We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were a family of four staying in a family room. The room and beds were comfortable. It was a bit noisy in hallways, which made it difficult for my children to get to sleep. But this is pretty typical of hostels of any sort, and easily solved with ear plugs. The washrooms were adequate, although one washroom on our floor had ceiling-to-floor picture windows with no coverings. Made showering a bit awkward! Thank goodness there were very few passers-by. The location is excellent for the Golden Circle. We also made day trips to Eyjafjallajokull and the Langjokull glacier. Very easy to travel from this location. Great breakfasts and friendly staff, too.
Note that the price seems very expensive for hostels, but this is Iceland after all.
NB--no laundry facilities, which would make a great addition to the facility.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mikpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hostel. It means a lot to us to hear what our guests think about what we are doing here at Heradsskolinn hostel.

There are curtains in the window today where the shower is and we are so happy to hear there was nobody walking by while you were showering :)

Iceland can be expensive and that is something Icelanders can feel everyday while shopping in the supermarkets. We try our best here at the hostel to make prices reasonable and fair, that I can promise you.

Thank you so much for your review. We aim to listen to our guests and make sure that if there is something wrong in what we do, we make up for it and fix it.

Best regards

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Location is quite near to Gulfoss and Geysir, so it was a great place to stopover for the night before continuing our self drive tour of south iceland. The place has a very quirky feel, and we like it. Place is clean. Only downside is the shared bathroom facilities which seems like a norm for hotels outside Reykjavik. Staffs were friendly and helpful! Food is good but a bit expensive for casual dining.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qs_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for reviewing our hostel. It means a lot to us to hear what our guests think about what we are doing here at Heradsskolinn hostel.

We have been operating for 1 year now in this old school building and so much have been done and so much still to do to make this place the best for our guests.

We are working on building more shower rooms and WC for our guests. We have 11 showers in the building today but there will be more next year, that´s a promise.

Thank you again for your review and please come visit us again here at Laugarvatn

Best regards

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The story of this place is wonderful. And the staff are great. They took time to discuss with us about their lives and experience. They gave us good tips for visiting the region. Confort is impecable. The place we loved the most was the Library...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank elmidou xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hostel. Your review is a brick in the dream we are trying to build up here at Laugarvatn. When we hear from our guests that they had a good experience staying with us, then we know our dream can be true and more people can share it with us.

Thank you so much for helping us here at Heradsskolinn.

Love & peace from team Hero

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Héraðsskólinn hostel for two nights and found it to be awesomely nice!

Driving in our rental from the south of Iceland on road 35, then north on 37 gave us a big WOW when seeing Héraðsskólinn and realising the location of the hostel. The hostel sits just inbetween the lake Laugarvatn and the mountain to the west of it.

The overall location is a really nice starting point for excursions in the area as its just about in the middle of some of Icelands major tourist attractions along the "Golden circle", Þingvellir nationalpark and Geysir/Gullfoss as well as some less known and less crowded sights and hikingtrails. ..Getting a headstart on the busses from Reykjavik was really nice on the major "attractions", as we met them coming in just as we were leaving!

Back to the hostel: Leaving our shoes at the entrance and scoping out the place, we had our next WOW-moment. We found ourselfs really enjoying the restaurant and lounge area and the laid back atmosphere of the whole place. Freshly picked wild flowers on all the tables and staff cozying up the atmosphere with candles later on in the evening was really nice, a first for atleast myself (..at a hostel)! First though was planning to have a cup of coffee and relaxing for a while, checking our maps and planning some geocaching and photoshoots in the area, we were gladly surprised to know that the first cup costs the usual amount and then there's unlimited refills!
The hostel really makes the best of it's history in a good way, furniture and inventory seems to date back to the 50's. The lounge is suited for loungers of just about any age.
Epic'ly nice was also the local food they had on the menu of the day, and we wound up "eating in" on both evenings we stayed at Héraðsskólinn. Be sure to grab a table by a window as the view is hard to beat, especially at "sunset" (..well, atleast the sun hid behind the mountains for a little while).
The staff is very nice, comes over once in a while just to check that everythings OK or to chat for a while. If you do not want to spend a fair sum on food in the restaurant, there is a guest kitchen located on the second floor were you can prepare your own food.
We also had breakfast both mornings and it consisted of skyr, fresh bread and plenty of coffee! I'm sure there were more stuff on the breakfast buffet, but I cant remember what it was(?).

The room we had was big, bright and located on the top floor, with views both to the mountainous west, and the lakes and far away mountains to the east. Even though we were three persons we got a 6-bed room. We were informed that this used to be a classroom back in the day, but the room felt very clean and cozy (not at all as every single classroom I ever visited before!).

The rooms lack WC and showers, but we never found ourselfs having to queue outside the shared ones at any time during our stay. There are WC on the two top floors as well as in the basement. Showers are located in the basement as well as on the second floor. I never got to visit the basement for some reason, but my roommates did, saying "..people were doing yoga down there!:D", so I guess there's some sort of wellness-area down there also.

Next time I'm on Iceland, another stay at Héraðsskólinn is a given must do! ..and maybe then I'll checkout the yoga-people in the basement

Room Tip: We had room 11 ..but dont touch it! ..we want it for ourselfs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CID228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest of Heradsskolinn,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. I really feel good after reading your review, it makes me feel like someone experienced 100% what we are aiming for here at the hostel - a good time and a relaxed good atmosphere.

Thank you so much for your kind words, they really do mean a lot to us. We are a brand new hostel located in a very old building in a very beautiful area of South Iceland. We dream of making our guests stay here as memorable as possible. We have come a long way in a year of operation but we are just in the beginning of the project.

Beautiful words are like a fuel on our engine and for them we are so thankful.

We will keep room 11 reserved for you when ever you want to come back to visit us.

Love and peace from team Hero

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived in the evening after a 7 hour drive, expecting a quick decent meal and a bed. Our expectations were not met. Service at front desk and restaurant were slow. Internet was down so our booking wasn't on file. Once we got our room keys, we found the room was not cleaned and the bed unmade from previous guests. Owner offered free breakfast to make up for the room; the breakfast was good, but overall stay not a great experience. Would only recommend if you have unlimited time and patience to handle poor service. Really disappointed as we had read such great reviews.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have a nice view of the nearby lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Emily,

I am so sorry to hear that your experience here at Heradsskolinn was bad. I do remember you since I was the one who offered you free breakfast. We are a brand new hostel, entering our first high season & obviously not perfect - we are learning a lot from the good things we are doing and the mistakes we are making.

Since we are 70 km away from Reykjavik, it´s not that easy to get the internet up and running if problems occur. It took us 24 hours to get the internet in full function again that day. We are so sorry about the problems that it caused you that day.

I really do hope that the rest of your trip here in Iceland was good and our mistakes have not ruined your Iceland experience.

If you do come back to Iceland, please contact us and let us make up for this bad experience.

Best regards from team Heradsskolinn

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Following on from the Hilton I wasn't expecting much but it was fine.
The staff went out of their way to be friendly.
You need to leave your shoes at the front door and share the bathrooms but it was just fine.
Breakfast was home made fare but perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Paulin Vence,

Thank you so much for your review. It is hard for a new hostel to compete with Hilton but we are really trying our best :)

It means a lot to us to hear when people enjoy their stay at Heradsskolinn - that is what we are aiming for.

Thank you so much for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again here at Laugarvatn in the nearby future.

Best regards

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This unique and beautiful hostel, located a short drive from Reykjavík is a special place well worth staying at. The hostel is located right by the lake and in walking distance to a spa and swimming pool. This is a great place to stay for families or friends travelling around the Icelandic countryside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olafur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sverrirsteinn, Owner at Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Oli Pals,

So wonderful to hear that you like our hostel. Yes the location is amazing and the environment is so relaxing.

We look forward to have you as our guest here again.

Best regards

Sverrir Steinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugarvatn
11.1 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
19.8 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
662 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laugarvatn Hostel
Laugarvatn Hostel
#2 of 4 in Laugarvatn
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galleri
Galleri
#1 of 2 in Laugarvatn
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel

Address: Laugarbraut 2 | The Golden Circle, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Laugarvatn
Price Range: £59 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel is a brand new hostel located at the historical Heradsskolinn at Laugarvatn Lake. It is located right at the heart of the Golden Circle nature paradise, with Thingvellir National Park, Gullfoss waterfall and Geyser close by. Laugarvatn is also known for great visibility for northern lights. We offer accommodation, cafe/bistro, tourist information and booking services. Right next door you can find the geothermal spa of Fontana and the great hiking highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Heradsskolinn Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing