We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Circle Apartments
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This apartment was everything we needed it to be. Easy to find, near to Thingvellir National Park (about 20 mins drive from Silfra), clean, very spacious, working wifi, well equipped kitchen and at a reasonable price.

We had a good sized bedroom and a large kitchen / lounge / diner, the bathroom wasn't huge but perfectly useable.

The apartment is a two minute walk from Laugavatn Fontana geothermal baths which was a nice way to relax after the journey.

Can't comment on the local supermarket or restaurant as we bought our supplies in Reykjavik prior to our arrival.

We booked though Booking.com and then received an email from Welcome Apartments Reykjavik with our allocated apartment number and information on how to collect the key etc, all very clear and straightforward.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank polkadot_shade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with friends while on a photo shoot. These apartments are new, clean and large. They have a bed room and a large living space with a kitchen. The kitchen is fully stocked with utencils, toaster, microwave, frig etc. The tv works fine as does the internet. Compared to hotels this place is a bargin. There is a small grocery store within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A nice apartment, easy to find and right in front of the local restaurant and pool. It was very clean and the wifi worked well. It is quite spacious. The bed was a bit on the small side and the black out blind could have been more effective.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There were too many little niggle with this place. It was clean and spacious but there was one light not working in the bathroom and the settee's pull out drawer kept opening whenever anyone sat on it. Ww kept trapping our ankles on it so this meant the only other place to sit in the lounge were the dining chairs, not ideal when wanting to relax. The blinds had to be closed all the time when not clothed as the other residents nearby could see I to the apartments. There was a huge problem with midges everywhere and the apartments were hot even with the heating off, so opening windows meant all the midges would enter. Maybe they could provide a window mesh? After several days we were glad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We liked this big fresh and clean apartment! Very nice shower, soft comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, living room... Good value for money! If you don't want to go out for dinner you can have a nice meal cooked by yourself (consider bringing groceries from a bigger town since the small shop is quit expensive).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Smartie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here on our second night in Iceland, not far from the geyser and two minutes walk from great restaurant. Had big lounge that you can make up to a very comfy bed, so If you or partner snores you can have a room to yourselves. Had every thing you needed, even a brill black and white shower cap. Tv was a bit small but not a problem. Mattress great and so was view over the river and the volcano in the distance. Also by a blue lagoon type of place and very much cheaper

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If the Golden Circle of Iceland is part of your itinerary then this is a fantastic place to stay overnight, located in Laugarvatn by a picturesque lake, a 1.5 hour drive from Reykjavik. From here you can explore the region, with Geysir only a 20 minute ride away, and the wonderful Gulfoss waterfalls an extra 10 minutes from there.

Completely self-service, no check-in procedures required. Rooms are huge, including a good kitchen area with all the equipment necessary to prepare food. Superior cleanliness, comfortable beds and a nice view. The town of Laugarvatn has a fitness centre and a supermarket.

I thoroughly recommend these apartments for travellers looking to stay overnight somewhere convenient that's along their route, everything you need is at your finger tips and the rooms guarantee a comfortable night.

Room Tip: No comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renegade_angel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.2 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
242 reviews
19.9 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
670 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
104 reviews
21.1 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Circle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Circle Apartments

Address: Laugarbraut 1, 3, 5, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Laugarvatn
Price Range: £93 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Circle Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern apartments with beautiful lake and mountain views. Apartments located in Laugarvatn on route to Gulfoss and Geysir, 16 km from Thingvellir National Park. Each apartment has a private bathroom with shower, well-equipped kitchen, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV. Along with personal balcony or terrace, free parking and children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Circle Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing