We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dorm turned into Hotel for Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dorm turned into Hotel for Summer”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

There are two locations in town. ML is supposedly the less glamorous. I thought it was great though. Our group was two couples, and we ended up getting the entire floor to ourselves though it was peak travel season (a tour bus occupied the floor under ours, but the hotel was kind enough not to book any of those travelers on our floor). Though it was a bit spartan, the hotel was clean. Being a dorm, there were plenty of showers and toilets to go around. Breakfast is provided at a cost. Edda hotels are scattered all over Iceland, though prices differ. This one was reasonable, but others were a bit more expensive. If you book 5 nights with them, you get a night free. The reservation number shoots you straight to voicemail in the late evenings, so make your plans early enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    45
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The fact that this hotel used to be a school really shows. The bedrooms are obviously ex-student rooms, and while freshly painted, remain soulless and pokey. The beds were comfortable, the hot water worked, but I really did expect more for my money. I paid extra to get a bath, and while I did get a private bathroom, there was no bath.

The location is nothing exciting, although in a general sense Laugavatn is well located for visiting Gulfoss and Geysir, and the town has a great restaurant (Lindin), and it's own little natural hot pool and saunas.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was ok at best, and is only served until 9am, which is very early compared to most hotels. By 8.40am they were already packing up and my friend was ignored and cleaned up around as if she wasn't there.

All in all a disappointing hotel experience. Go for a hostel instead; you are likely to get a better room, a better price and access to a kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laugarvatn hotels

Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Yeah...it's a shool. The room WITH ensuite bathroom was roomy, comfy with a good size bathroom and shower.

Got there too late for dinner....restaurant closed at 9 PM..... and restaurants in town closed.

Soft but comfy bed with nice seersucker cotton duvet.
Furniture: IKEA
Nice big desk and bookshelves, whoopie !
Very, very clean.
Breakfast/ restaurant......how do you say Cafeteria in Icelandic?

Curtains are translucent and don't block out sunlight. Bring your eyemask in summer !!!!

Decent self service breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Edda hotels is a chain of economy hotels. These are schools converted to hotels for a summer holiday season. Although it can be a nightmare for an teenager to spend vacations at school ;-) this is a very good choice. Iceland is expensive but Edda hotels are one of cheapest possibilities. Always clean with good breakfast and in good locations. Remember to collect stamps after each stay after each 4 nights next one is free. ML Laugarvatn is a good idea if you don't want to waste time for returnig to Reykjavik after golden circle

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

Due to the extremely high prices of just about everything in Iceland, we found the Hotel Edda chain to be a nice option. This was a particularly big Hotel Edda and not the nicest one we stayed at, but it was just fine. The room was clean and bright and the staff was friendly. Laugarvatn is a pretty resort area that serves as a weekend getaway for people from the city, and this hotel was right in the middle of town. I recommend this hotel for the budget-minded traveller.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrme17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.7 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
#2 of 2 in Laugarvatn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heradsskolinn Hostel
Heradsskolinn Hostel
#1 of 4 in Laugarvatn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn

Property: Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Address: Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing