We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good nights sleep in an unusual setting- it was quite interesting to stay in one of the schools. Bar/restaurant in the main building was nice and the staff very friendly.
We did ask for a double bed, but got two singles- wasn't a huge issue so didn't complain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Based on a rather poor experience at a previous Hotel Edda, I wasn't expecting much from this one and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a nice view. The hallways were carpeted which cut down neighbor noises completely - we almost slept through breakfast! Showers were private and had wonderful shampoo available for use. Front desk employees were friendly and knowledgable, breakfast was very good - they even had a waffle making station. Wifi worked in our building, which was very far away from the main building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was probably the most uninspiring hotelroom during our stay in Iceland. The rooms are in some sort of barracks located next to a school where you can find the reception and restaurant.
Our room was very small, the glass in the window was broken so fully condensed. Furniture is basic and there are no amenities whatsoever, not even glasses in the bathroom. The beds and shower were fine. Wifi was very weak.

Breakfast is served in the schoolcantine (with some nice views) and was basic. We arrived after a tourgroup had left so the buffet had to be refilled but wasn't.
The only plus is the short distance to Geysir.

We would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Cheers to the Edda folks for this one: perfect location, super-clean rooms, and a great breakfast. There are a lot of skeptical travelers out there on the Edda chain but this hotel ought to blow them all away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

for a budget hotel, it was great~ wonderful night sleep, the beds were comfortable, room was a good size, and bathroom was clean. The breakfast was awesome!!! There were a couple of restaurants within walking distance to hotel. Would recommend know it's a budget stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twin1chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sink in room, clean bathroom down the hall. Very roomy clean rooms. Staff are very pleasant. Breakfast is plentiful. By Icelandic standards, this was a very good deal for the money. Save by staying here, and then enjoy the Lindin restaurant (which has a world class chef, delicious food) and soak at Fontana. An overall relaxing time away from the hubbub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammyloey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is one of the two Edda hotel where we stayed during our trip to Iceland, the building is a school during winter, while in summer the rooms of the students are adjusted to host tourists who want a cheaper accomodation if compared to hotels.
This hotel is close to Laugarvatn Fontana spa and just outside the village, and it can be considered a good stopover during a trip in the Golden Circle.
Of course bathrooms are shared and the building is not very characteristic (imagine to sleep in your high school's dormitory), but everything was quiet, clean and well managed by the staff and breakfast in the morning was rich enough to give you energy for the day.
If you plan to sleep in any Edda hotel it is recommended to book in advance, because being cheaper than average the accomodations are rapidly sold out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
14.7 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
#2 of 2 in Laugarvatn
45 reviews
11 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn

Address: Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing