We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place. Really nice lady host”
Review of Guesthouse Husid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Husid
Ranked #20 of 27 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent one night in the guesthouse. The lady was really helpful and nice giving many tips. Rooms were ok but we shared bathroom a bit small. Price was ok. We had a view to the glaciar and back to the house it was a nice path with a rivet and waterfall

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Víctor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very friendly welcome by the owner. Room was ok, with a sink. Nice kitchen fascilities, including a dishwasher. Good coffee, free! A hot tub outside, for everybody's use. Good recommendations for our next day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a comment on the staff, not the accommodation, as we unfortunately booked the awful Godaland Guesthouse across the road (avoid it like the plague!!!)

We had some serious car troubles while in Selfoss, and our own hotel was unstaffed, leaving us to our own devices (downwind of a glacier, in freezing conditions). In desperation (and late at night) I had to run over to Guesthouse Husid for help. Gvennir (forgive my spelling) came right over and helped us patch the car up enough to get it back to Reykjavik, and was lovely. The little I saw of Husid when I went over there was lovely.

I really wanted to post a review, because the kindness and help of the staff at Husid saved us a lot of time and effort, and probably a few fingers from frostbite! Never stay at Godaland - go across the road to Husid!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank TheBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hostess was very kind and very helpful and made our stay very pleasant! There was a slight mix up with the address and we got a bit lost, but she helped us find our way to the right place. The rooms were comfortable and I got probably the best sleep I've had in a very long time. The kitchen area was well equipped and everything was very clean. Free wifi was available which is always a plus. The location is perfect for a stopping point in between sights. It's just down the road from Gulfoss and the geysers. I highly recommend staying here! It was great value, clean, comfortable, and the host is very friendly, helpful, and makes you feel right at home! You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjennings21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Basic and very cheap guesthouse, ideal to stop in a transfer stage. The room where we slept was very small and clean, the same for the bathroom.
The wife is a nice person and can give you information about where to eat, the weather, the roads, etc.
There is a discount if you sleep with a sleeping bag.
Kitchen available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripadnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

It was after sunset in the middle of November and we drove out to Hotel Gulfoss to find it closed for the winter. We hopped on their internet which was still up and running to find a place to eat, and I called Klettur in Reykholt. A woman answered and though her restaurant was closed, she was there baking bread and told us to come on over and she would make something for us to eat. What an amazing person! While we were there, we said, "you wouldn't happen to know any place near here that we could stay for the night....or know someone who owns a guesthouse?" She said, "Oh I do....me!" So we had a wonderful meal and a place for the evening. Her hospitality really made the evening.
We would go back again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank relocatednyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 85Marina1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selfoss hotels
7.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
236 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
643 reviews
35.8 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ljosafossskoli
Ljosafossskoli
#7 of 34 in Selfoss
40 reviews
12.5 mi away
Selfoss Apartments
Selfoss Apartments
#6 of 34 in Selfoss
125 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Husid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Husid

Address: Bjarkarbraut 26 | Fljotshlið, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bjarkarbraut in Reykholt, a low rated accommodation. Sleeping bag or in a made up bed you will have a nice place to stay during your travels. We offer a fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms with showers and a hot tub is available for our guests. Husid is a family owned guesthouse where you will feel right at home. A swimming pool, shop, restaurant and pub, playground and a camping site within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Husid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Husid Iceland/Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing