, ears, etc. though none bit anyone.

The location is perfect for visiting the big Golden Circle sights of Pingvellir, Gullfoss and Geysir. Given the vast amount of Holiday huts in this area, the Icelantic folks love the area too. It's also a quiet base to operate from and avoid the big coach operators and trips. You can pop up the road to Geysir for example early or late in the day and have the place to yourself.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.2 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
97 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
308 reviews
19.8 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
609 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn

Property: Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
Address: Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing