We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I stayed in this Edda hotel for 1 night.
The building is really a school hostel during the winter and it becomes a summer hotel for tourists.
It's a good place,with all comforts ensuite,it's clean too! And my room had the view directly on the lake so it was a truely amazing.
very good breakfast .
Nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norvegiasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2008

We booked this hotel at the end of our 3-week tour of Iceland.
The IKI is an Edda Hotel overlooking the lake Laugarvatn, which is about 100 km from Reykjavik.

Edda hotels are boarding schools turned into hotels in the summer period. IKI Laugarvatn was like all Edda hotels --> just OK but nothing sensational.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

This is the smaller of the two Edda Summer Hotels located in Laugarvatn, and we stayed two nights on our return leg back to Reykjavik after touring Iceland. being a family of 4 with teenagers we booked 2 twin rooms, and were allocated two spacious rooms with balconies overlooking the lake. Both rooms were with own facilities/bathrooms, neat and tidy. As with other Edda Summer Hotels, the place is actually High School accomodation during the rest of the year, and contains the typical long corriders associated with student accomodation. During our stay in mid week early August, the hotel was only half full with us, another family and a small independent Coach Trip each night.

Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Meals are available at extra cost in the restaurant overlooking the lake. We took breakfast both mornings ( very good buffet) and ate one evening meal (at last an Edda Menu that our teenagers would consider!). The other night we ate at the campsite cafe/grill in the town.

You do have to consider when looking to book here that the town only exists because it was chosen to be the site of the region's High School and University, and the small town has built up to serve it. It only has one supermarket, petrol station and bank. It also has the Midge problem in early evening - having avoided midges in our stay at Myvatn, we got a taster each evening at the b****** buzzed around near the lake and got into hair, eyes, ears, etc. though none bit anyone.

The location is perfect for visiting the big Golden Circle sights of Pingvellir, Gullfoss and Geysir. Given the vast amount of Holiday huts in this area, the Icelantic folks love the area too. It's also a quiet base to operate from and avoid the big coach operators and trips. You can pop up the road to Geysir for example early or late in the day and have the place to yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sergi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
152
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank torto29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
0.0 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn

Address: Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Price Range: £141 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing