We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful stay!!”

Review of Marta House

Jadar 6 is a truly unique house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jadar 6 is a truly unique house
Gullfoss is only 1,5 hours drive away Hjalparfoss is only 1,5 hours drive away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Jadar 6 is a truly unique house
Gullfoss is only 1,5 hours drive away
Hjalparfoss is only 1,5 hours drive away
Spacious bathroom
Nice shower
First floor bedroom
The dining area and living room have amazing view and natural light
Fully stocked kitchen and a big gas stove
A designer house that you'll love
Second floor bedroom
Second floor sitting room and balconies
Samsung washer and dryer
first floor bedroom
Jadar seen from the south bank of Ölfussá-river
Northern lights over Jadar
Northern light over Selfoss
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mdutkin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Take it from a Ritz lover....This house is absolutely wonderful! Comfortable, great location, beautiful river view, everything you possibly need...plenty of towels, soap, shampoo! Even stocked with lots of food!!! Considerate, kind, lovely owner who responded in less than 5 mins when we couldn’t figure out how to work the tv. Was so sweet he drove us to our restaurant. Felt like home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truely a beautiful house!”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Marta House was our favorite accommodation my boyfriend and I stayed at in Iceland! Fully decked out, warm on arrival with beautiful ambient music playing was a perfect way to enter the house.

The Kitchen comes fully stocked, with everything you need to make food (pots, pans, cutlery, wine glasses etc.) Staples are provided (flour, spices, milk, and eggs), plus all the necessities to make coffee or tea.

There are four large sized bedrooms in this house (2 upstairs and 2 on the main). There is enough space to accommodate families or 4 couples, or however many it can hold really. Marta house is a really beautifully built house with a spiral staircase, 6 skylights, 2 living rooms and modern decor.

Absolutely recommend this place to anyone visiting Iceland. Located in Selfoss, Marta house is an ideal location to start or end your day trip from the golden circle. Located in the best location, close enough to the city, yet a relaxed and more natural feel to it as the house itself backs onto a beautiful river.

Will definitely be returning to the Marta House one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesjulkie...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing short of amazing nest!”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The best holiday house in any location in the world, including Selfoss ;-).Great amenities including a beautiful fully functional kitchen, a laundry room (washer and dryer). Setup was amazing with quiet bedrooms, great views onto the river, at least 2 living space (ground floor and mezzanine), a giant table to accommodate a big family or groups of friends...
We were welcome with a properly furnished fridge, spices and other ingredients to cook. The owner was lovely and very keen to tell stories on the country, Selfoss, the nearby hot river and the "who is Marta?".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori W
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marta's House is more than a stay.... it's an Experience! ”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Staying in this home was truly one of the highlights of our vacation to Iceland! To be able to sleep in a turf house and see the northern lights from it is indescribable!

Finnbogi is the most gracious host! He went way above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. He truly treated us like royalty!

Don't let the historical turf house exterior fool you! The inside is a highly sophisticated, beautifully modern decorated home that looks like it's a penthouse in New York City!

We can't say enough about our experience!

Next time, we will book it for even longer! It's not easy to get, so be sure and book it if you see availability.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica L
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place was awesome for a family”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Turf house was so much fun to stay in. Location is central to Selfoss and the kitchen was amazing and stocked. We wished we had more time to stay and enjoy this home. Rooms were as described and all the beds were comfortable. The house is cozy!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you Monica,
It was a pleasure having you with us and we thank you for your kind words. Hopefully we will see you again.
Finnbogi and Gudmundur
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing